We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Italian Dining with charm”
Review of Porto Vecchio

Porto Vecchio
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“High Quality Italian Dining with charm”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Dinner for 2 on 5 Dec. - our 1st visit and we had high expectations that were easily met; owner Chris and waitress Jenny gave us a very warm welcome and looked after us attentively throughout; the kitchen duly delivered a great set of dishes that included the fresh fish catch of the day; sea bream - correctly prepared by Chris at our table and a surprise birthday dessert for my partner; a nice touch. Overall a charming night out with tasty authentic food presented by a friendly passionate restaurateur - great! - we will certainly be back and would recommend as much for a romantic date as for a group of friends or family.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike11b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    125
    29
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very average italian restaurant”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

After reading the excellent reviews, I was really curious about this restaurant but I have to say that I was a bit disappointed. The food was not bad, but absolutely not exceptional either. Just an average local italian restaurant. We had the fish of the day and the gozitan style rabbit as main course, and both were a bit overcooked. The starters were a bit better, the fish ravioli was quite good, with a tasty filling and a nice sauce. The crêpe with ricotta and mushrooms was okay, but nothing worth remembering. I was hoping for a nice mushroomy taste, but all I could taste was the tomato sauce really. The poached pear with port sauce as a dessert was nice, but the lemon custard with cherry jelly was quite horrible, it had a very chemical taste.

They do have an interesting wine list, with lots of good italian wines. We had a Primitivo 2003 for 31 euros, it was a really strong and well developed wine.

The service was friendly and mostly efficient, but then there were only two occupied tables in the whole restaurant, there was actually more staff than guests. They offered coffee on the house but we never got it... But we didn't insist, because we wouldn't have taken it anyway.

Maybe this is one of the better restaurants on Gozo, we didn't try them all, but that tells more about the other restaurants than about this one!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I live in Gozo and have found that the Porto Vecchio is one of the best restaurants on the island. I try to eat there at least twice a month and whenever I have company from Europe or the US, I will bring them there... The staff is great, especially Jenny and Robert and the food is outstanding

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovebayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service, great location mediocre food”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

After reading many reviews praising this restaurant I decided to try it out for myself. I ordered the soup of the day, carrot and pumpkin as a starter, and king prawns for the main course. My partner skipped the first course and went straight for the stuffed calamari which was a special dish of the evening.

To begin with my soup was very bland. The look and texture were ok but it seemed as if it was diluted with too much water. My main course, the prawns were ok but nothing special. Rice was served in a separate dish and arrived a few minutes after the main dish. Prawns were not as fresh as i would have liked. My partner's stuffed calamari were good and she seemed to like it. For dessert we shared the chocolate fondant. Unfortunately the fondant was not hot enough and the choclate inside did not ooze out of the cake as it was supposed to. Instead it just belly flopped onto the plate. Taste was ok but again my taste buds exploding with flavor.

Service was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. As for value for money I think dishes are averagely priced.

I feel the restaurant can do better and perhaps being a Monday night in November did not help. Would consider trying it out again in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clintos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice lunch overlooking Marina”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Enjoyed a lovely lunch on the outdoor deck overlooking the marina. My partner and I ate simple filled baguettes washed down with the local beer.
Overlooking the marina provides some interesting viewing, watching the ferrries and numerous charter boats entering and leaving the port.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoodleNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Vecchio also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Ghajnsielem, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Porto Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing