We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent 6 nights here, and I have to say, being our first holiday abroad, it was a lovely experience. The only hiccup I could say, was that check in was delayed by an hour or so, but that didn't matter too much
--
The hotel itself in my view was in a great location, walking out to the bus stop and seeing the fantastic view to the coast and the church is one that I will miss! Staff were very pleasant and very willing to help you. The rooms were extremely clean, if not a little dated. The beds could have been much better though, they felt a bit used and nowhere near as firm as I would have liked.
--
The hotel is more like a good 3 star, and it's only 4 due to the spa and pools it had. We had B&B here, and if you are vegetarian, the options are very limited. It is based as a buffet style, which was enjoyable. The hot and cold drinks were very good.
--
Only issue we had during our stay is that our room for one of the nights wasn't cleaned, however, when we notified staff they were really brilliant about it.
--
The lift system in the hotel takes a little getting used to, but it really isn't as bad as some people make out!
--
Overall, we loved Malta and will have fond memories, and we would definitely return to Pergola in the future!

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony room and avoid internal rooms! Also, get a weekly bus ticket for 6.50 euro'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WMC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, further to your recent stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had an overall pleasant stay and enjoyed the renowned hospitality of the Pergola Team! We also appreciate your bringing to our attention certain aspects which may not have met your expectations; we, in fact, strongly believe that it is such feedback that helps us, in always bettering the service offered to our guests.

While thanking you for staying with us in the first place, we do indeed hope that your future holiday plans will bring you back to Malta, allowing us the pleasure of welcoming you back on board!.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    650
    218
    104
    60
See reviews for
470
754
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel was overall very nice,
But we asked for a double bed and received two single beds pushed together. Upon arrival both beds were wet + stained and the room smelt stale. Were apologized too and problem was resolved.

Lovely place, would visit again. The company made it perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GW1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

While we thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor, please do accept our apologies for any inconvenience upon your arrival.

At our hotel, any requests for a double bed, as is customary in many hotels internationally, are catered for through the joining of two single beds together. Nonetheless, we are pleased that your overall experience with us, was a positive one and that you will not hesitate in staying with us again during future holidays in Malta.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for a week last month and were very happy with it. The room was clean and the beds comfortable.The bath was a little narrow for the shower but generally the ensuite was also fine. The room was cleaned and the towels changed every day. Our room had a balcony over the steps so didn't have the greatest view but, having said that, it was very quiet at night as obviously no cars go past. The food was tasty and there was plenty of variety and we found the staff very helpful. There is only whitener with the tea and coffee in the room but they were happy to give me a free small jug of milk, which we kept in the fridge in the room, and also extra teabags. There are a bewildering number of lifts which go to different floors but we managed to figure them out in the end. If you dislike steps, you never have to go up or down them as you can use the lifts. We thought it was in a good position, close to the square and also very convenient for buses.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are probably a little noisier so would choose a first or second floor room. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcouple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and its Team have contributed positively towards your holiday on the Maltese Islands!

While thanking you for staying with us in the first place, we hope to welcome you back to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa in the future.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent position. Very friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food quality excellent with plenty of variety. Very disappointed with lack of changing facilities for indoor pool. No one wants to walk through reception in dressing gown back to room!
However this aside can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely pleased with your recommendation of the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor!

We very much hope that your holidays will once again bring you back to us so that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Relaxing Little Getaway with the kids very relaxing quiet part of Mellieha. Great Service Great Food and very reasonable Price. Close to all shops and 'The Sanctuary' Really easy access to a load of Fine Dining Restaurants. Perfect for our family in a two bedroom apartment. A Great Relaxing Weekend Break!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzylino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are overwhelmed at learning that you and your family have enjoyed your little getaway with us and that you found the rooms, meals and our Team’s service offering to be of an excellent standard.

We very much hope we will have the honor of hosting you again in the future!

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited the hotel for the first time last weekend it was a nice experience what i did not like was that the indoor pool water was not heated but really cold, and the beds are really uncomfortable otherwise overall we enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Weekend Break experience with us and reviewing our Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your valuable feedback concerning the indoor pool temperature and the beds has not gone unnoticed, with relevant action taken where necessary.

While trusting there will be a future opportunity where we can once again welcome you on board, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we had a two bed room apartment this was supposed to accomodate six people.There would be very small people to try and get into the kitchen the dining table could only sit four the rooms need an urgent upgrade

Room Tip: do not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,928 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing