We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a quick and not so expensive break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick and not so expensive break”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Room is nice and spacious and apartment was fully equipped.
Food is ok but space for improvement antipasti selection and fresh fruit lacking.
Hate the carpets by the pool as its not so hygenic and deck furniture is not appropriate.
Staff are really nice and friendly especially front desk.
View is amazing

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 199denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took your time to share your experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa with us, and we are pleased to read that you were made to feel welcome and satisfied with all aspects overall.

We have taken note of the valuable feedback, which you have kindly addressed, and rest assured that we will continue to ensure that all of our guests get the very best in comfort and in value.

We hope to be able to welcome you again to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa in the near future. In the meantime we remain,

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    638
    215
    103
    61
See reviews for
456
749
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is far from the city, about 30-45 min drive, set in a residential area. Kitchen is located in the middle so ventilation is bad. 1 bathroom for 4 people. sofa bed was soft and looked cheap. My sisters had back ache after sleeping. v basic for family stay. The fridge was huge and looked new, otherwise everything is dated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-Lo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your views on your stay with us last year, and we are disappointed to read that the expectations you had on the quaint village of Mellieha and the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa were not met.

Our Hotel is actually situated just 2 minutes away from Mellieha village's hub where the majority of the shops, bars, restaurants, attractions and bus stops are. The capital city Valletta is indeed reachable within a 45 minute drive, yet the beauty and charm of Mellieha village lies in the fact that it is different from the busier cities in central or southern Malta.

It is also worth pointing out that our 1-Bedroom units can accommodate a maximum of 4 persons in ample space and comfort, yet guests who wish to add more luxury to their stay have the possibility to upgrade to one of our 2-Bedroom units, which will provide its guests, with an additional private bedroom, along with the possibility of an additional bathroom.

While thanking you for having chosen Malta and the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your holiday experience, please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to give us more feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our first trip to Malta and would definitely return to the Pergola Hotel.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and corridors are kept incredibly clean. The food choice is excellent, not a chip in sight but plenty of choice and each night is themed. One young girl requested fried eggs at breakfast and the chef did this as a special for her no problem. The waiting staff were efficient and welcoming.

We did find the room to be quite cold on an evening but then we visited in February. We simply added extra blankets - problem solved.

The hotel is at the top of a hill reached by steps however for hotel clients there is a lift at the bottom of the hill and you are provided with a key pad number to gain entry.

We used the public transport as well as various organised tours and hardly had time to fit everything into a week.

Would strongly recommend anybody visiting Malta to use this hotel as their base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read your overwhelming review and we thank you for sharing your positive experience with all of us.

At the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, we strive to provide a good quality service and product, and we are delighted that where it comes to the most important factors in hospitality - cleanliness, service & food; we have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Pergola Club Hotel & SPA very soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was very disappointed with Pergola as a hotel and also its spa facilities which are terrible, and I am honestly surprised it has such a good rating. Especially since I am sure a nearby hotel offers so much better, at an even better price!
Our room was very spacious, I cannot complain about that - but here's a list of the following:
- Main door to our room looked as if part of it had been broken down some time in the past. It even had a nail jutting out.
- Constant humming/white noise sound
- The bathroom door was faulty and wouldn't lock, again we are sure that it had been knocked down sometime in the past and never repaired.
- Electric socket coming off wall - very dangerous
- Lack of breakfast options - for example in our case we didn't have options of how we wanted our eggs (again I am comparing to a nearby hotel)
- Internal pool very limited, feels claustrophobic, too hot and chlorine smell was way too strong! I didn't last 15 mins in the area
- Gym facilities extremely unmaintained, and no treadmills!
- Hotel in general is in need of a major upgrade - it's easy to get lost and one has to use different lifts to get to different parts of the hotel.

Overall the hotel was clean and service was good, but otherwise left much to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFenech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your recent week-end break, and while we are pleased at your excellent comments and ratings on our cleanliness and service in general, we are equally disappointed that certain aspects may have hindered your enjoyment during your stay.

It is worth pointing out that we take constructive criticism very seriously and where possible, we will ensure that such short-comings are avoided in the immediate future. Unfortunately now that the situation is in the past, it is not possible for us to rectify, however we wish to clarify that abreast the vast selection of food prepared daily on the breakfast buffet counter, we do offer a by-request complimentary selection of fried and boiled eggs, along with a choice of differently prepared omelettes.

We hope to be able to welcome you again to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa in the near future, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly on info@pergolahotel.com.mt should you wish to discuss this matter more profoundly. We will ensure that your next stay with us is as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a very good stay at Pergola. I was there with some students of mine and some colleagues and despite being a large group, the check-in process was quick and the staff catered to our every need. We stayed in self-catering apartments which are clean, spacious and equipped with all required amenities. Breakfast is good and the management is very friendly and helpful. The service is excellent and this hotel is definitely good value for money. My only qualm was getting around the hotel which took some time to get used to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to recount your positive recent experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa. We are extremely pleased to hear that both you and your pupils had an equally enjoyable and relaxing time.

While thanking you for choosing the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your group's stay, we look forward to be able to welcome you back very soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This has been a good to very good hotel for some time but there is always something that stops it becoming an excellent one. As always it is the attention to detail that is lacking. Improvements are continually being made here but they are mostly to do with the fabric, the eating & drinking areas, the immediately obvious things.

I have just returned from four nights at the Solana and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I got an excellent deal through Travel Republic: four nights B&B in a double room, which turned out to have a lovely balcony overlooking one of the pools, for £50. This was excellent value. The room was spotless, the balcony a suntrap and the cleaning staff were really friendly. Reception staff were helpful but, as has been the case on previous occasions, have to solve problems not of their own making.

The hotel really needs one of the senior staff to check on the little things. For example, make sure every guest is given the code to enter the lower entrance to avoid the numerous steps; check the drinks at breakfast (all week the orange juice was being dispensed undiluted); have a more rigorous system for charging to the room - I had three separate receipts with two different signatures (none of them my own) showing my room number. Guests have a card showing their details; why not insist on producing it? These are little niggles but do prevent this hotel from getting the highest scores.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff_and_Juls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review with us, and we equally appreciate both the positive comments as well as your sincere suggestions and constructive criticism, which you have very kindly brought to our attention.

Please rest assured that the comments you have mentioned, will all be given the necessary importance, in order to ensure that such situations are prevented in the future.

While thanking you having chosen the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your recent holiday experience, we would very pleased if we could have the opportunity to welcome you again in the not so distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last August and we were very impressed. We stayed in a courtyard view room with a balcony over-looking the pool. Our room was clean and of a good size. Bathroom was very modern. When we arrived at the hotel we had single beds in our room, i went to reception and they sorted this out for us in no time. Polite and friendly staff. Would recomend a 2nd floor room overlooking the peaceful courtyard. breakfast was a bit repetitive but didnt bother us to much. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your stupendous experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa with all of us. We are pleased to read that you were equally impressed and satisfied by all aspects during your stay with us.

While thanking you for recommending the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, we look forward to be able to welcome you again in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,877 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing