We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really worthwhile Venue!”
Review of Country Terrace

Country Terrace
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Country Terrace is a little cottage transformed into a restaurant with indescribable panoramic views and extraordinary cuisine. Our restaurant has become the only place in Gozo which offers such a savouring view of the Mgarr Harbor, Fort Chambrey and the three sister islands, Kemmuna, Kemmunett and Malta When it comes to wedding events, we pit all our efforts into creating a personalized reception. Our facilities and services can be tailored to the style that best represents you and complements your wines and dreams.
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really worthwhile Venue!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had the pleasure of being a guest at a wedding and Joseph arranged everything to the slightest detail. Each table decorated with a wonderful large flower arrangement, excellent well laid tables, the view..... The many courses of food was out of this world and Joseph ensured that the evening was a perfect one for everyone. The serving staff were very polite and courteous with a wonderful smile. Will definitely visit again and will go there for any special occasion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    90
    22
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a fantastic place for a wedding. Having visited Gozo many times over the years we decided to get married there on the 5th September. I had never been to the Country Terrace before and Joseph via emails and phone calls helped us arrange everything. On meeting him prior to our wedding he suggested small additions which on the day made it. Joseph knows how to organise a wedding and in 30 minutes he had guided us through all the options. The venue was amazing, the view fantastic, the food was tremendous and his staff very attentive to all our needs.

I highly recommend Joseph and the Country Terrace if you are looking for a stress free wedding or a lovely place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First impressions wonderful food never matched up and oh those Cats!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stumbled on Country Terrace walking down from Qala. It looked specatular, quite a big restaurant. We were seated right on the front, wonderful table. They were short staffed and the matire d' was running around everywhere and there was no real personal service. He just rattled off the specials and left. The menu looked brilliant but didnt quite come up to the hype. The portions were very large which i suppose can be good for some, but i like quality not quantity. I think maybe because of the shortage of staff this made the experience not all that pleasant. I think they are probably best to cater for weddings as is the norm there. My husband chose Veal Ribs but was served Veal Chop and the deep fried camembert seemed like a frozen type. I had spaghetti with mussels but several didnt open so i only really had 2 or 3 and the squid in the dish was tiny really it was more a plate of pasta. It wasnt very memorable. I must say the whole place was run alive with cats they were all over the place almost walking on our tables they trotted all along the wall which overlooked the bay. I suppose thats better than having mice but it was awful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdsofafeather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Gozo”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

After our experience at the Country Terrace we were really satisfied and surely this is one of the best restaurants in the island of Gozo. With a scenic view, great and friendly service and tasty food, this restaurant is fantastic. The owner is a really nice guy and he served us as best he good. As for the food we had a rack of veal from Holland and a rack of ribs from New Zealand. The food was cooked as requested and it was really tasty. The presentation of the food was also positive. Although overall the restaurant is a bit expensive, we weren't disappointed at all and we really recommend this great restaurant in Gozo. One of the best around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rddart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location for weddings.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Perched on the side of the cliff overlooking Comino and MAlta thi9s place cannot be bettered for location. Joseph and his staff will look after you royally. No need for roof for most of the year you can eat and dance onder the blue sky then the stars as the night goes on.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peadar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Terrace also viewed

 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Country Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing