We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An fantastic holiday at the Pergola Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“An fantastic holiday at the Pergola Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was our first visit to the Pergola Hotel and staying in the Mellieha area. We previously stayed in Qawra 3 years ago and were so looking forward to spending another fortnight in Malta. The Mellieha area was very picturesque and an ideal relaxation holiday destination although the church bells do ring quite often but this adds to the character of Mellieha. The Pergola Hotel really lived up to our expectations, the staff were so friendly, pleasant and really worked hard to ensure that your stay was enjoyable. The hotel has 3 pools (2 outdoor and 1 indoor), a reasonably well equipped gym and a Spa. Reception were on hand if you wished to take advantage of booking excursions/boat trips around Malta at a reasonable price. We stayed in a 2 bed self catering apartment which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Our room was cleaned very frequently and the level of cleanliness was really high, a credit to you. We had a fantastic view of the Church , Mellieha bay, Comino and Gozo, we couldn't of really wished for better, suffice to say, I am already missing this view. The hotel itself can be quite confusing with all the different levels (7 levels according to Lift 3), we stayed on level 4 or level 0 according to Lift 2 as the Pool Terrace was also on level 4, but this added to the amusement of finding out which lifts went where and the secret passage underneath the 113 steps (counted twice) to the side of the hotel where the other part of the hotel was situated, although we hadn't realised that this was in actual fact part of the Pergola Hotel until the 2nd week. Much fun had with regards to this but you didn't have to worry about climbing all the steps from the street to the top of reception. The food was lovely. The hotel have themed nights so you are able to experience different types of food in the buffet restaurant. They also have a BBQ on the pool terrace on Friday evenings. The Cave Bar served food and drinks throughout the day and again the staff here couldn’t do enough for you. Mellieha village was only a short 5 minute walk from the hotel so the hotel is ideally situated.
The only downside to the holiday and nothing to do with the Pergola Hotel was the new Arriva Bus service. With the beach being a short distance from the hotel by bus, you found yourself waiting for a considerable amount of time for this to arrive and if they were packed, you had to wait for another bus. Such a shame as the old Malta buses were so much more reliable than Arriva.
That aside, I would recommend the Pergola Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Malta. I am already looking forward to my next visit! A massive thank you to you all for a truly wonderful holiday!
The Morgan Family (Room 04 Sept 17 - Oct 1)

Room Tip: Try for a room that overlooks the main pool which will allow you to have fantastic views of Mellieha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezza321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so very pleased to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and thank you so much for the lovely photos posted! We shall look forward to having you back on board in the future!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    616
    202
    99
    58
See reviews for
431
721
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

First time for us in Mellieha,we normally stay in Buggiba, it is nice and Quiet in the evenings, the hotel itself is located on 4 levels, the top level is about 5 mins walk from the main road and is the main route in and out of the hotel. There are quite a few steps to negotiate if your feeling energetic from the lower level to reception (about 90 of them), however there is an entrance halfway up the steps (41 of them) that will lead you to a lift. on the whole a nice family hotel close to all amenities and well worth staying at.The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are cleaned frquently with towel changes daily.

Room Tip: Try and go for a room that faces the outdoor swimming pool, this way you get a balcony that over loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK28860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for the beautiful photos posted! We very much hope that should you consider returning back to Malta, you will not hesitate in choosing Mellieha and the Pergola, once again.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The was our 3rd visit to the Pergola at Festa time. The village really comes alive at both the Festa and the Mellieha Nights events and the Pergola staff work really hard at this time to see that everyone enjoys it, running Pizza and Pasta Nights as open air dining on the bridge linking the hotel and the village.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially our maid who had moved out to Malta from Yorkshire. Food much improved from last year, can recommend the Carvery and the Friday night open air barbecue.

The Management team are very much in evidence ensuring that everything is as it should be.
Other reviews mention the lifts - they are a 'feature' of the place, although they take a bit of getting used to, they add to the character of the place which obviously has been added to over the years but do enable guests to avoid having to climb the steps from the lower street level.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Pergola and are looking forward to going back for next year's Festa, this time with friends

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelar-sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are ever so pleased to read that you once again enjoyed a pleasant stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa. As you have experienced over the years, we constantly strive very hard in offering our guests a very positive experience and such overwhelming feedback continues to motivate each of us, in offering the best of hospitality service.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent a great week at the Pergola, the hotel is excellent in every way. We had a brillient self catering apartment (no 17) with the most fabulous view over the church/pool/sea views of Mellieha bay. Cannot wait to go back. The weather was beautiful and the people very freindly. We were presented with a very good bottle of wine on the night of our anniversary.

Room Tip: If you wabt sea views go for apartment 17 or thereabouts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you again, in the future!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Just returned from a few days spent at La Pergola. The hotel is very good. The staff are all friendly, helpful and they do it with a smile. The Bonaventura Restaurant serves excellent food prepared with love. The Cave Bar is ideally situated for a quick snack by the pool......all in all a very friendly atmosphere is felt throughout the hotel, The location also serves to make it a good choice as the views from the terraces are wonderful...Will be back for sure. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed both your stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, and the hospitality of our Team. We shall look forward to welcoming you again, in the next months!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have just returned home after a two week stay at the pergola club hotel & spa. All the staff are very friendly & helpfull.
The food in the Bonaventura Restaurant is very very good & the chef's take pride in their work. It's not just a good holiday you are made to feel one of the family, many of the staff have been their year's & work hard to make sure you have a good holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guests,

We are so very happy to hear that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the food at the Bonaventura Restaurant. It is a great pleasure of ours to see our guests enjoying their holiday and returning back year after year.

Thank you so much and we look forward to having you back on board in the future!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at The Pergola from 27th Aug - 10th September. Unfortunately when we booked we were unaware that there would be a festa going on for nine days starting on 30th Aug. Our balcony overlooked the church where everything was going on so we got all the bangs, bands, fireworks, music etc for nine days night and day. Plus there's a main road with noisy traffic all the time. Howeve the view from the balcony was superb as we could see the sea, the boats and Gozo. I got very confused with the lift system. We were staying on the 4th floor, one above reception. If we wanted to go to the bottom we had to press 7! in one lift and 1 to go back up to 4? In another lift if we pressed the corresponding buttons that's we ended up. Very strange. We also didn't like the 55 euro charge per week for utilities. Very expensive. The staff were very helpful though and we watched them from the balcony preparing the al fresco dining which took them about 3 hours. Very hard working. We were staying in a two bedroom apartment and had to ask for the sheets to be changed on day nine. I knew they hadn't been because the to sheet I had had three big black stains on it. The one they changed it for had three holes in it. Thank God for the lift pass so we didn't have to climb the stairs. I had trouble sleeping because the compressor for the AC unit was next to the bedroom and seemed to be on all night. We asked to be moved but the only room they had was next to the crane and building site, not good.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if you like the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queeniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in sharing your recent experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

Festa week which is yearly scheduled between the 1st and 8th September is indeed a busy period for the quaint village of Mellieha, even if this period is traditionally very much sought after by tourists that travel on purpose to enjoy the festivities. Due to the extent of the popularity of Festa Week, the Local Council yearly ensures that the festive period is further extended by the now also popular ‘Mellieha Nights’, where throughout the weekend following the 8th September, Mellieha becomes alive with art exhibitions, concerts, musicals, car exhibitions etc.

We always take it into our stride to investigate constructive criticism and please do accept our sincerest apologies if your bed linen was not changed when scheduled. Where the cooling system is concerned, please rest assured that we have done our best endeavours to identify if there was any form of malfunction but no abnormal element of noise could be located.

We once again wish to thank you for having chosen our resort for your fortnight’s stay and very much trust you will not hesitate to return to Malta and the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, in the future .

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing