We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday In Malta”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday In Malta”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel for 10 days in Dec 2013. It's a great place to stay staff are friendly and helpful. The room was a studio which was on the front of the hotel.
The only thing is it's right on the main road with all the traffic passing thru. The hill is very steep. There's a bus stop outside the hotel also there's one down the hill to take you to most towns and the city. The cost for the ticket is 2.60 euro return each or if you use the buses every day you can get a weekly ticket 15 euro's. Hope you you enjoy it there. Check out the indoor pool and Spa and the roof top pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you don't sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your taking the time and sharing your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor. It has been an honor and a true pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on board in the future!

May we also take this opportunity to wish you all the very best for the festive season and 2014!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    754
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is average with rooms a bit old and average service.
No parking available (and the hotel is on a serious ramp).
Internet in the room available paying extra.
Had three problems in three days; I reported them to the personnel who was very nice and promise to take care of them.
After three days none of them was fixed and I had to raise my voice and speak with the director.
I am sure, however, that in summer the whole experience would be different.
Breakfast quality and selection could be improved
The price make it a great choice so overall is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatore A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you consider the Solana Hotel & Spa’s offering to be good value for money, yet, we are equally saddened to read that you consider the hotel as being average with both rooms and service.

At our hotel, we highly value any form of constructive criticism and while we are pleased to note that you will not hesitate in recommending the hotel, we have taken the time to investigate and evaluate your feedback with the aim of constantly bettering our offering.

While thanking you for your time and for having chosen our hotel in the first place, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Rooms very comfortable, nice and genuine food, excellent service and super friendly staff at the Solana Hotel. What gives this hotel a distinct feel is its family atmosphere. The location is also great with the sandy Ghadira beach a stone's throw away. I would recommend the hotel to anyone, locals and tourists, looking for a tranquil break.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting this superb feedback on TripAdvisor, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday and we appreciate your recommendation to our esteemed prospective guests. Our entire Team is now looking forward to welcoming you back to the Solana Hotel & Spa, anytime in the future!

May we also take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Best regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Level Contributor
227 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

we stayed the last week in November.

Positives.

we had booked a promo room (inside balcony) but was given a large room with externel balcony.. good start.

The room was cleaned to a high standard

All the staff we talked to were very friendly and helpful.

If i had been staying in summer maybe a hotel nearer the beach would be better, but this time of year i thought the location ( in the centre) was extremely good. the bus stop to Gozo straight opposite the hotel and the bus stop to everywhere else a 2 minute walk down the rd. also just a bit higher up a supermarket and a bit further down a little sandwich shop (think it was called homepride) best sandwhiches i have had in ages. the walk to the beach is a good fifteen minutes and more on the way back but not a problem for us.

we only ate in the hotel lobby bar once which was nice but usually just stayed for drinks which i didn't find expensive, it is also very nicely decorated. they also had a turn on a couple of times while we were there which seemed to fill the place up,( not my tatse in music but still made a change)

We used the indoor pool and jacuzzi which was nice and the pool outside which was too cold looked lovely.

Slight Negatives.

Nothing really to do with the hotel, but there is some building work happening just down the road so 8am on the dot they would start making noise, if you are a light sleeper then this may be annoying. we were on holiday to relax and have lie ins so this did disturb us slightly.
Also with us enjoying a lie in we found when having a shower it wasn't as hot as i would like but the day we did get up early for the airport it was boiling, so it looks like first come first served.

i would like to try Malta when wamer but think i will try Sliema area as nearer to a lot more places. when traveling back from Valletta on the bus , we picked the wrong time 5pm to travel back as it states 1 hr journey time, but it actually took 1hr 40minutes!!!!

but if for some reason i had to come back to this area i would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiaHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa, on TripAdvisor.

We are truly happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and found the rooms, facilities and the service offered by our Team, to be of an excellent standard.

Considering the hotel is located in the heart of the village there are unfortunately occasions when works are being carried out around us but when this happens we ensure that third parties respect timings as established through existent legal notices. Please do accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused through any morning noise pollution.

While thanking you once again for staying with us in the first place, we would like to wish you all the best for the festive season and we very much hope your future travels will bring you back to Mellieha and the Solana Hotel & Spa!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was an enjoyable weekend even though we had some rain. The room was very spacious, clean and airy. The hotel amenities are excellent. The buffet breakfast and supper food had a lot of variety to choose from especially the salads and the anti pasto.
Besides we spent part of the evening in the lounge listening to live entertainment.
Overall service was excellent and always with a smile. Just opposite the hotel across the road there is the bus stop and within ten minutes we were at Cirkewwa to catch the ferry for Gozo.
We will surely stay again at Solana Hotel and hope next time to have ample time to go on some fantastic country walks in the vicinity.

Room Tip: I prefer at the back of the hotel as traffic is practically nil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your very positive recent experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

We are ever so pleased to read that you enjoyed your December Weekend Break and our Team will surely look forward to welcoming you back on board!

All the very best for the festive season and regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is the second time in two years we have stayed at the Solana. It is a very good hotel and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. The food is great and it is very well kept. My wife and myself have no complaints at all.

M. Allan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a tremendous pleasure to read your very generous review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Our Team is honored and pleased to welcome you back to us each time and are looking forward to your next visit, in the near future!

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Yours always,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We chose to return to the Solana to celebrate our 'Silver Wedding' and we were not disappointed! We were met with a very warm welcome & shown to our lovely room were the bed was decorated with heart shaped, swan towels & scattered with rose petals. We loved this special touch and as usual, the 4 star Solana provided a 5 star plus service. This was our third visit & we are already checking prices/dates to return next year! We would like to say a huge thank you to Pierre, Sasha & all other staff for making our holiday extra special....see you all next year xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with our esteemed TripAdvisor Followers, your outstanding experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

It gives us great satisfaction in learning that you have trusted us with such a special vacation and very much hope that there will indeed be a fourth stay with us, anytime soon! While extending to you once again, our Team’s best wishes on this special occasion, we remain

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing