We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Paola, Malta
1 review
“Good”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited the hotel for the first time last weekend it was a nice experience what i did not like was that the indoor pool water was not heated but really cold, and the beds are really uncomfortable otherwise overall we enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Weekend Break experience with us and reviewing our Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your valuable feedback concerning the indoor pool temperature and the beds has not gone unnoticed, with relevant action taken where necessary.

While trusting there will be a future opportunity where we can once again welcome you on board, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    648
    218
    104
    60
See reviews for
470
753
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we had a two bed room apartment this was supposed to accomodate six people.There would be very small people to try and get into the kitchen the dining table could only sit four the rooms need an urgent upgrade

Room Tip: do not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've been to the pergola hotel last saturday and sunday 15,16 february 2014 and we enjoyed it very much , with helpful staff from the reception , house keeping and waiting staff and the restuarant . thanks to all and keep it up !!! Thanks again .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncutajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your break with us at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa; thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

While extending to you our sincerest appreciation for having chosen us in the first place, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, this hotel did not meet my expectations in the least. For starters, it is definitely not of four star standard, and i will explain why...
Upon checkig in, I asked for a space in the parking area , but i was told that it was fully booked. The reception was nicely decorated, with a red black burlesqje theme which is very welcoming, however as soon as you step in to the lifts it feels like youve stepped into the 80s, making you think the reception and the rooms are two different buildings. The hotel rooms were pretty old , with only two plugs to cater for the whole room and one other for the tv... meaning if you wanted to charge 2 phones you had to turn off the tv. The air con was HORRIBLY noisy.. and did not heat at all. The bathroom was up to standard , although for a 4 star i would expect a lot better. Our room was not cleaned daily and the beds were not made for the whole 2 days... we only found clean towels otherwise no domestic service was given.

I can not comment on the facilities because i did not make use of any of them so it would be unjust of me to comment. My room had a pool view.. in my opinion the pool is rather small for a 4*..
Breakfast will have to top the list of disappointment. never have i been served white watery scrambled eggs in a 4 star hotel! I also asked for a packed breakfast on one of the days... a bottle of water, small juice, a very dry sandwich, rock hard cupcake, a really stale apple, and a packet of water biscuits (who on earth eats galletti for breakfast??)
Super disappointed. Would not reccomend ...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaClaMangion117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A boutique hotel with traditional values set high into the cliffs of Mellieha, with stunning views out the church and the bay. I would definitely recommend the sea view rooms, I had a self-contained sea-view studio and cost me roughly £130 per week for 3 weeks.

The food in the hotel's Da Cicchio restaurant was divine, and the chef excellent. I would come back to Malta just for dinner there alone. It was very good value also. A 4-course meal including good wine on Christmas Day came to 39E per person, and was worth every cent.

The cleanliness and service was faultless in the hotel, although Wi-Fi was not worth paying extra in the rooms for. It's free in the lobby, and even there it is slow.

The pool area and gym have seen better days, with the fitness equipment either elementary or not working. Having said that, the pool is lovely and I enjoyed going there. The 2 outside pools were too cold to use when I went, though lovely yet small.

I would highly recommend the front-line staff - it's what makes this hotel friendly and intimate. The staff are first-rate, loyal and friendly, and can often be found working in the Hotel Solana (sister hotel) around the corner. My grateful thanks go to Louise, Nenko, Derek, Charlene, Ruby, Marouska, and Jessica. They are a credit to the company as a whole and very dedicated to ensuring your holiday is pleasant, smooth and what you would expect from a 4-star establishment.

Special mention also should be made of the unctuous receptionist Joseph, who made my holiday even more memorable, ruining the final days. There is no doubt he will long be remembered for all the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the lift, the alarms go off often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel between 9th and 16th Feb. After hiring a car for the week, we found the Pergola easily after a 30 minute or so drive from the airport. After paying just over £100 each for a weeks self catering (including flight) the hotel was better than we expected.
Our studio room cost roughly £20 a night and was more than comfortable, very clean, modern and spacious. Balcony had a great view of the local church and of the bay. The reception area was also clean with a marbled floor etc, lovely seating areas and outside area.
Unfortunately the spa was closed, but open to us at their sister hotel, The Solana. The indoor pool looked good, but as we had so many places to see, we didn't use the facilities.
I have given this an excellent rating, although there were a couple of minor things that did spoil the break a tad, but not enough to affect the rating. The in-room internet connectivity is very poor and something that I would suggest management review. Although we were given free wifi access as part of the booking, it was pretty much useless to be honest as it kept losing the signal, which may explain the reason why so many people spent time in the foyer seating areas, as access was so much better there, which was a shame. Our other family members staying in a room right next to the reception area also had the same issue. Had I have paid the 12 euro fee for 12 hours access, I wouldn't have been happy at all.
Secondly, we stayed in room 7, which was 20 feet from a lift. Which was noisy at times through the night when people returned to their rooms. This area of the hotel was also very echoey and other people staying in nearby rooms didn't take into account that you can close a door without just letting it swing itself shut. Maybe some signage to remind guests to close doors quietly by actually lifting the handle would help this problem, as it did keep us awake at times. Ear plugs purchased though, and problem solved on both accounts.
Overall, we did have a lovely stay in this hotel, and for what we paid it was excellent value for money hence my rating. The staff were extremely helpful, restaurants very good (we paid for breakfast which was very good) and we would definately return without hesitation.
Another note for management:- at breakfast it was not a great place to have the tea/coffee facilities right next to the orange juice machine - far too cramped. And to have to bend down to pick a cup/glass from the very bottom of a cupboard and then stand up with people using hot facilities is dangerous, and an accident waiting to happen. Additionally, the toasting machine is also in a place which is busy with people getting their breakfast items, and just causes gridlock. Theres plenty of room in there to move these things which I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nukleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed an honour to learn that having returned to Malta after 30 years, the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa did not disappoint you at all! At our hotel we highly value all forms of constructive criticism and in fact, your valuable feedback was discussed at our weekly Head of Departments Meeting, with the aim of taking relevant action where deemed necessary.

We truly hope that this time round, it will not take you another thirty years to return back to Malta and very much trust that Pergola will remain your favoured property, for your vacation.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

As the evening began to get boring in November the travel itch became apparent and once more it was the time for some research,As usual at the top of the list was A1 and we got down to business selecting the possibilities, temperatures, flying time, transfer times, cultures etc. Although we had been to Malta on previous occasions, the deals on offer were very good value for money and the flight costs were very good. So then the potential holiday maker refers to the oracle (Tripadvisor) and from the pre-selection, takes the plunge! Our arrival at the Pergola in the transfer bus was quite uneventful, Maltese drivers still go around with their rosary beads in their hands as well as their mobile phones and seem to survive most journeys, We were checked in by Joseph, a good English speaker, in smart Pergola livery (as were all the staff) he was attentive and although offering an up grade on our promo room, was not dejected by our refusal as we kept to the package price. The Hotel has eight floors, reception on floor 1 and our room on the floor above, (pre-fixed, 0 . We were on a half board basis, breakfast from 0730 till 0930, most guests used the restaurant from 8 on it seemed, the menu was quite diverse and catered for most tastes, with no obvious shortages of anything, once again the staff were attentive and helpful, with Dorothy, James and others clearing courses and topping up the buffets.
Evening Meals, 6.30-9pm the restaurant adopted the theme of the day (Candlelit Dinner,Italian,Maltese,Country and Western etc.) and with the loss of daylight, the atmosphere more intimate. [nice!] Once again, no shortage of selection, salads, fish, cheeses, soups, hot dishes with generally 4 meats (most days with hot fish choice) choice of veg etc. The wine selection at the table was good but the bar also stocked inexpensive local wine as well, Desserts followed usually with a very good choice of tort or individual item, fresh fruit salad, ice creams, cheeses and biscuits. In a previous life, I was a member of Cunard's QE 1 catering staff and as such, feel qualified to provide praise when it's deserved, When on holiday my wife and I appreciate the qualities sought by most tourists, Good accommodation, good food and good hospitality, at an acceptable price, I appreciate we enjoyed a promotional package but it scored highly on all levels, Thank you to all at the Pergola .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

‘Escaping England in February’ makes us understand how very lucky and blessed us Maltese are; we really and truly have no idea of what a real Winter is like!

We are ever so glad that your November boredom led you to us and are extremely pleased to learn of your overall positive experience. Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and trust it will not be long before we can have the honour of hosting you again.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,928 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing