We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great view.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A lovely little hotel in Mellieha.

The girlfriend and I went as a couple for our first holiday abroad and were not disappointed.

Lovely staff, clean room, tasty food and great location.

Restaurant served different themed food each night, most nights the food was excellent and the maltese rabbit bolognese was a treat.

Not too far from the beach front, town, cathedral and grotto.

A great little shop about 2 minute walk away selling pastizzi for about 30c each and yummy strawberrys flans (as well as other pastries). A delicious snack to grab on your way out on your travels.

Also recommend the GO! Dive Malta diving courses available at the bottom of the hotel, was a great highlight to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure in learning that the Pergola and its Team have been successful at rendering your first holiday abroad with your girlfriend in a memorable one! We truly hope that you will have future opportunities where to visit us again and needless to say, we shall ensure that you will once more have an overall positive experience!

Best regards,


Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    632
    211
    102
    58
See reviews for
449
743
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent a week in a 1 bedroom self catering apartment over Xmas and New Years. I had communicated with the reservation staff earlier about our requirements and was pleased to see that they were met. We were in Rm 011 which had a beautiful view of the Church and the sea.

The hotel looks newly refurbished and our apartment was small and compact but well laid out and clean. It had a kitchen-dining area, a long hallway with a bathroom (good size), a small bedroom and a living room with a balcony overlooking the outdoor pool deck and the sea. The bedroom had 2 twin beds which we had to join, a small desk and a built in closet. Quite adequate given that we were rarely in the room. We did not eat any meals at their restaurant. The hotel has 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pool, a bar and a few restaurants which were closed at this time of the year except for one. Our room was by Lift # 2 which takes you down to street level so extremely convenient without having to climb the 100 steps!

The bus stop is a short walk away. Bus numbers 41, 42 are convenient for going to Valletta where you can change to other buses. Bus 222 takes you directly to Sliema area. We bought the 1 week ticket for EUR 12 each which was the best thing since we toured the island on our own. There are quite a few restaurants, bakeries and grocery stores close by. Most places were open on Xmas day and New Year's eve so it worked out well. We used the Travel agency Supreme Travels and Vivienne was of great help to us in arranging our Gozo trip and return shuttle to the airport. Gozo is a must see island - very green and picturesque, as is Malta.

The front desk staff is helpful but does not know too much about the various places on the island or does not want to tell since they want to sell their services. We were charged EUR 56.00 for electricity which we were not expecting. The taxi from the airport costs approx. EUR 29.00 each way and can be booked from the hotel. New Year's eve in Valletta was a blast with bands and music everywhere and lots of people dancing, eating etc.

We loved Malta and Gozo and would love to go back. Sliema is wonderful for strolling along the waterfront with lots of restaurants and shops. St. Julians and Buggiba are nice too. Mdina and Rabat are worth a visit as are the 3 cities. The Sunday market in Marsxalokk was ok but a nice outing with lots of nice seafood restaurants. Overall a wonderful stay with excellent weather. Pergola was clean, convenient and a very nice place for a weeks stay. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room overlooking the pool deck with a view of the church and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

While we very highly appreciate your recommending the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to our future Guests, thank you also for taking the time in describing so well your accommodation experience in Unit 011, a typical one-bedroom unit.

Where the utility charge is concerned, this is applicable only when travelling through an exchange and on the voucher being presented by the exchange company, it should be clearly specified that the resort charges such a charge.

Since you loved our Maltese Islands, we are trusting that you will not hesitate in choosing the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for any future stays in Malta!

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent the week over Christmas at the Pergola and were absolutely delighted with our choice. Lovely good size apartment with view over Mellieha Bay and the village church. The staff were wonderful and towels were changed and bins emptied on a nearly daily basis. As has been mentioned there are several steps down from the Reception area to the village main streets but the lift which goes down to floor 7 and out a back door at street level was right by our room. I imagine if you were in other rooms it may be a little harder to find! As we were out and about most days on the hop on hop of tour buses round Malta and Gozo, we didn't have any meals in the Pergola but the restaurant did seem to be well used when we looked. There are plenty of restaurants serving very good food at reasonable prices in Mellieha and other parts of Malta. The week leading up to Christmas is celebrated in the Church square with music, children singing, stalls selling food and crafts and even a live Nativity, brilliant. The Church bells seemed to ring constantly on Christmas eve but that was lovely too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babyminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa over the Christmas period and that the village celebrations have further enhanced your holiday experience.

We very much trust that we will have a future opportunity where we can welcome you back at the Pergola and in the mean time, may we take the opportunity in wishing you a very prosperous 2013!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My fiancée and I went away in November 2012. Having never been to Malta we weren't quite sure what to expect. We went for the Pergola due to the good ratings it received and we weren't disappointed.

You arrive in the backstreets of Mellieha away from the hustle and bustle of Triq San Gorg, the main street, and the hotel immediately becalms you. The people on reception were extremely friendly throughout the week, and even though we had arrived before our room was ready, they were able to let us leave our luggage in a locked storage space while we went and ate some lunch.

The room itself was spacious, with a good large bathroom and a balcony overlooking the courtyard pool, one of 2 outdoor pools and 1 indoor heated pool. The only downside was the hairdryer isn't very powerful.

The other outdoor pool hosted the Cave Bar, a hollowed-out cavern with a bar able to mix any cocktail desired along with any other drink you could care to order. Poolside were a large number of sunbeds and chairs, while if you looked over the wall a good view of the main parish church of Mellieha greeted you. Access to the centre of the village was either down a long row of steps down the side of the hotel, but coming up, we were advised by the receptionist on arrival you can come in from the bottom of the hotel (by GoDive Malta) and take the lift up to your floor).

While we never ate in the restaurant at lunch or dinnertime, choosing to eat out in Mellieha itself, the breakfast offerings were first-rate. While the hotel caters for British tastes with cooked breakfast options, eggs or omelettes were made to order with the ready alternative being a quiche-like bake with a variety of toppings notably including mushrooms.

We also paid a visit to the spa, which wasn't as cheap as we would otherwise expect at this time of year. You can expect to pay British rates but the service was excellent. This weary (male) traveller ended up having his first ever pedicure which was an experience in itself!!!

All in all, a really good experience. Prices are roughly €50-60 a night for the double room we booked at peak season but drop to around €20 a night by mid-November (when it's just about warm enough still to sunbathe, even if the pools are a little cold at this point, as I found out!!!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to learn that your Autumn sojourn at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa was a very positive experience!

While thanking our Trip Advisor Followers for having assisted you in choosing us in the first place, we very much hope that you will not hesitate in opting for the Pergola once again, during future stays in Malta.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After the Excellent service we got during the last visit we decided to again choose this location for a 4 day break during the winter time. Although 9 months have passed from our visit the level of service we got was still top notch as last time. The reception and all the staff were very warming and make you feel welcome as soon as you step inside the resort.

I have no regrets about choosing this hotel and will definitely choose it again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adegiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased at receiving such overwhelming feedback, following your recent stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa!

While taking the opportunity in thanking you for your repeat custom, we shall look forward in hosting you again in 2013!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Unfortunately, we visited this hotel at the worst possible time. They were about to close for refurbishment. We were on half-board basis and can honestly say we enjoyed our meals. The service was excellent; the staff were courteous and helpful.
Our only big disappointment was that the pool and the Jacuzzi were cold! No doubt, this will be taken care of during the refurbishment since it was not cold on our previous visit.
We did not need the A/C but, before we turned it off, we noticed that it was too noisy. Again, this is something that will be taken care of.
Our suggestion that the hotel should offer free WiFi was not acceptable to management. Nevertheless, we were lucky to be in close range and enjoyed the service 'free of charge' from our room! Thank you!
The way this hotel is built is very interesting with its winding corridors and pleasant interior décor. We recommend booking half-board; buffet breakfast and dinner is not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BniedemMalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are saddened to hear that you consider having chosen November for your holiday at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, as not being the most ideal time to be accommodated at the resort. Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that the service was excellent, with the team being courteous and helpful. We in fact strive very hard at offering our esteemed guests a high level of hospitality service and we are very pleased to hear that on this occasion, we were successful!

Thank you for your feedback on a number of aspects that may have been of a concern to you; these will be investigated accordingly.

While hoping we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a great time at this hotel, the staff are exceptional, especially Sharon on reception and the bar man in the cave bar. There were some issues with air conditioning, however they tried to accomodate us completely. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If things are not working go straight to the reception, and if not fixed remind them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reignitedgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

It gives us great satisfaction in hearing that you had a great time at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and that you do not hesitate in staying with us again, in the future.

While thanking you for having chosen the Pergola in the first place, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,249 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing