We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Essence

Essence
Ranked #40 of 110 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burton upon trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A very buffet, breakfast is very good and dinner has a quiet atmosphere. I recommend this restaurant and suggest it appeals to every different taste

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaharangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    14
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gourmet Delight and Perfect Waiting On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a restaurant that is a part of the Golden Sands 5 star Radisson Hotel. I have been on a number of occasions and the chef, Andrew (no relation) is passionate about food, quality and presentation. this is a man aspiring to a Michelin Star and he is well on the way!
The entrance can be straight into the lounge part of the expansive restaurant or through the bar upstairs. Both are well appointed, tastefully decorated without being fussy.
The view is of the sea and the cliffs across the bay and makes a spectacular backdrop to any meal you have.
The waiting on staff attend with care, pleasant humour and knowledge of what they are presenting and how to present it. They are never visible but arrive just as you need them and top up drinks etc. The table is cleared well, they crumb down and the cutlery placed.
The choice was good but not so expansive that it made you think that it could not be fresh.
The food is served with a mus bouche.
The tastes were well matched and seasoned to perfection. At the end we were served with petit fours, almost an insult to call these home made creations that.
Andrew came out at the end of the meal and chatted to us and realising that I was an enthusiastic cook offered a tour of the kitchen.
I wish them well in their desire to get a star and will most definitely be dining there next time we go (next Easter).
Thank you very much! from a very fussy client who is a competent cook and hates paying for what he could as well or better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the upmarket restaurant at the Radisson resort. The room is pleasant and spacious. Food was tasty and well presented with nice touches such as warm rolls and a delightful amuse bouche. In general we found that portion sizes in Malta tended to be too large so we were pleased that this restaurant put quality above quantity and served sensible portions that left you satisfied but not bloated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanrwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a restaurant to remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

a great holiday experience, whether staying at Golden Sands or not, well worth a visit! a little expensive perhaps, BUT you are on holiday!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank colinburridge1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fine dinning at it's best for us. We always expect to wait a little bit longer for the food in Essence as it is prepared from scratch. It is always worth waiting for as we are not in a hurry when going out for a relaxing meal and we have never been disappointed. If you are looking for fast food I would suggest you find somewhere like Mc Donald's on the other side of the Island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Altyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Essence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing