We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solana Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solana Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solana Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a nice Hotel situated on the main road through Mellieha.
It is a bit of a warren but the room was good, large with s/c facilities.
The roof terrace is very pleasant.
Food was good, - a buffet with a good range of choice.
About ten to fifteen minutes walk to the beach - uphill on the way back but bus service regular and very cheap.
Pleasant helpful staff - particularly in the bar and reception.
Very clean
We did not use the spa

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are ever so grateful for your feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

In view of the fact that your stay with us was very positive, we are counting on having the opportunity of hosting you again, in the near future!

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    739
    229
    70
    47
See reviews for
515
1,067
91
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A delayed review (I've been to busy working to save up to return here again this winter!) as we stayed here for the winter leaving in March. this was our second long stay at the Solana in a studio apartment on a self-catering basis. Again we had full use of all the hotel facilities and being able to buy discounted meal tickets is a real bonus.
We cannot praise the staff of the hotel enough for their professional, friendly service. On reception Ariana, Amanda, Sascha and Linn along with the rest of the team were always quite simply first class. The housekeeping team were also extremely good and the hotel is spotless throughout, particular thanks to our room attendant Mule.
There really were very few downsides to our stay, perhaps the rather hit and miss wifi in the room but either Desko or Emanuel(sp?) were always there to help out with not just this but anything else too.
Personally for a long stay we love being in Mellieha. Although it is an hour or so from Valletta on the bus we prefer it's quieter location and the opportunity to take many walks directly from the hotel. It still retains a feel of a local town rather than just a tourist area. It is very unusual for my wife and I to return to the same destination so this in itself says how much we liked our stay at the Solana and with Mellieha and Malta in general.
Finally, thanks to Retienne who sorted out our booking and who we hope to be in touch with again soon, to organise our stay this winter.
Marie & Garry Jesney

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank garry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, many thanks for taking the time and sharing your thoughts on the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. Your overwhelming review is a great validation for us; your kind comments are very much appreciated.

We are happy to read that our first class Team met, possibly even exceeded, your expectations and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you as our guests again this winter.

Kind regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Perhaps it was because it had (surprisingly) so many rooms such that it was classified as four-star. But four-star, to me, it isn't. Getting to the rooms is like going thru a maze. Worse, they fault the guest for asking if a room is ready at 14:00 since check-in is at 15:00 - even as a(n early-duty) staff has mentioned that there should be one at 14:00. I could just imagine the situation during peak season!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had booked a deluxe room with balcony. When we first arrived we still got a small room in the first floor in the back. The AC was on heat, and the window could barely be opened. We asked for the type of room that we had booked but they was full and could not move us that nights. It was the warmest night in a long time. The next day they apologized, and gave as a junior suite for the rest of the stay. So they solved that well enough. The junior suite was large, but it was to separate beds put together instead of a double bed and it lack decoration.

The staff was friendly all the time, but not always so knowledgeable about the hotel and the surroundings. The only unfriendly staff we met was working in the reception bar. There was some other minor things that weren't just as it should be either. We had got some free things with our booking of the rooms. The staff informed about some of them, but others we had to convince them of that we where entitled too. In the information booklet in the room said the hotel had free bus maps. They didnt have that, but we could by one for 3 EUR. After we bought it we realized it wasnt really a bus map. It was a road map of Matla with a small cryptic table about bus routes.

Otherwise the hotels lies at a narrow and busy road. The breakfast was quite average. some of the food was nice, but a few things where directly gone bad. Both the pools where nice.

In total the stay was good. And it would take the management to much effort to make this hotel go from average to great if they wanted.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaute J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to note that your stay at our Hotel was overall good, but yet we regret to learn of the less positive aspects mentioned in your review.

At the Solana Hotel & Spa we do not believe in making up excuses and sadly, since your stay with us is now in the past, apart from re-assuring you that we have discussed the aspects mentioned with our respective Teams with the aim of avoiding a repeat performance, we can now only extend to you our sincerest apologies for hindering the comfort of your stay.

While thanking you for providing us with this valuable feedback in the first place, we hope to be able to re-gain your trust during a next stay, in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to Malta for a family party and stayed at the Solana and found it to be very very good.
Sepulchre go back again and I would recommend any one to stay there.it is very central to all shops and restaurants and is only five minutes from the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your review on TripAdvisor, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

While thanking you for recommending us and choosing Malta as your holiday destination, we indeed hope that your future holiday plans will bring you back to our Islands and to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely hotel, nice staff. I would say we had room 1511 which sounds like one of the better rooms on the roof right next to pool. As I did hear of a few people wanting to move rooms as they were on the front and it is quite a busy road so as with other reviews on here I would request a room at the back of the builing. Breakfast was OK not great but there was plenty of choice for everyone, We didn’t eat at the hotel so cant comment on the restaurants there.

Mellieha is a quietish resort in the north of the island nice for a relaxing break. I would say the beach is not a walk away its about 30 mins down a very steep hill if you try it so you are best to get the bus. The hotel is only a short bus ride away from the ferry terminal to get over to Gozo. Buses are really easy to get across the whole island. There are a few restaurants in Mellieha, I can recommend the Chinese next to the hotel (cant remember the name of it) and Al Ponte Bistro & Pizzeria in the Maritim Hotel at the bottom of the road (towards the beach) comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alis0nr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your taking the time to share your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It has been a true pleasure having you as our Guests and we hope to welcome you back on board in the future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

On my annual trip to Malta this year for a Scrabble tournament, my event hotel (the Pergola) was unexpectedly sold out, so I booked with the Solana instead. I was delighted with my stay at the Solana. Its rooms are clean, well-furnished, and all the amenities were as advertised. In addition, I liked the welcoming atmosphere of the large lobby and its staff, where there always seemed to be guests sitting, eating, drinking, using the free WiFi, and having a convivially good time.

The only travellers for whom I would not recommend this hotel would be those who have mobility issues, or difficulty in climbing steep hills: the hotel is near the top of the main street, and my older friends could not manage the walk up without stopping to rest.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have balconies opening out onto the gorge that runs through the middle of the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poslfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

It indeed was a great pleasure of ours to successfully host another Scrabble Tournament at our sister hotel, the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

We are extremely grateful for your overwhelming feedback and very much trust we will have the opportunity in hosting you and your esteemed group again in 2015, if not sooner!

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing