We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in Solana Hotel Spring 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our stay in Solana Hotel Spring 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We took our first trip to Malta this year and chose the Solana Hotel after reading some of the comments on tripadvisor. First the simple things, we arrived late and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, our room [1408] was large and well lit during the day with two large windows, with balconies. The one downside is that the energy saving lighting is not quite bright enough, though you can have probably six lights on, there is still a gloom effect. The bathroom is large and well fitted, plus the staff maintain the cleanliness on a daily basis. The hotel is smart and welcoming, it has three restaurants, the main one [ Bellini] is based on a buffet style presentation and if you cannot find a good, tasty meal, hot or cold, vegetarian or otherwise, then you are a very sad person. The restaurant staff are attentive and clear away empty plates by your return. Meals can be purchased on a voucher system, the more you buy the cheaper the cost and the meals you can create are well worth the money. We only had one meal in the Italian Restaurant, the experience was good, but after trying the buffet, you were a bit spoiled. The bar / snack restaurant was tried on a number of occasions and provided a very good appetising snack. The service here again was excellent, the tables were well maintained and not left cluttered. The front desk staff were well informed and we gave them a hard time with questions and maintenance issues, but they always serviced us with a smile. The maintenance issues were a bathroom door that was sticky, it will have to come off and be planed. The second problem was the card reader on the door that was a little troublesome, but once the maintenance guy had showed me the knack, it was aok. The hotel has a large number of rooms of varying sizes and dispositions, so I can only mention our room, the room windows open up on a light well and in the well is one of the main extraction ducts. This kicks in on a regular basis and until you get used to it, it can be disturbing, especially if you leave the windows ajar. Finally, the hotel is situated on a 1 in 4 hill, so if you are impaired, it can be a bit tiresome climbing up from the bus stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your taking the time and sharing your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It has been an honor and a true pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on board in the future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    739
    229
    70
    47
See reviews for
515
1,067
91
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is very well located (8min from the beach), rooms are very clean and well furnished and the staff is very professional and welcoming.
The swimming pool and terrace on the roof are very enjoyable.
Nevertheless, our room was overlooking the patio with the air-conditioning machines and the quality of the food served for breakfast was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coralie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor, following your recent holiday at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

We are very happy to read your stay was a pleasant one. Your comments on our breakfast offering have not gone unnoticed and will be further evaluated accordingly.

While thanking you for choosing Malta as your holiday destination, we hope that your future holiday plans will bring you back to our Islands and to the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I’d describe this 4 star hotel in 3 words - tidy, attractive and with a smiling service. Spent a very relaxing day at the Solana Hotel & Spa with my mother. Started off the day with a vast mouthwatering English & continental buffet breakfast at the Bellini restaurant. The place is nicely lit with natural sunlight and stylishly decorated in turquoise and brown. Spent a pampering morning at the Spa treated with a hydro-massage bath, neck and back massage. We also made full use of the leisure facilities (gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, rooftop pool). Had lunch at Cafe' Puccini - Minestrone soup is very tasty while the Pork alla Milanese is so tender & the portion is large. Ended the day sipping cocktails and having desert at the cafe - the cookies are to die for! The hotel room (valley view) was very clean, highly furnished, modern and very well kept! All the staff (be it from a room attendant, receptionist, waiter, barman, masseuse, or any other member of staff) are charming and efficient and made sure we had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is of very good value for money, spacious and welcoming. I gladly recommend it!

Room Tip: The best rooms are located on the valley, as they are more quiet, lit and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that, you and your mother enjoyed your day with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa; thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

While extending to you our sincerest appreciation for having chosen us in the first place, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,


Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was my first time staying at the Solana Hotel, even though my friends had recommended the hotel over and over...so as you can imagine, my expectations were pretty high! I am very glad to say that the Hotel lived up to my expectations - staff were extremely friendly (always with a smile on their face), the place is spotless and vibrant (even though the rainy weather outside left much to be desired:/)! Breakfast was not the best I ever had, but had a very good choice of food and always had me dragging my feet out of the restaurant stuffed with yummy cakes and treats :))

The room was very warm and welcoming - I simply loved the swans and bunnies created using towels and facecloth hehe put a smile on our face as soon as we walked in. Staff were always available and eager to help! Lastly, the food was amazing - we had lunch on our last day at the Hotel's Italian restaurant (forgot the name) and were surprised at how great the food was! I would definitely stop by for a bite to eat even if not staying at the hotel...

Only down side is that they do not have parking...but you find plenty of spots just round the corner :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming feedback!

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your Weekend Break with us and had a lovely meal at our Tosca...Pizza, Pasta, Grill.

The entire Team is looking forward to having you back on board in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmilns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is attractive, clean and well furnished. All staff are impeccably dressed, pleasant and efficient. Unfortunately there are some areas that fall short of the 4* rating this hotel enjoys.

My husband and I have just returned from a week stay which was totally spoiled by the room we were allocated and the quality of food at dinner in the buffet restaurant. The room was situated in the basement of the annex. It lacked adequate ventilation and heating resulting in the bed, bedding, our clothing and possesssions becoming more damp as the week progressed. The only window was at ceiling height, almost the full width of the room and about 12 inches in depth, providing little light and well out of reach for the occupants to open (if it does) or escape from if necessary. On further investigation we found the window was at pavement level on the street at the rear of the building. We set the heater at 32C with limited effect. The extractor fan in the ensuite was too small and so ineffective; because of this we limited the use of the shower to once a day to minimise the condensation escaping into the bedroom. In our opinion this room was unfit for purpose and a potential death trap. Nowhere to relax in comfort. our complaints seemed to fall on deaf ears.

On check in we were advised that being booked half board that dinner was served in the buffet restaurant. The quality and presentation of the food left a lot to be desired and was reminiscent of old style school meals - totally unappetising. We had noticed another restaurant and on further enquiry found this was accessible to us and an allowance was available for a la carte and set menus were at no additional charge. This provision was not generally publicised but it did salvage some pleasure during our stay.

Would we recommend this hotel to our friends - NO WAY! This was certainly not what we booked!

Room Tip: Try and book a balcony room - definitely avoid all others
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

While we are pleased to note that you consider the Solana Hotel & Spa to be a clean hotel with pleasant and efficient staff, we regret to read that you felt let down by your accommodation experience and are equally saddened that we did not get the opportunity to rectify the situation during the duration of your stay.

Our records indicate, our Front Desk Team was only made aware of your experience when you came to settle your account the night ahead of your departure, as otherwise, we are confident that we would have made our very best endeavors in addressing any shortcomings that you may have considered as presnt, there and then.

Your booking has reached us for a Promo Room hence the allocation of a non balcony unit. These units are aimed for those that are on a tighter budget or are planning to spend plenty of time exploring the islands rather than at the hotel itself. As suggested on previous occassions, the various room types available at the Solana Hotel & Spa are listed and described in our website and here we continue to encourage our esteemed guests so that at reservation stage, one goes through these descriptions with the aim of avoiding any form of disappointment once at the hotel.

Where our dinner offering is concerned, as an alternative to the buffet, guests on half board basis have also the option of enjoying a set menu at the Tosca… Pasta, Pizza, Grill, subject to availability. Nonetheless, the dinner buffet offering comprises different meal experiences including a typical Maltese Cuisine Night among others. The selection includes an array of antipasto and cold cuts, soups, selection of pasta, different main courses including fish, poultry and meat served with vegetables and potatoes in season, together with a dessert corner comprising a selection of fresh bakes, cheese board, ice-cream and fruit salad, among others.

While we respect your decision of not considering our hotel during future stays in Malta, we still very much hope that you will reconsider this situation and allow us a second opportunity where we can re-win your trust. Should you indeed consider this, may we suggest that you contact us directly ahead of making your reservbation so that we will guide you on the various room types, while we will also ensure you will receive the quality service we have now been long renowned for.

Your truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a weekend break in the first weekend of March at the Solana Hotel in Mellieha. First of all I was really impressed what value for money this four star hotel is. It is a very spacious and welcoming; and the rooms are very well kept and most of them have a good view of the valley on which the hotel is built.The staff are all very friendly and you cannot single one out as they all make you feel at home, from the chambermaids up to the managers. For a person like me who likes food, the buffet breakfast and dinners were superb. A ten minute walk from the hotel you are in the lovely Ghadira beach and a little further up about another 10 minute walk you are in one of the most beautiful country walks on the island.At this time of year the vegitation is beautiful and the walk near the St.Agatha's tower really give you a great perspective of this. Back to the hotel in the evening after dinner its great to relax at the Cafe Puccini with a nice cocktail and enjoy the evening with music from some of the finest singers of the island. The Tosca restaurant is also very good. We had one dinner there it was very good. I really recommend this Hotel and from what I saw here, her sister Hotel Pergola (which is situated not far away) must be also good.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the valley, as they are more on the quite side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming feedback!

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your Weekend Break with us and hope to have you back on board in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Staff here were genuinely helpful, especially Ariana, Linn & Amanda. Everyone really nice.
We just had breakfast but I can't honestly recommend it. Processed meat & cheese and little fresh fruit, and certainly not milk or juice!
May stay again - but would pbly go next door to the lovely Gusto Siciliano.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus1564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

At our hotel, we highly value any form of constructive criticism and while we are pleased to note that you may return to us in the future, we have taken the time to investigate and evaluate your feedback with the aim of constantly bettering our offering.

Where breakfast is concerned, we wish to clarify that this not only includes hot items, cakes, cereals and fruit but also a selection of different cold cuts and cheeses, fresh bakes, yoghurts, fruit juice and hot beverages. Our Chef’s Brigade offers an ‘on-request’ complimentary selection of fried eggs, along with a choice of omelets.

While thanking you for staying with us in the first place and your kind words about our Team, we remain

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing