We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Vecchio

Porto Vecchio
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited again, this time for Sunday lunch. We had ravioli, Gozitan platter for two, fish patties and seafood risotto as starters - very good portions and nicely cooked, served in a relatively short time, keeping in mind the restaurant was full. As mains we had angus beef steak, rabbit, slow-cooked quails, chicken legs, fresh fish of the day and pasta seafood. Baked potatoes and hot vegetables accompanied the plates. Apart from thumbs up for the food quality, critical comments on the table included the possibility of a wider choice on the main courses. Served white wine was well chilled, as it should be. Cappucino cake, amaretto panna cotta were a good choice to wrap up the lunch. For a quite formal dining experience, it was good value for money. Service was also very good, under the boss's supervision, which gives the whole thing a more professional and warm dimension. A recommendable restaurant for a peaceful Sunday lunch, with a nice view of the Mġarr harbour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarWri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    120
    28
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gozo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food and very friendly. A perfect meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A warm and friendly greeting from the owner Chris was the first sign we were on to a good thing. We chose to eat outside as the day was not too hot and the view of the harbour was magical. The colourful boats bobbing and the blue waters lapping. The menu was lovely and there were many specials of the day. The wine list was enormous and very good value. We went with Chris's suggestions of the day with a starter of crisply fried local calamari which was so delicious it must have been straight off the little fishing boats we could see coming in and out. We went with the main course of spaghettii al seppio nero and a lovely risotto with prawns which were also perfect and of generous proportions. After a complimentary chilled grappa bianco we left stuffed and very happy. Bravo Porto Vecchio!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3khz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good choice of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Food well prepared and presented, staff very attentive and friendly, overlooks the marina.
Worth walking round the harbour to get to it as it is the furthest from the road.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubyPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant for great tastes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I will centainly recommend this restaurant to my friends. Great tasty food and lovely view to the harbour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebbug
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pleasant experience - will visit again :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our experience at porto vecchio was a very pleasant one. Food and service was excellent and would certainly return, next time in daylight perhaps so that we can enjoy the view :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Vecchio also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Porto Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing