We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Weekend break with the girlfriend, in winter. We paid a little extra for a seaview and boy did we get it!  Stunning view, absolutely gorgeous in a clean room, and lovely warm furniture, two armchairs and a coffee table, a little bureau and a spotless bathroom.

The service was rather good, easy to talk to, and the buffet dinner was better then most other (highly regarded) hotels. To be honest we didnt leave the room much because it was simply beautiful.

Recommended for romantic getaways and weekend relaxation breaks but zero nightlife.

Lovely, blissful, relaxing, cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swainus001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Swainus001,

Thank you for sharing your experience with future travellers.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and noted your satisfaction in our food & beverage offerings, hotel service and hotel location. We do pride ourselves in the hospitality we offer and the positive food experience we provide to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.


Best regards,
Silvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    413
    91
    22
    11
See reviews for
162
747
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Have just returned from a week long stay at the Grand Hotel in Mgarr. We stayed in a superior room which was very clean and comfortable. It had a very large balcony, with table and chairs and two sunbeds, which overlooked the busy harbour. Food selections for breakfast were quite varied but we did not eat in the restaurant for evening meals so I cannot comment on that. Staff are suitably helpful but not overly friendly. The hotel is very nice if you want a quiet location - quiet in this case meaning there is not much to do in Mgarr, unless you like watching boats all day. There are just a handful of restaurants and one supermarket (to my knowledge) in the vicinity. I think Mgarr could benefit from having at least one small souvenir shop.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with a large balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0ntepalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Montepalace,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is our pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable time and noted your satisfaction with the hotel cleanliness, service and breakfast experience. Your comments have been shared with our team.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future to our property.

Kind regards,

Silvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iklin Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel and it was a nightmare!
First of all the car park is so shabby, the 2nd floor underground is still under construction with drainage going down the side of the slope, wires and cables everywhere and no steps or working lift to get to the ground floor! Having arrived at 1am there we at least expected to have decent access to the hotel from the car park. On stating this to the receptionist he told us that the lift is only switched on when there is a function! unbelievable... as if we are not paying customers.

Another thing was the unbearable noise from the street. We didnt sleep a wink- we could identify all the cars passing by.
At 4 am I decided to call the reception, perhaps to get our room changed - low and behold nobody answered!

The day after on complaining about the noise to the receptionist, she told us that we should have been informed about this by the receptionist prior to be given the room. Tks alot to the receptionist doing the night duty on the 11th of May (Sat - Sun) for not informing us.

Anyway we were very glad to leave the hotel and never to return again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr Maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Dr Maria d,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Grand Hotel.

We understand that your stay with us did not meet your expectations for which we deeply apologise. From your review, we have noted that there was a miscommunication from our end related to the car park lift. The lift in question, is currently not in operation due to technicalities, however we assure you that we do not differentiate between our patrons and always aim to treat each of our guests with the highest quality of hospitality.

We would also like to address the point related to the alleged drainage going down the side of the slope and assure you that this water is deriving from rocks and not drainage. We pride ourselves in strictly adhering to health and safety measures for the well-being of our patrons and all our employees and we also keep records of all inspections from local authorities and audits conducted by third parties to ensure quality standards for our property. Whenever possible such water is captured through the hotel system and is used as second class water and in line with all health and safety measures.

The matter relating to not being able to reach the reception over the phone has been investigated by our technical team so as to identify the issue. Unfortunately we could not trace the record on our PABX system and would be escalating the matter with our supplier to ensure that this situation is rectify immediately.

Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for not managing to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate if you can contact us directly by email on info@grandhotelmalta.com with your contact details for us to be able to get in contact with you to further discuss this matter.

Kind regards,

Silvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I spent two nights in this wonderful hotel. I booked thru booking.com and had asked for a superior room with seaview and balcony. The balconies were quite small, but paying 7 € more per night, I got a wonderful room with a large terrasse overlooking the harbour. I was on halfboard and dinner was delicious. Breakfast was ok. The waiters in the restaurant were extremely friendly and polite.
Nothing much going on in Mgarr, but still a nice place to stay seeing Gozo,

Room Tip: Choose rooms with terrasse and seawiev. It's worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Tina R,

Thank you for taking the time and share your positive experience with future travellers.

The superior rooms offer a huge terrace and the views are indeed magnificent!

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your satisfaction with our food quality. The team in our hotel is a true asset and we thank you for noticing their efforts in ensuring a great experience during your stay with us.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.

Kind regards,

Silvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was an amazing trip to Gozo island. The hotel is almoust on the top of a hill, so there is a great view on a lagoon and on the Camino island. Our room was spacious, with all necessary hotel amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrinaB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Irina B03,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Gozo and your satisfaction with the room booked, including the hotel amenites.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.

Kind regards,

Silvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is really grand and the services are exceptional. Staff could not be more accommodating and the rooms and facilities are excellent. The sea view is superb. The weather was typical not a cloud in the sky and nice and warm. The hotel food is very good and especially the Thai restaurant. We will definitely by returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms in new wing are great especially on the 7th floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliza035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Eliza035,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and for sharing it with future travellers.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would lke to thank you for your compliments about the service delivered by our staff, hotel facilities and the view from your room. Your comments have been shared with the team. It is our pleasure to learn about your full satisfaction with the Oriental Restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future, may be you will have the opportunity to visit us during the summer months to enjoy another magnificient food experience at our roof top restuarant - Mediterranean Breeze.

Kind regards,

Silvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed just for one night (part of the trip in Gozo) however we managed to enjoy that amazing and relaxing place. We had a room with sea view (Comino and Harbour), near the pool. I loved the design of the room. It was clean, nice and spacious. Service was great; all employees were very open, nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Desira S,

Thank you for sharing your views about the Grand Hotel.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have managed to provide you with a relaxing time. The hotel team is truly our biggest asset and we sincerely thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all our employees to reflect the hotel's hospitality.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Silvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing