We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Terrace

Country Terrace
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Country Terrace is a little cottage transformed into a restaurant with indescribable panoramic views and extraordinary cuisine. Our restaurant has become the only place in Gozo which offers such a savouring view of the Mgarr Harbor, Fort Chambrey and the three sister islands, Kemmuna, Kemmunett and Malta When it comes to wedding events, we pit all our efforts into creating a personalized reception. Our facilities and services can be tailored to the style that best represents you and complements your wines and dreams.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Perfect location great food and very friendly couple who are the owners of thus wonderful located restaurant 5 minutes away from the harbor. Will surely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    87
    22
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
149 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Enchanting view. Delicious food.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I went there for lunch with my boyfriend and I must say I was very pleasantly surprised. The decor of the restaurant is very elegant and romantic. It has seating both inside and outside on the balcony. We sat on the balcony which is very big and spacious and offers an unobstructed full view of the Mgarr Gozo harbour as well as the islands of Comino and Malta. The staff were very polite. We were given complimentary bruschette and a small platter to share, as well as freshly baked bread and butter.

There is a vast and very tasty choice of starters, especially pasta. I had rabbit as a main course and it was very tender and well done. The portions were also quite big. Very good value for money considering the beauty of the place. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion. Would love to go back there myself especially in the evening next time, as I'm sure the view would be really picturesque at night.

My only complaint was that there was only one waitress, which considering that almost all the tables on the balcony were full, was not enough. I would recommend there being at least two staff members catering for customers during lunch time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Moonsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
270 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and view!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went there with my other half for lunch. The place is done up nicely and the view is amazing; the port and sea. Staff were very polite and very efficient considering that there were many people compares to the number of staff present. They initially served us with complimentary bruschetta and warm bread with garlic butter, then as a starter I had some pasta which was delicious and main course had the rabbit which too was delicious. It is important to note that portions were quite sizable. Will definitely visit again!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacrilegious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view, Good Food.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere very adequate for a romantic dinner. Superb view and nice place. Was difficult to find in the first place but thats nobodys fault. Had a speciality of the day for starter and main course. Starter was quite on the expensive side paying over 11 Euros for 4 large raviolis, though they were very good. What was not expected is the starter and main course plates were made out of plastic as if we were camping ...:) Overall it was a good experience. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great position and generally excellent food.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant probably suffers from it's position, which also makes it unique! The views from the terrace are really quite superb; gazing out over Mgarr harbour & marina to Malta in the distance, whether by day or by night. But it's secluded position and lack of passing trade removes it from the bustle of the port and unless we were unusual on the Wednesday we dined, it's not busy. In fact, we were the only diners that night, but as a party of 8 plus a child, we were fine with that. Had we been just a couple or maybe four, it would have been dreadfully quiet.
Having said that, the welcome was warm and once you get to understand the owner's sense of humour, the meal was quite good fun. The menu choice was very good and generally speaking, the food was of a high standard - the chicken was rather dry, but mostly the dishes were well prepared, presented and not expensive.
The owner mentioned that they specialise in weddings and that explained a lot. As a venue for such an occasion, it would be really hard to beat. The house music spoke pure 'wedding tracks' and contained songs to suit everyone.
Overall, we had a great evening and were mostly left in peace to enjoy ourselves, which we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoverfly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Terrace also viewed

 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Country Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing