We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, But Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Bad, But Not Great”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here from the 27/6/12 until the 4/7/12 and very much enjoyed our stay for the most part. The hotel was clean, and looked great, very well decorated with very friendly staff and great amenities. There are 2 pools, which are nice for a dip when you get too hot. The main pool looks amazing along with the cave bar which I thought was very picturesque, you can also see a view of the bay and a beautiful cathedral which was nice.
The cave bar offered a variety of food and drinks which i thought were of a decent standard, and the prices were not too bad. It is also in a great location, close to a main bus line and the ferry service to the beautiful island of Gozo. The breakfast here is nice, but limited and was exactly the same every day, but that wasnt really an issue.
Our room was nice, had everything we needed and great storage, also a large balcony overlooking the smaller outdoor pool which was nice.
However one major flaw was the air conditioning... or lack of it, all we had was a fan and an 'air conditioning' vent which basically just pumped warm air around the room. This made the nights unbearable and we had more than 1 terrible nights sleep! We complained (politely) several times, eventually a maintanance guy came and said it was fixed, but there was no difference. We decided to just deal with it and enjoy the rest of our holiday as Malta is an amazing place! If it wasnt for this issue, I would have rated the hotel 4 or maybe even 5 stars but it did dampen our moods a bit.
Another minor complaint was that the small fridge was not very cold, so our drinks were never cold which was annoying as the weather was so hot, however if the air con had been fully functional I would have overlooked this point.
Overall a great hotel, but the issue with the air conditioning soiled an otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn that overall you consider the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa as a great hotel!

Our Team constantly strives hard at bettering our esteemed guests’ holiday experience and we are sorry if the heat wave experienced throughout the duration of your stay, has led to hindering the comfort of your stay with us. Nevertheless, we very much hope there will be future opportunities where we can welcome you again on board!

Best regards,


Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    650
    218
    104
    60
See reviews for
470
754
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 3rd week of June in one bedroom apartment. The apartment was a very good size with a large fridge & nice hoilday furniture and terrace overlooking the main pool area.

Of particular note was the bath room which had been refurbished to a high standard with a nice white suit & moden tiling also a dual side and overhead shower with no shortage of hot water.

The hotel claim a 4 star rating and from our overall experiance the Pergola provide a good over all 4 star standard.

However as in all hotels opinions are affected by the room in which people are staying which in turn is related to the price they have paid.

As all ready stated by other travellers the staff through out are a credit to the hotel.

The swimming pool in front of the Cave Bar allthough not large is supported by the setting and seems to meet all the requirments.The Cave bar is a nice place for lunch time snacks and evening drinks.

The Barbacue night on Friday's deserves a special mention. The staff take a lot of pride in the lay out and presentaion of the tables around the main pool area. When the sun sets the setting is complet and supported by a very good selection of food followed by above average entertainment.

The sun bathing area with good sun beds (may be a little to close to gether) but with plenty of sun shades.In general no problem in finding the perfect spot.

Don't be put of by the comments as to the hotel lift system. (Really not a problem)

As to the food we were self cattering but had some meals in the hotel which were to a very good standard.

We had a couple of visits to the beach in Mellieha and hired 2 sun beds & shade for 10 euro the sea was so warm.

Our tip for the beach is to go from the bottom of the hotel walk across the bridge and cross the road for the bus stop. Best time for the buses are after 10.30 am they are not so full then.

Any bus coming through Mellieha will do / about 5 minutes ride.When you first come to the beach stay on the bus as it travels along the beach front and get of at the last stop the far end.

The last stop is when you pass the sailing club blue/ white building on the right ring the bell. The sun shades are orange with a good snack bar.

On the way back this bus stop is the first pick up for the beach and around about 5.00 pm there can be a lot of people waiting for buses you are first on.

For members of Access 2 Leisure we rate the Pergola very high and hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for pool & sea view may cost more but wort it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJO1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

It gives us a lot of pride in being recognised as ‘One of the Best’, rating us high and with a promise to return again in the future! While extending our sincerest appreciation, we shall look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were expecting a 1 bedroom apartment when we arrived and were pleased to find we actually had a 2 bed - not that we need it, but it was nice to have the extra space.

Everything was clean in the rooms, but it was definitely 'tired' and failed to quite come up to 4 star standard.

The staff were all friendly and the service was good, although there were a lot of trainee staff when we were there and this stopped it from being excellent.

It was a really nice walk down to Maya Beach, but unless you are really fit, the bus is an easy option to get back to the resort.

There were plenty of good bars and restaurants around, although the hill into the town is quite steep.

We spent plenty of time in the main pool and the Cave Bar, which also served good snacks at lunch time.

All in all it was a very pleasant holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leighcollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that your recent sojourn was very pleasant! We are taking your constructive feedback on board and will do our best endeavours at constantly enhancing our resort’s guest experience.

Kind regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

had a fantastic stay at the Pergola and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, I would advise that you study the map where the lifts take you as it can be confusing if you don't. The rooms were large and very comfortable, the food is fantastic and always served up with a smile.

Room Tip: If you are unhappy with your room (there are one or two poorly located ones) just ask at reception w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilly1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you took your time to share this review with all of us! Your comments and excellent ratings on the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa are very much appreciated.

We now look forward to welcome you again to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, in the nearest possible future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from the Pergola in Mellieha, our fourth visit over 3 years and yet again the hotel met our expectations. The hotel continues to make physical improvements, yet the quality of the service standards and food remains good.

Ritienne in reservations was so helpful, mandy j on reception was very efficient and Etienne plus Carmen the chef were excellent in the restaurant.

The local taxi firm, Drifters, yet again were efficient in getting us to and from the airport at a cost of E25.

The new arrive buses, which stop close by, mean that you can travel very cheaply direct to five safe and sandy beaches in the summer season. As it is on the main route to the Gozo ferry, so many buses stop, just purchase a 7 day ticket on your first bus trip at E12. Journeys to Mdina, Mosta and Valletta are so worthwhile. Mellieha has at least 3 excellent restaurants, many bars and pizza places plus a large supermarket. It has so much going for it that we will be going again next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a balcony in the summer months. The rooms are so hot despite the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteHart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Nothing gives us more pride and contentment than learning that our guests keep on returning to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and get the very best in service standards! As you have well documented, our team is well renowned for the excellent customer care service, regardless of which department they represent.

While thanking you for contributing this review with all of us TripAdvisor followers, we certainly look forward to welcome you again for a fifth visit in the nearest future!

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELFORD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Having just returned yesterday from a week at the pergola we thought we would write a quick review to inform other travellers about this hotel and Mellieha. The hotel was rated a 4 star but probably more like a 3. Clean and tidy but dated and showing signs of it's age. The room was ok but the aircon did not work, we reported this 3 times, a man did supposedly fix it but it was no better. The sheets were only changed twice during the week. The breakfast was ok but exactly the same each day and the staff in all the restaurants were run ragged but very helpful and polite. There are 2 pools which were nice and always enough sun beds! Snacks were expensive, we paid £3.50 for a coke and £5 for two regular ice lollies! Go to the supermarket and stock up!!
Mellieha is very quiet with nothing really to do. One small supermarket and a handful of shops. The beach is approx 1.5 mile walk down a steep hill and not worth it when you get there as very small and crowded. This resort is not for the young and lively or families. We did a trip to Gozo which was nice especially Ramla bay and Malsaforn. Valletta is also well worth a visit. All in all not a bad budget holiday with 38 degrees of sun!!! Would return to Malta but defiantly a different resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

While we thank you for taking the time to write a review and choosing the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your stay in Malta, we regret to read that your overall experience was that of a 3-star rather than a 4-star. At our resort we give a lot of weight to constructive criticism and hence, we have taken the time to investigate all aspects mentioned in this review, together with the necessary action where deemed necessary.

For the benefit of our Trip Advisor Followers we wish to clarify that since we strongly believe in constantly giving better value to our clients, we ensure that the food and beverage prices within our venues are very much in line with those served in other similar venues throughout the island.

While hoping that albeit your claim in opting for a different resort during your return visit to Malta, you will re-consider allowing the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa another opportunity where to win your trust. Should you indeed consider this option, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally, where I shall ensure that this time, your overall experience fully meets your expectations.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel in April, It was great, I was impressed with the room with an en-suite and a balcony. The staff were amazing, especially Etienne in the restaurant. I would recommend this place to all!

Room Tip: Balcony room, or view of church
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samnk93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for considering the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa as highly commendable and for the overwhelming feedback on our Team. We very much hope, your stay with us this last April will not be the last opportunity where we enjoyed your company at our resort!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,928 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing