We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rate this hotel a 3 star only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Pergola hotel for 3 nights this September. Check in was good and the reception staff were also fine, but this is where it stopped. We were in room 50 on the same floor as reception. The room was clean and large, but the air con and overhead fan did not work so the room was sweltering. We brought this to the attention of the reception staff and were told nothing could be done that evening but they would get a separate fan for us. We waited and spoke to reception a further 3 times, but to no avail. We had a terrible night in the heat of the room. The next day after much complaining they did manage to find us a fan, but they made no attempt to get the overhead fan or the aircon working during our stay. Also for a 4star hotel to charge you for swimming towels, wifi in your room and a standard tourist map is unacceptable. We later stayed at the nearby Mellieha Maritim Hotel, which was in a different league. Cool and comfortable and inwould recommend you choose that over the Pergola.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank robertlourens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your feedback following your short sojourn at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa. At our hotel, we strive very hard at ensuring that our esteemed guests have a quality stay and hence, please rest assured that we have addressed the maintenance issues arising and took relevant action with our Maintenance Team.

While we apologise for falling short of your expectations, should you consider returning to our island in the future and wish to consider allowing us a second opportunity where to re-win your trust, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and we will not only ensure we extend to you our most favourable accommodation offer, but will also ensure your overall experience is within the standards expected.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
There are newer reviews for Pergola Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Myself, husband, daughter and her friend recently stayed at The Pergola. After a friendly and informative welcome from the hotel receptionist, Louise, we were most impressed with our overall stay. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and were cleaned every day. All other areas of the hotel were kept immaculate. The staff there very friendly and conscientious. Will definitely stay there again if we go back to Mellieha!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

You have made our day! Receiving such rewarding feedback makes us ascertain that we will continue aiming high at ensuring that our guests, once staying with us, receive nothing, but the very best of hospitality service!

We very much trust we will have the honour of hosting you again, in the future.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rather than jump from one thing to another,I'm combining my review of Malta with that of the Pergola HoteL,so bear with me.........

Firstly the flight out and the discovery that for some reason Air Malta dont accept plastic ..ah well

When we got to Malta Airport no one met us,no rep,no taxi driver,and so we joined the melee of people walking around hoping to find allocated transport,this form of chaos seems to be the norm. Eventualy someone suggested I try box 12 - what is this? Noel's deal or no deal? - there were 1/2 a dozen like wise confused souls there,I was told there was a taxi driver looking for me! eventually I found him, he passed me onto another taxi driver wearing a "Go Corfu" T Shirt, I was beginning to agree .

Now Malta is not a big island and yet it took us 2 hours to get to Malleiha ,thanks mainly to the weird one way systems, which would send us up one street , down another , across another around the block...in fact it was one of the most tortuous journeys I've undertaken.It's virtually impossible to distinguish one town from another as they all blend into one in one of the most denseley populated areas in Europe, overpopulation and deregulated building gone beserk.In between was a depressingly barren sight with virtually no woodland,barren outcrops ,rocky landscapes and no rivers to break up the grim N African like landscape.

We arrived at the Hotel, a very nice reception area,and the hotel is situated in a great location, just off the church square in the old town.So here are my perceptions and observations

Our Room - lovely,fair play! but with an A/C that sounded like a tractor making it virtually impossible to use at a high level when trying to sleep.The ceiling fan was fine,nice bathroom,beds comfortable enough.

Lifts - Sorry but I found this three different lift shaft to be highly confusing and I know elderly guests were as equally dumbfounded,in fact using the London underground is easier, it's a major flaw in my opinion...not the hotel's fault of course,the architect whose brainwave it was.

Hotel restaurants and "entertainment" - The hotel has to operate within a budget , I appreciate that,but some of the things - trivial things, were just,at best irritating, and at worse bordering on being parsimonious.There are 3 bars,but only one is operational [lack of staff perhaps? ] and thats the Cave Bar,you couldn't use the La Valle unless you were eating there thus deriving people of a lovely view and you couldn't have a coffee after your main meal in the Bienvennue Restaurant, even to the extent of all the coffee cups being taken away, I never saw anyone use the bar apart from hotel introductions for excursions.
The food? well if you are of the opinion that one just eats to live then ,fine ,adequate enough if you feel that eating is a way of living then it was boring,predictable, uninspired and lacking in enthusiasm,it's also not good enough to recycle so as to save money imo.We became so depressed that we went out to eat on two occasions,and maybe this hotel would be better as a B&B and leave good cooking, rather than canteen tpe delivery, to places like Guiseppe's in the village an Ta Peter's which at least revived my hopes that Maltese cooking wasn't lacking in flavour for the sake of pandering to bland UK palletes.
The entertainment,when we had it , was...dire and was so amateur that, once again,one was left with the impression that the hotel was cutting costs in quality...and yet it could be so different, it's in a great position, has fantastic staff,Maltese wine is exceptional for the price and the weather is great,the place should be jumping like the Maritime over the other side of the Bridge,my impression was that the hotel is in a comfort zone but all these silly cost cutting measures and preventative issues must be losing them business. Is it 4 star? not in my opinion, would I go back? no, I quite enjoyed the excursions but how many churches do you need? Sorry Malta,sorry Pergola but it's a thumbs down from me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are truly disappointed to note that during your recent visit to our island, both our hotel and Malta, as a destination, did not meet your expectations.

Indeed, Malta is an archipelago of 4 very small islands with Malta and Gozo being the only two that are inhabited. The islands are renowned for their numerous cultural, artistic and natural treasures, blessed with year-round sunshine, rendering them into a fascinating setting for a vacation. The way the towns and villages blend into one another is usually considered more of an asset rather than highly confusing, allowing ease of transportation, when visiting the various places of interest. The journey from the airport to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, when using an exclusive taxi service or self-drive car should in reality not exceed a 45-minute drive.

Like each and every business, the hotel does indeed operate within a budget but definitely not at the expense of hindering the enjoyment of a guest’s stay. In a nut shell, the following are the Food & Beverage opportunities, within our hotel. The Cave Bar is in fact open throughout the warm months, whereas the Bonaventura Bar is then open when the Cave Bar is no longer operational. The Bonaventura Restaurant on the other hand, is open all year through for buffet breakfast and dinner, serving all relevant beverage selections including coffee, during dinner hours. The La Valle al Fresco, weather permitting, is open every evening offering a wide selection of pizza, pasta and grills, and yes, why not, guests are most welcome to enjoy a bottle of wine or otherwise, while enjoying the panoramic views that Mellieha has to offer at this venue, without feeling obliged to dine too. An alternative dining experience is also available at Da Ciccio Cucina, specialising in fresh pasta, pizzas and fresh fish among others.

We thank you for having taken the time in sharing your opinion about your vacation with us and while we respect the fact that you may not choose to travel to Malta in the future, should you ever be of a different opinion, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, where we will make our best endeavours in ensuring that your overall experience on our island is more rewarding.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Firstly I have to say I agree whole heartedly that the staff are friendly and accommodating. Derek was brilliant as bar tender in the cave bar. Overall I enjoyed the stay but I am not 100% convinced that this is a 4 star hotel. the bed sheets were thread bare - with actual holes in them. the room when cleaned was brilliantly done - but after being cleaned Wednesday and Thursday - nothing happened Friday and after chasing on Saturday the clean was done - though the receptionist seemed to think that the cleaning wasn't done everyday - however on check out they confirmed it should have been !. the posters round the hotel informing you of what meal ~ theme is available each night does differ. different messages on the A board - the notice board in reception and on level 7. therefore only ate breakfast. which whilst the food looked good - again small attention to detail could make such a difference. salt and pepper filled and on every table. clean cups - sugar etc filled - butter not spread - fresh fruit not tinned (pineapple) ~ bowls and plates next to the right arrangement of foods ~ spoons on the tables.
The air conditioning was not working as well as it should have been in the bedroom but to be fair as soon as it was mentioned - reception sent a maintenance man who admitted not a lot he could do whilst we were there but we were given a fan. I think the hotel just needs a little bit of TLC. the sink surround in the bathroom had a tile or two missing. The girls on reception were brilliant and can not be faulted.
I arrived early but I acknowledged this and was given the luggage room key and advised about the lay out of the hotel and how to get to the high street etc. very informative.
if I was rating this on the staff only I would be giving it a 6. BUT its the smallest of details that can ruin the hotel...

Room Tip: rooms 71-75 have a lovely balcony view of the smaller quieter outside pool. the rooms with the best...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you so much for the rewarding feedback on our Team! At the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, we take pride in offering quality customer service and your review is a testimony to the Team effort in place. Heartfelt thanks!

Thank you also for highlighting a number of aspects that may have contributed towards a less positive experience at our hotel. We have in fact investigated each and every one of these aspects and where possible took relevant action as deemed necessary.

While trusting there will be a future opportunity when we can once again welcome you on board, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stay at the hotel for one week , from 01/09 to 08/09.We recommand this hotel. Everything was excellent: the staff, the quality of the service. Rooms are very confortable, quiet and clean. The staff is always pleasant and take time to answer our many questions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your favourable recommendation to our esteemed future guests! We very much hope we will have the honour of welcoming you back on board in the future!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights in August in a self catering one bedroom apartment. Although it was decorativley a little tired everything worked and there was plenty of space. Housekeeping staff did a great of keeping everything clean and tidy, and the one time not enough towels were left it was rectified withing 10 minutes of reporting. Facilities are good and having three smaller pools means they are not too busy and you could usually get a sunbed. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially Derek in the Cave Bar. The location just of the main street mean't there wasn't lots of noise or traffic.We would stay again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are ever so pleased to hear that your stay in August in one of our one-bedroom self catering units was a positive experience.

Our entire Team, together with Derek our Cave Bar cocktails expert, very much look forward at having you back on board, in the future!

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We decided to book this hotel for two weeks this summer. Our biggest problem with this hotel was finding it. I looked on Google maps at the address and location given by various sites and if you go by these you will have a 117 step climb up to the entrance of the hotel!!! If you copy and paste the following latitude and longitude into Google maps search it will land you at the hotels front door - hopefully: 35.959315, 14.363503.
You will need a good sense of direction when you go walkabout in the hotel as it is bulit on quite a steep hill and mostly you will get on a lift and go DOWN to most of the rooms! This can have some quite funny moments tyring to decide which lift to take and whether you are going up or down
The room that we had was ideal for us. It had a fully equiped kitchen, all the usual stuff, bathroom was a bit small, but did the job, the bed was a proper double bed, the TV was a bit antiquated but worked ok, not much in the way of english speaking channels, but...There was a safe in the room and you had to leave a deposit for the key
We stayed booked for room only and changed this to b&b by paying for breakfasts which for the two weeks was about £5 per person per day, not to bad, and the food was good, not fantastic but good. The waiting staff were friendly and courteous
If you look at Google maps and looking left from the entrance to the hotel, there is a lane way that looks like steps, well these are steps! all 117 of them, but dont worry there is a way up and down using the hotel lifts that means you can avoid the steps, just ask at reception and have a pen and paper ready!
If you go down these steps and straight accross the bridge you will come to the main street and from there there are many pubs and restarurants to eat and drink at. The church is to the right and up the street at the corner are several cheapish restaruants.
All in all we had a good time with this hotel, would we go back - yes
Tony

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view or a view over the bay/town
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyoneshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for going to the trouble of presenting our future guests with relevant latitude and longitude directions for Google Maps! The Pergola Club Hotel & Spa is in fact located quite centrally in the village of Mellieha but yet, any prospective guests getting worried on how to reach us, are very welcome to contact us directly and we will not hesitate to guide them from thereon.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and very much hope we will get the opportunity of welcoming you back on board, sometime in the future!

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,969 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $34 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing