We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L-Ankra Restaurant - CLOSED

L-Ankra Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault this place. The menu was varied, and a good specials board too. The service was top class and was a pleasant end to a day visit on the lovely island of Gozo. It is right next to the ferry terminal so plan your visit to finish off with a meal here before heading back to Malta.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dclark97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginojohnpaul, Owner at L-Ankra Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us , we appreciate your contribution, and we hope to see you dine with us again very soon.

Warm regards Giorgino Gauci and John Paul Bowker
Proud owners of Ankra Restaurant since April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    24
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pieta, Malta
1 review
“=]”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

this was my first visit to the restaurant and will not the the last.
first i had the homemade ravioli filled with ricotta cheese served in a mushroom and blue cheese sauce topped with walnuts as a main course. the filled pasta was cooked perfectly and the sauce was balanced right (not over powered by the blue cheese) and seasoned right. the only bad thing i have to say about this dish is that i found a chunk of onion which i didn't enjoy its taste as i had a bit at it. a little more attention by the chef would have made this dish 100% satisfying.

secondly i had a creme caramel as my dessert. it was really tasty but a bit to much caramel sauce for my liking.

the service was excellent. welcomed us with a warm feeling, very educated and topped our water and wine all evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xef87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginojohnpaul, Owner at L-Ankra Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us , we appreciate your contribution, and we hope to see you dine with us again very soon.

Warm regards Giorgino Gauci and John Paul Bowker
Proud owners of Ankra Restaurant since April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visit this restaurant every Sunday, we always enjoy our meal and the staff are wonderful. Food is always good and attention to detail always exceptional. We have taken our friends and family here and they have always enjoyed what they have had.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginojohnpaul, Owner at L-Ankra Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us , we appreciate your contribution, and we hope to see you dine with us again very soon.

Warm regards Giorgino Gauci and John Paul Bowker
Proud owners of Ankra Restaurant since April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good we had to go there twice (in just 3 days)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited l-Ankra on our first night in Gozo and the experience was incredible. As soon as we got in, a young lady took us to a table and brought us the menus. We ordered drinks, which came right away, and started looking at the menu. We were really spoilt for choice. We ordered fresh mussels and stuffed mushroom as starters. The stuffed mushrooms came with a cheese filling, which my boyfriend and I don't like, and the waiter offered a different filling, but we went for pan fried prawns instead.

After we ordered they brought some bruschetta and cold meat cuts which were delicious! The mussels and prawns looked and were fresh and scrumptious. For mains my boyfriend had quail and I had a rib-eye which was cooked to perfection! Mains come with potatoes and veg and they offered to bring more but it was more than enough.

The desserts looked delicious but unfortunately we were too full to try them. We had coffee and liquors.

We went again on our last night. They had a reduced version of the menu since it was New Year's Day, but still the choice was very good. We had pulpetti tal-makku as a starter. I had a seafood risotto as a main portion (it was so big I couldn't finish it, pity!) and my boyfriend had a rib-eye steak which again was cooked to perfection (it was still juicy even though he ordered it well-done). One last thing: they served the most delicious bread ever! It was warm and so so good!

I must say that during our visits we were taken care of all the time, we didn't have to wait ages for our food to come. The quality of the food and the service were outstanding and overall both dining experiences were great! I am definitely going back and would recommend it to anyone.

PS We loved the chandelier made from wine glasses!! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginojohnpaul, Owner at L-Ankra Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us , we appreciate your contribution, and we hope to see you dine with us again very soon.

Warm regards Giorgino Gauci and John Paul Bowker
Proud owners of Ankra Restaurant since April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We decided to spend New Year's Eve at L-Ankra. It was our first visit there. It turned out to be the best decision ever. Food was excellent, service was perfect and the atmosphere was really relaxed. Will go there again at first opportunity.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginojohnpaul, Owner at L-Ankra Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us , we appreciate your contribution, and we hope to see you dine with us again very soon.

Warm regards Giorgino Gauci and John Paul Bowker
Proud owners of Ankra Restaurant since April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L-Ankra Restaurant also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing