We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"amazing"”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Grand really should be a 5 star, we had a fabulous room, spacious with amazing views over the harbour and the roof top swimming pool, which was a bonus for our 14 year old son. The staff could not do enough for us, the food was excellent, along with the whole dining experience and the service was exceptional. This is our first time to Gozo, which we absolutely loved and we can't wait to return and stay at The Grand Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Jane S

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your views about our property with future travelers.

It is our aim to provide quality service and product to all our patrons. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us including your positive dining experience.

We look forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Silvio Rapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really lovely stay (a week in May) in a gorgeous location, overlooking the busy-yet-tranquil harbour of Mgarr on the peaceful, friendly island of Gozo. Room was spacious and clean, good sized pool and nice breakfast buffet. Housekeeping were friendly (extra points for finding a piece of clothing we thought had been lost!) and reception staff knowledgeable and efficient. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as there are so many amazing restaurants within a 5-minute walk - search restaurants in Mgarr on Trip Advisor for advice - but menu looked good.

Definitely worth paying extra for a sea-view; it's beautiful.

Mgarr seemed to be an excellent place to stay on Gozo: peaceful and pretty with great food, easy to get to the rest of the island but also ideally placed to get to the main island of Malta and to Comino quickly.

Room Tip: We followed Trip Advisor reviews and asked for a room in the new section of the hotel - it was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear James W

Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel with future travelers.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and for commending our team members. We have shared your feedback with our team members as such comments provides with the motivation to continue improving.

It is true that we are surrounded by a number of restaurants, however we hope that in future you would have the opportunity to dine at one of our outlets whereby we are sure you will certainly be satisfied.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Silvio Rapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just came from a weekend break at the Grand Hotel, it was our second time, and it proved to be as good as the first time. We just wished we stayed longer!
Spacious room with a stunning view, nice and modern furniture, and spotless clean. The staff was, as usual, friendly, yet discreet and efficient. The food was good, and the Thai restaurant was also a good value for money.
Will surely return, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Abela C

Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel with future travelers.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our team members to be friendly and efficient. Indeed our team members are an asset for the hotel. The Thai restaurant is truly a great experience and we will also be revising our menu shortly, perhaps on your next visit you will be able to taste new dishes.

Once again thank you!

Kind regards,
Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pros: After waiting to check in as the hotel was a little backed up on room cleaning, the room was well worth the wait.
Very comfortable bed with soft pillows, towel bath robes, mini bar, continuous hot water, double vanity and large patio with superb day and night view of the harbour.
Excellent buffet breakfast and they even made me a lunch sandwich as I was working all day Sunday at a car race.
Cons: Very limited television channels in English. Although the room service had an extensive menu, the evening dining experience was not what we expected. The Thai restaraunt was limited with little choice of vegitarian dishes and quite expensive.
The main dining menu was also limited and we decided to only have a starter as our main course.
The car park is underfround and the bottom level is not yet completed. The ramp to street level is very steep and one car could not make it and became stuck as his wheels were just spinning. It took four of us to push him up the hill.
OverallI: Would recommend paying a little extra for a de-luxe room which are spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Crazylimey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.

We have noted your satisfaction in relation to the accommodation, views and buffet breakfast. These have been shared with the respective departments.
Our hotel provides an extensive list of TV channels in 8 different language including Maltese. For each language we offer an average of four channels and we therefore feel that we do offer very good value in this regard.
Thank you for your comment about the Thai Restaurant. We are currently in the process of revising the menu and will take your comments into perspective.
The ramp from car park to street level is steep since the car park is underground. So far we never encountered such a situation; we will however look into this.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Convenient located very close to the ferry station, the hotel has great view to the Gozo channel and Malta Island. Very relaxing place. Our room was close to the swimming pool but that's wasn't a problem, though it could be a bad experience with more guests at the hotel. Breakfast was ok but coffee is terrible and they charge you if you ask for an espresso. Rooms were clean and mattress in good condition. 85€ reserving with booking. Maybe a little overpriced.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Fernando H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Fernando H,

Thank you for sharing your review with future travelers.

Indeed the hotel offers great views and is located in a very tranquil environment. We have taken on board your comment about the coffee and although we usually get positive feedback, we will certainly look into it. The hotel offers complimentary coffee and tea with breakfast however there is a charge when one asks for either espresso or cappuccino.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spend one week at Grand Hotel and didn´t want to leave. We had originally booked an internal room, but decided to upgrade to the seaview room with a terrace, which turned out to be a very ggod idea. The internal room was okay, only problem was that it was just above the kitchen, so there was quit a bit of noise coming from there, therefor we decided the upgrade. It was no problem to upgrade and was 34€ a night to have a great room with a wonderfull view of the Mgarr habour and Comino and Malta. The room was big, bright and spotless and on the large terrace we had two sunchairs and a table and chairs and we spent alot of time just enjoying the sun and looking over the habour. Breakfast was not the most interesting after a week with the same food every day, but for a few days it is fine and good if you enjoy bacon and eggs. All in all our stay was wonderful and we would not hisitate in going back to The Grand Hotel again.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are definitely worth the extra euros. We were on the 4th floor and it was beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Mkorn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share it with future travellers.

The sea view rooms offer a sense of tranquility, peace and truly provide an ideal relaxation time. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and have taken on board your comment about the breakfast served. We would like to thank you for the positive comments about the hotel cleanliness. Your compliments have been shared with our Housekeeping team.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel!

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Weekend break with the girlfriend, in winter. We paid a little extra for a seaview and boy did we get it!  Stunning view, absolutely gorgeous in a clean room, and lovely warm furniture, two armchairs and a coffee table, a little bureau and a spotless bathroom.

The service was rather good, easy to talk to, and the buffet dinner was better then most other (highly regarded) hotels. To be honest we didnt leave the room much because it was simply beautiful.

Recommended for romantic getaways and weekend relaxation breaks but zero nightlife.

Lovely, blissful, relaxing, cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swainus001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Swainus001,

Thank you for sharing your experience with future travellers.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and noted your satisfaction in our food & beverage offerings, hotel service and hotel location. We do pride ourselves in the hospitality we offer and the positive food experience we provide to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.


Best regards,
Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
848 reviews
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range: $49 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing