We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just back from another fantastic stay at the solana hotel. Great friendly staff. Very clean and fantastic value for money. Perfect location to visit the beautiful island of Malta. This is my second visit to the solana and not my last. Can't wait to get back next year. Keep up the good work. November 2014

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tmcmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, the entire Team is extremely appreciative of your loyal custom; it is indeed a true pleasure to welcome you back two years in a row!

We are very proud of your continuous trust in the Solana Hotel & Spa as your home base in Malta and hope you will keep this ‘tradition’, for many years to come! While thanking you for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor, we remain

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,259)
There are newer reviews for Solana Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

I recommend this hotel to anyone who would want a break. The room was comfortable and very spacious with individual A/C and kitchen. The staff were also very well mannered and polite and always with a smile to make you feel welcome. The food was to say the least excellent with a vast selection of antipasti which we loved, breakfast was also great. I have nothing to fault at this hotel. Special thank you also goes to Amanda who was very helpful and somehow always there to see if we are ok. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn of your excellent break at the Solana Hotel & Spa and that you do not hesitate in recommending our hotel to our esteemed prospective guests.

On behalf of Amanda and our entire Team, we trust we will have a future opportunity where to welcome you back on board and till then, all the very best for the festive season!

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff were incredibly welcoming and truly very efficient. They took over all the organisation of any tours we wished to go on.
Our room was beautifully furnished with a pleasant balcony onto the street.
Breakfast was delicious with something for everyone.. Full English for the carnivores and ripe yoghurts fruits and cheeses for others.

Room Tip: Our room with balcony overlooked the street. We're used to total silence at night - but the stre...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so very happy to read your absolutely fantastic review, following your recent stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

Our entire Team takes pride in offering top notch customer experiences and we are very pleased to note that thanks to this, you felt very much at home!

We truly hope there will be future opportunities when to once again welcome you back to the Solana Hotel & Spa!

Yours faithfully,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Solana Hotel in Mellieha. The hotel is situated in the middle of a rustic town with excellent transport links to the major attractions the island has to offer.

On arrival the modest yet very clean reception area is welcoming as are the staff. The large number of seats available were mainly occupied with older visitors enjoying the free wifi the hotel offers in the lounge while the large TV had Eurosport on to accomodate some of the disgruntle husbands.

We requested a room high up in the hotel with a view away from the road and we were given a room on the ground floor with a view away from the road. Although not perfect, the room was large and comfortable with a quaint little kitchen hidden in the cupboard. If you look at other peoples pics you will see what I mean.

The room was cleaned almost daily and fresh towels provided when needed. As well as the kitchen we had tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of storage space for clothes as well as a small balcony for drying. The ensuite was, again, large and it had a powerful shower which was great.

As we booked self catering we only tried the hotel food once and that was enough. It wasn't bad, but with the wide array of restaurants and eateries Mellieha has to offer I would say you are better off exploring (Bouquet Garni was exceptional and only a small walk away).

The hotel offers a Spa and gym facility however we did not use these I can recommend the indoor heated pool and the jacuzzi which were rarely busy. As it was out of season and not the best weather the rooftop pool was always quiet but well maintained.

The whole stay was pleasant and there was very little to complain about at all. I would recommend a stay at the hotel and if you hear a cheeky Essex accent just go and say hello to Charlotte on the bar, she is welcoming and friendly and takes the time to speak to everyone which is an excellent quality in a member of customer service staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stereophonic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this extensive review on TripAdvisor, following your holiday with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa. It gives us great pleasure in learning that you had an enjoyable stay and that our Team, Charlotte in particular, has highly contributed towards rendering your stay in a positive experience.

We truly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Solana Hotel & Spa in the future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have visited this resort and stayed at this hotel several times over the last eighteen months. We have found the facilicities going self catering is very good. The room is spacious with good coooking and fridge to self cater if you want. We have ate at the hotel and it has good food. However, the resort has exceptional local restaurants in the front street from the bay area into the other side of the town. Because of the number of visists we have ate in most of them .
The boquet Garnier being exceptional with L'amegios also very good.
The indoor swimming pool and spa are excellent and the staff attentive and helpfull. Drink prices are a little high for beer either local or English at four euroes and mark up on wines a lot when you can get from supermarket over road. However, it is a hotel and the fact that we will be looking to rebook for March again says how much we love this hotel,resort and Malta.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for once again choosing the Solana Hotel & Spa for your holiday on the Maltese Islands!

It is an honor and a true pleasure to welcome you back, each and every time and are looking forward to your next visit, in March 2014!

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for one week from 29th October 2013 as a family of four.

The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and modern with good Air Con.
The bathroom was modern and spacious.
The third floor balcony was safe for children and large.
The reception Staff were friendly and very welcoming.
The restaurant Staff again were friendly and most helpful.
The cooked and fresh breakfast buffet was both plentiful and delicious
The rooftop pool was spotlessly clean with great sun seats.

Overall a great experience and a hotel which we would recommend without hesitation. The Hotel is child friendly and both our young children loved the experience. The Staff were always informative, helpful and genuinely pleasant (especially Sasha) - well done !

Mellieha is a lovely small town with ample restaurants on Gorg Borg Olivier St, if eating out. If hiring a car, parking near the Hotel is convenient.

This was our second visit to Malta. We would definitely endeavour to stay at the Solana Hotel again if we return.

Room Tip: Great friendly hotel for families with young children!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank excelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is an absolute pleasure to read your wonderful review; thank you so much for sharing it on TripAdvisor!

We are extremely happy that Sasha, together with the entire Team, managed to supersede your expectations and we very much appreciate your recommendation of the Solana Hotel & Spa to our esteemed Followers.

While thanking you once again, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Malta, Mellieha and the Solana Hotel & Spa, very soon!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

As previous reviews state the staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and the room was big, bright and cleaned every day. I would suggest you make sure you get the room you booked. We booked a studio which states you can sleep 4. We we're given a small dark room with no view and a balcony that looked at brick walls on 3 sides. We were then given a double room which was fine but still not what we booked. Sitting in the reception ( the only place to get internet free wifi) I heard others complaining that the rooms were not what they expected or booked. The breakfast was ok but only ate the evening meal there twice as the food although had some choice was no where near 4 star quality. The salad bar had some lettuce tomato and beans but not the type of ingredients you would expect if you didn't fancy the main meals! My recommendation, yes stay here it's location is good, staff good but stay bed and breakfast as there are better places to eat near by. Parking can be a nightmare at times too if you have a hire car, 45 mins on the high street until 6 pm and after 9 am. You will need to park in the side streets if your lucky as these spaces fill up quick. This hotel is busy so some people must like it! We got it on a deal but if I had payed full price I would have been very disappointed. Would I be back? No thanks there are better 4 star hotels on the island.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your taking the time and sharing with us your feedback, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

At our hotel we constantly strive very hard at offering an overall quality experience to our esteemed guests and since this experience is unfortunately now in the past, we can only apologize for having fallen short of your expectations.

Regretfully, we must admit that your review has somewhat left us perplexed especially since our records indicate that throughout the duration of your stay, once at check-in your originally allocated studio unit was changed with an alternative one overlooking the valley, the feedback you have given our various Team members was always favorable. Where our dinner offering is concerned, as an alternative to the buffet, guests on half board basis have also the option of enjoying a set menu at the Tosca… Pasta, Pizza, Grill, subject to availability. Nonetheless, the dinner buffet offering comprises different meal experiences including a typical Maltese Cuisine Night among others. The selection includes an array of antipasto and cold cuts, soups, selection of pasta, different main courses including fish, poultry and meat served with vegetables and potatoes in season, together with a dessert corner comprising a selection of fresh bakes, cheese board, ice-cream and fruit salad, among others.

While understanding that at this point you may be hesitant in opting for our hotel during future holidays in Malta, we still sincerely hope you will allow us a second opportunity where we can re-win your trust. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to contact us directly where we shall do our best endeavors in ensuring that your stay with us is as positive as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,969 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $67 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing