We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent position. Very friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food quality excellent with plenty of variety. Very disappointed with lack of changing facilities for indoor pool. No one wants to walk through reception in dressing gown back to room!
However this aside can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely pleased with your recommendation of the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor!

We very much hope that your holidays will once again bring you back to us so that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Relaxing Little Getaway with the kids very relaxing quiet part of Mellieha. Great Service Great Food and very reasonable Price. Close to all shops and 'The Sanctuary' Really easy access to a load of Fine Dining Restaurants. Perfect for our family in a two bedroom apartment. A Great Relaxing Weekend Break!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzylino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are overwhelmed at learning that you and your family have enjoyed your little getaway with us and that you found the rooms, meals and our Team’s service offering to be of an excellent standard.

We very much hope we will have the honor of hosting you again in the future!

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited the hotel for the first time last weekend it was a nice experience what i did not like was that the indoor pool water was not heated but really cold, and the beds are really uncomfortable otherwise overall we enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Weekend Break experience with us and reviewing our Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your valuable feedback concerning the indoor pool temperature and the beds has not gone unnoticed, with relevant action taken where necessary.

While trusting there will be a future opportunity where we can once again welcome you on board, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we had a two bed room apartment this was supposed to accomodate six people.There would be very small people to try and get into the kitchen the dining table could only sit four the rooms need an urgent upgrade

Room Tip: do not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've been to the pergola hotel last saturday and sunday 15,16 february 2014 and we enjoyed it very much , with helpful staff from the reception , house keeping and waiting staff and the restuarant . thanks to all and keep it up !!! Thanks again .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simoncutajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your break with us at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa; thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

While extending to you our sincerest appreciation for having chosen us in the first place, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, this hotel did not meet my expectations in the least. For starters, it is definitely not of four star standard, and i will explain why...
Upon checkig in, I asked for a space in the parking area , but i was told that it was fully booked. The reception was nicely decorated, with a red black burlesqje theme which is very welcoming, however as soon as you step in to the lifts it feels like youve stepped into the 80s, making you think the reception and the rooms are two different buildings. The hotel rooms were pretty old , with only two plugs to cater for the whole room and one other for the tv... meaning if you wanted to charge 2 phones you had to turn off the tv. The air con was HORRIBLY noisy.. and did not heat at all. The bathroom was up to standard , although for a 4 star i would expect a lot better. Our room was not cleaned daily and the beds were not made for the whole 2 days... we only found clean towels otherwise no domestic service was given.

I can not comment on the facilities because i did not make use of any of them so it would be unjust of me to comment. My room had a pool view.. in my opinion the pool is rather small for a 4*..
Breakfast will have to top the list of disappointment. never have i been served white watery scrambled eggs in a 4 star hotel! I also asked for a packed breakfast on one of the days... a bottle of water, small juice, a very dry sandwich, rock hard cupcake, a really stale apple, and a packet of water biscuits (who on earth eats galletti for breakfast??)
Super disappointed. Would not reccomend ...

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ClaClaMangion117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A boutique hotel with traditional values set high into the cliffs of Mellieha, with stunning views out the church and the bay. I would definitely recommend the sea view rooms, I had a self-contained sea-view studio and cost me roughly £130 per week for 3 weeks.

The food in the hotel's Da Cicchio restaurant was divine, and the chef excellent. I would come back to Malta just for dinner there alone. It was very good value also. A 4-course meal including good wine on Christmas Day came to 39E per person, and was worth every cent.

The cleanliness and service was faultless in the hotel, although Wi-Fi was not worth paying extra in the rooms for. It's free in the lobby, and even there it is slow.

The pool area and gym have seen better days, with the fitness equipment either elementary or not working. Having said that, the pool is lovely and I enjoyed going there. The 2 outside pools were too cold to use when I went, though lovely yet small.

I would highly recommend the front-line staff - it's what makes this hotel friendly and intimate. The staff are first-rate, loyal and friendly, and can often be found working in the Hotel Solana (sister hotel) around the corner. My grateful thanks go to Louise, Nenko, Derek, Charlene, Ruby, Marouska, and Jessica. They are a credit to the company as a whole and very dedicated to ensuring your holiday is pleasant, smooth and what you would expect from a 4-star establishment.

Special mention also should be made of the unctuous receptionist Joseph, who made my holiday even more memorable, ruining the final days. There is no doubt he will long be remembered for all the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the lift, the alarms go off often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $26 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing