We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planning our next visit already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Planning our next visit already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My fiancé and I recently returned from an 8 night stay at the Solana in June 2013. We were hoping for a nice relaxing chilled summer holiday, and we were certainly not disappointed!
The hotel itself is lovely. On a major bus route and easy to find by hire car, with a variety of restaurants nearby and Mellieha bay at the bottom of the hill, this is most certainly a well situated hotel.
The facilities lived up to every expectation and beyond! The only quibble point was me and my fiancé debating as to whether to swim in the indoor pool or the outdoor rooftop pool! Completely spoilt for choice! And if that isn't enough, there is an on site spa where you can book treatments to pamper yourself, and if that isn't your cup of tea, the complimentary air conditioned gym was a nice touch!
Our room was lovely, very spacious and the air conditioning was very welcome on the humid nights!
We opted for bed and breakfast, and my fussy fiancé was a little disappointed with the breakfast options, but as a seasoned traveller it was not only what I was expecting for breakfast but with far more options.
The staff were all very lovely and could not be more helpful. If you had any questions they were more than willing to answer and help in any way they could.
We were recommended this hotel by friends, and were certainly not disappointed! I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Mellieha, and would certainly make it our first selection when re-visiting Malta!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel, away from the main road, and both peaceful and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljp240982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are overwhelmed that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa! Your feedback is extremely valuable to our Team, and we appreciate that you have spared some of your time to share this wonderful holiday experience with all of us.

We look forward to welcome you again in the nearest future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    751
    233
    73
    47
See reviews for
523
1,083
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

the hotel is clean spotless its a lovely hotel the rooms are good you can go here self catering or have your meals its your choice but its all good the staff are brilliant and really helpful , there is plenty to see all around and the weather in june is hot

Room Tip: we have been here in this hotel as a couple and with family and all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anita2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your encouraging comments on our Hotel and its Team!

While thanking you for recommending the Solana Hotel & Spa to our TripAdvisor followers, we now look forward to host you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencolmcille, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My partner and I were part of a six couple group who stayed in this hotel for a week in June 2013. We travelled to Malta for a friend's wedding. Upon arrival my partner and I were directed to room 1301, a small room, with only an internal window, looking out onto a hallway. We were disappointed by the standard of the room, and particularly that there was no window, however it was not until we saw the rooms given to the rest of the travelling party that we felt really hard done by. The five other couples were given huge, well lit, well ventilated, balcony rooms. We aired our disappointment with reception, but were told that it was the luck of the draw, and thus we stayed put. When the shower was used for the first time, we noticed that the water flowed along the side of the bath panel, and SATURATED the bathroom floor, due to the lack of a screen at the side of the bath. Things came to a head on our second evening, when I returned home early from dinner, and after using the bathroom, could not get the door to open again. I was locked in the warm, windowless bathroom. My phone was in the bedroom, and my partner was not due home for several hours. There is a telephone in the bathroom, however I could not get through to reception on it. I really panicked, and spent a good fifteen minutes trying to get the door opened, before it eventually clicked open. When my partner returned he went to the bathroom, and he also got locked in, however I was able to open the door from the outside. After this episode we demanded a new room, based on the fact that room 1301 was not up to standard. Finally, on the morning of day 3, we were moved to room 2101, which is on the other side of the hotel, and was, in short, fantastic. We were disappointed by the co-operation of the hotel staff on this matter. We were of the opinion that the room was not up to standard from the first morning, based primarily on the fact that the shower was flooding both the bathroom, and flowing under the bathroom door and into the bedroom, however the reception staff were not happy to change us without us paying an upgrade fee.
Apart from this problem, the hotel itself is beautiful. The good rooms are really good. The staff, by and large, are friendly and efficient, particularly the night staff. The indoor pool is colder than the rooftop one, the views from which are fantastic. We did not eat in the hotel, preferring to sample the food in the many local restaurants. The hotel is a good twenty minute walk from the beach, down a steep hill, which we were advised not to walk up again on our way home. My partner and I walked it on several evenings, and it is not really too much of a pull, but there is a bus that runs to the beach and back anyway.
If we return to Malta again, I doubt that we will stay in the Solana, but would look for somewhere closer to Valletta or St Julian's. Mellieha is quite removed, and although beautiful, there really is not much to see or do after day two. We were based there as this was where the entire wedding party set up camp.
All in all a mixed experience, but we would probably have awarded five stars had it not been for our unfortunate room trouble. The rest of our travelling party were very happy.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room, at all costs, and preferably to the back of the hotel, in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caitrionanicseoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very saddened at receiving your review and while this experience is regretfully now in the past and cannot be taken back, it is worth clarifying that similarly to what we explained to you on various occasions throughout the duration of your stay, the unit allocated was indeed the room type that you originally booked. Unit 1301, in fact, features exactly the same amenities of a standard twin room with the exception of having a window overlooking an internal courtyard rather than a balcony.

Please do accept our sincerest apologies for the maintenance matters arising during your stay with us; at the Solana Hotel & Spa, our Team constantly strives hard at minimising as much as possible any maintenance related occurrences but regretfully, albeit all efforts, similar incidents still happen from time to time.

While understanding that this may have not been an overall positive experience for you, we still very much hope that should you indeed return to Malta, you will still choose the Solana Hotel & Spa. Should you indeed consider this opportunity, please do not hesitate to contact us directly where we will guide you on the various room types available that will better suit your expectations.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The greeting we got was warm and friendly and received a local drink to welcome us to the hotel. The room we got was spacious but the only negative was it stated there would be a sofa bed in the Studio. However it didn't hamper our stay in anyway. The staff were very friendly and always willing to offer advice and help. Both pools and spa were very good and you could get some really good deals on spa treatment. The hotel is very well situated in Mellieha village and there is a bus stop right outside. The beach is about 20min walk downhill and be prepared for the uphill walk back!! Alternatively you could get a taxi or a bus back. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel and there is a couple of mini markets close buy if you are self catering and very reasonably priced.There is also a nice little cafe next door to the hotel which is cheap. We would go back there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgregor2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that your recent stay with us has been a very enjoyable one, and we appreciate that you have shared this great experience on TripAdvisor.

We hope that your future holiday plans will bring you back to Malta and to the Solana Hotel & SPA again, very soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from a 1 week holiday at this hotel, and it was really lovely. Hotel very clean, reception staff very friendly and very helpful. We had room 2408, which looked as if it had just been refurbished, and was at the back of the hotel, so very quite, the rooms at the front backed onto main busy road, which can be noisy.
This hotel was in a lovely area, but the beach was a good 20min walk down a steep hill, ok down but get the bus up, 7 days bus pass (covers all over malta and gozo) costs 12 euros, excellent value, but be warned the buses do get quite full at times!!!!
We were there on a bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast ok, plenty of lovely places to eat out in the area. The weather was brillant all week.

Room Tip: go for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that your holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa has been a very positive one, and we wish to show you our appreciation for sharing such great feedback with all of us.

We now look forward to host you again for many more holidays in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here again this year and wasn't disappointed. Very nice room in the new building. The friendliness and service from the staff is excellent. The choice and quality of the food is great. Very nice cakes. Pool area is very clean. If your on HB you can use the Italian restaurant (la tosca) and have the 2 course set menu or have 10euros towards your meal. Excellent quality meal, well worth it.
Overall very high quality in every aspect. Look forward to returning next year. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely satisfied to read that your recent visit to the Solana Hotel & Spa, has been as equally excellent as your first! We wish to also thank you for your kind comments on the service and friendliness of our Team, and on our food product.

We now look forward to welcome you back again in 2014!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

First of all I would say the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is well situated for the public bus service but a good walk to a beach.
When we opened the door of our room we immediately saw a suitcase on the bed and toiletries in the bathroom so we were given a tiny room with a high window opening onto a wall, this at 11 30 at night! We had paid for a 4 person studio and were put into a 2 person studio with a view on a wall with rusty pipes the following morning.!Several hours later after voicing our disappointment we were finally given a pleasant room with a view onto a derelict garden below.
The hotel atmosphere was very nice with the opportunity to meet other nationalities in the lobby and the restaurants were reasonably good but we preferred to eat in different restaurants in the island.The pool outside was cool but the view was amazing.
While we enjoyed our holiday in Malta we would not stay at the Solana again but would prefer somewhere closer to Valletta.

Room Tip: Keep asking until you get what you paid for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bready207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us.

We regret to read that your initial impression of the Hotel was not a favourable one, and we hereby take this opportunity to publicly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during the first few hours of your holiday. Nevertheless, we are satisfied that the situation was rectified in a timely manner, allowing you to relax and enjoy your overall experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

While thanking you for having chosen our Hotel for your recent holidays, we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing