We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Hotel for Lower Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good things: the staff at the Pergola are friendly and informative. The downsides are straightforward: this is a tired hotel property which is now in need of upgrades - furniture, equipment, amenities. We spent 5 days here, arriving back in London this evening, Feb 24th, 2013. We travelled for a half term holiday on an RCI extra week as we had a credit in our exchange account. Our children are aged 13, 10, 7, and 17 months which meant we needed a cot and a high chair. The cot collapsed with the baby in it - luckily she was unhurt but frightened. The staff were genuinely gutted about this, risking not only a suit but also the wrath of Sun Sites the owners. As our daughter was unhurt, the most we are doing about the incident is mentioning it here on Tripadvisor so other families can properly check the equipment. We recommend to the owners and the staff that they dump all these old fashioned cots and high chairs (which by the way aren't particularly clean) and get some decent ones from Mothercare. The electric hob lights had fallen in and this could be easily fixed. The cooked hood was broken as were the kick boards - all basic things that the hotel can put right with a simple regular walk through of each unit. The indoor pool was cold on the first day but fine after several complaints. the shower off the indoor pool has a broken sliding door. The downside of the self catering is its limitations. So be prepared, if you can handle cooking on two rings and a microwave/oven then make sure you do a menu of things you can cook in this way. We ended up eating out every night. Good places were Ta Randi and Al Ponte. The a la carte restaurant, Tosca, at the sister hotel is not recommended. The breakfast is good value, the dinner less so. Be aware this is a smoking hotel so the corridors reek of smoke. In the village itself, do see the air raid shelters and the church (open early and then again after 4pm). The Popeye Village is very good, we all enjoyed it (except the 13 year old - too cool for school). The sea front is only 15 minute down the hill. The bus to Valetta is a doddle (no. 41) and we also took advantage of the dive shop at street level (level 7 in the lift) for the two boys (13 and 10) to do a bubbe blowing class, this went really well. In summary, don't expect too much from Pergola, if you're used to RCI Gold and Silver Crown and Club La Costa, this isn't it. But other than the collapsing cot incident, this is generally a clean hotel - its a little worn, I think the owners are probably a little tight with money which is a shame, all they need do is a few basic things and the hotel would be whole lot better, so come on Sun Site, pull yourself together and spend some cash on Pergola.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool, we were in 004.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent holiday experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

Our organisation takes very seriously the well being of our esteemed guests and very much regrets the occurrence of the cot incident. Throughout the last days, this incident, together with a number of other aspects mentioned, were profoundly discussed with our team and we would like you to rest assured that we shall be continuing to do our very best endeavours to constantly aim at offering our esteemed guests a very positive holiday stay.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
There are newer reviews for Pergola Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment facing the sea. The apartment was dated but comfortable.Wasnt too happy about two single beds joined together to make one double bed. Did inform the hotel staff but all they did was put a double bed sheet to justify. A few things were broken such as the water tap, cupboard doors and also the cooker hood which fell while my wife was cooking. Luckily she did not get injured. Staff were very friendly and helpful A bit dissapointed about the indoor swimming pool which was either not heated or very hot on some days. Overall location of the hotel is good. George's bakery provided fresh bread and the bus stop was couple of minutes from the hotel. The weekly bus pass of Eur12 per person was also very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time in sharing with us your feedback.

We are sorry that there were a number of maintenance aspects that may have hindered the comfort of your stay. Please rest assured that we take such situations very seriously and hence, have done our very utmost to investigate the situation with our Maintenance Team to possibly eliminate the re-occurrence of such a situation.

While thanking you for having chosen the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your stay in Malta, we remain

Yours sincerely,


Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Reception gives the impression of a top quaility hotel and the professional, friendly staff add to that initial impression. We were shown our "promotional room" with an obscured window and no view so we upgraded to another room with a balcony and view of courtyard pool at 14 euro extra per night. This still did not make it terrbly expensive for B&B but I would be suprised if anyone ever stayed in the "promational" room.
This hotel is advertised 4 Star which it certainly isn't. However it is very good value, in a lovely location and the staff are very helpful...which is a good job as we needed them to help us get into our room either by reprogramming the card key or using the master key on several occasions. The reasons I believe this is not a 4 Star are as follows:
- A 4 star would have flat screen TV - We had an old Grundig with very temperamental controls.
- A 4 star would not have missing fascia on the bathroom sink, a very loose toilet flush handle and staining on the lower toilet seat - we had all of these.
- A 4 star would ensure each room is cleaned each day, our was not.
- A 4 star would not have bits of plastic coverings floating about in their Spa Hydro-Bath. We had a free voucher for this but I might have been a little more concerned if we'd paid 24 euros for it. It was also quite noisy but the spa was lovely and spa like.

I could go on regarding minor maintenance and care issues but the bottom line is this clean and friendly hotel needs a relatively small injection of cash and a bit of TLC and attention to detail to restore it to it's former glory. We were visiting relatives and treating it as a relaxing base in between family visits so it was perfectly adequate (although cold as we chose possibly the coldest week for our trip and I don't believe many places in Malta are geared up for the very few cold snaps they have).

I'd love to return to the Pergola one day and find these minor concerns addressed. If you are happy with 3 star quality then the Pergola is perfectly fine.
-

Room Tip: Room 81 has a very temperamental outer door whcih meant we had to ask reception to get us in on seve...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you considered our Team to be professional, helpful and friendly and that you considered the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa as being a clean hotel. These are in fact all very important factors that we strongly believe in being of uppermost importance in delivering a quality holiday experience to our esteemed guests.

We very much regret that a number of maintenance related issues, may have hindered the enjoyment of your stay, however, please rest assured that we have looked into all the various aspects and where possible took the necessary action to avoid a repeat performance.

While trusting that you will not hesitate in using our services during future visits in Malta, we remain

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I always try to look at the positive in hotels but found this one difficult, only good side was staff were friendly, It said in the details of hotel "The luxurious apartments", this made me feel even let down. We were booked in from Saturday 9th Feb 2013 but decided to go on Sunday 10th, so I was surprised to be advised room was not ready. We had used exchange company with owners of room 14 so was surprised when they advised we were in room 6. I questioned this with reception and was advised that, it was same standard. As soon as we entered room we knew this was not going to be good, room was freezing and it was blowing gale through doors, furniture was broken and had a balcony but no great view, room was in a corner so had no sun. The bathroom door was sticking,I reported the cold room to reception and was advised that gearing was not working and they were working on it,we decided to wait and see, tried to make cup of tea but kettle gad a hole in the bottom and water poured out, tv looked like it was from the 70's, we decided to go out for dinner and see how things were when we got back. Room was still cold so we decided to have a quick shower to warm up, shower was hanging of the wall but at least worked, water ran round the bath and flooded floor, we found we that we had to make a dam from toilet paper to protect floor, we went to bed @ 8as it was so cold. Next day we met Sharon, we explained that we were not happy and she said she would look into comments but nothing was done, I felt that as we had exchanged with people from room 14, our room should be to this standard and with same view, it was not. Sorry I really wanted to be able to give a good review

Room Tip: Get one with a view, position of hotel makes it a must
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa through an exchange company, however we remain very much perplexed at receiving your feedback. At the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa we strongly believe in constructive criticism and while this experience is unfortunately now in the past and cannot be taken back, we have investigated all the various aspects mentioned.

As clearly indicated in the voucher presented at check-in, the resort reserves the right to change the unit number, however it ensures that you will be allocated one of equivalent size and standard. This is therefore the reason why the room number differed from that previously indicated. Where other maintenance issues are concerned, one appreciates that while an element of things should be eliminated through the thorough room inspection carried out prior to guest check-in, there are others situations that crop up from time to time such as the lose furniture unit kickboard, identified through a photo presented by your good self. This is why we encourage our esteemed guests to complete the maintenance form presented in the lounge area, so that we will act in the fastest way possible on any such small maintenance requirements arising. Where the heating is concerned, regretfully this was a particularly cold week by Maltese standards and our heating, in conjunction with the gale force wind and the high level of humidity, may have not met your expectations.

While we very much trust that this wintry experience has not affected negatively your experience of the Maltese islands, we very much hope that you will allow the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa a future opportunity where to re-win your trust. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to get back to us directly so that we will do our best endeavours in offering you our best of quality service throughout.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the last spring Holiday we spent in the lovely hotel in Mellieha. Just a walk down the stairs from the main street, but still very quiet and with a beautiful view over the Bay. Very proffessional staff and very hosting atmosphere makes you want to go back there again. At the reception we got all the information needed to better explore the Island. Very helpfull!!
Keep it up and Thank You,
Katia

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so very happy to hear that your stay with us was a very enjoyable one and we very much hope, we can welcome you back on board, in the near future!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me, husband, brother-in-law, sister-in-law stayed for 3 nights over New Year days, BBB.
We rented a car, so location being good, did not matter much to us. We were able to explore the island as we liked. There is a free parking next to the hotel and we could park on the streets.
We were well welcomed by the staff. Rooms were spotless clean. There was a kettle, tea, coffee in the room daily.
Breakfast buffet was brilliant galore of food. New Year's buffet dinner was exceptional. Staff very kindly allowed me to take a tray with breakfast to the room when my husband was late to attend.
The hotel is a labyrinth of levels, lifts, corridors. For our 4 days stay we had fun trying to find our way around, albeit the signs in the lifts. Perhaps we were most of the day-time out and about.
Bar and Restaurant's staff very helpful, friendly and professional.
Negatives:
- Occasional bad smells in the lobby.-? Bad hotel ventilation.
- A/C in one of the rooms was not working and temp overnight was not comfortably warm.
- Poor entertainment for New Year's Eve. Festive dinner finished at 22:00h.
- Room facing the lower street was noisy in the morning. Few metres away from the hotel an intensive constructional work was occuring.
- Domestic staff attempted to clean the room while there was a sign "Do not disturb", stating they will not have time later. My sister-in-law ironed her dress, husband's shirt and trousers for the Festive eve
and lined them carefully on the bed. Domestic staff went to clean the room while we were away, and had picked the clothes, then had thrown them carelessly on the chair to be able to tidy the bed. Receptionists apologised. But I think domestic staff would benefit from a bit of a training to refine their skills.
In overall, we had a good time, and I would recommend this hotel to my frinds. I believe my criticism would be constructive, helping the hotel staff to improve the service of this lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lower street are noisy in the mornings.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefkataneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to spend your New Year celebrations, and we are pleased that you have decided to share this experience with all of us.

It gives us pride to read that you were satisfied most of all by our high standards in cleanliness and hospitality, and we wish to assure you that the other valuable feedback that you have shared with us, will also be seen in to.

While auguring you all the very best for this year, we now look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A lovely little hotel in Mellieha.

The girlfriend and I went as a couple for our first holiday abroad and were not disappointed.

Lovely staff, clean room, tasty food and great location.

Restaurant served different themed food each night, most nights the food was excellent and the maltese rabbit bolognese was a treat.

Not too far from the beach front, town, cathedral and grotto.

A great little shop about 2 minute walk away selling pastizzi for about 30c each and yummy strawberrys flans (as well as other pastries). A delicious snack to grab on your way out on your travels.

Also recommend the GO! Dive Malta diving courses available at the bottom of the hotel, was a great highlight to our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure in learning that the Pergola and its Team have been successful at rendering your first holiday abroad with your girlfriend in a memorable one! We truly hope that you will have future opportunities where to visit us again and needless to say, we shall ensure that you will once more have an overall positive experience!

Best regards,


Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,969 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $34 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing