We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from a 1 week holiday at this hotel, and it was really lovely. Hotel very clean, reception staff very friendly and very helpful. We had room 2408, which looked as if it had just been refurbished, and was at the back of the hotel, so very quite, the rooms at the front backed onto main busy road, which can be noisy.
This hotel was in a lovely area, but the beach was a good 20min walk down a steep hill, ok down but get the bus up, 7 days bus pass (covers all over malta and gozo) costs 12 euros, excellent value, but be warned the buses do get quite full at times!!!!
We were there on a bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast ok, plenty of lovely places to eat out in the area. The weather was brillant all week.

Room Tip: go for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresa231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that your holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa has been a very positive one, and we wish to show you our appreciation for sharing such great feedback with all of us.

We now look forward to host you again for many more holidays in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here again this year and wasn't disappointed. Very nice room in the new building. The friendliness and service from the staff is excellent. The choice and quality of the food is great. Very nice cakes. Pool area is very clean. If your on HB you can use the Italian restaurant (la tosca) and have the 2 course set menu or have 10euros towards your meal. Excellent quality meal, well worth it.
Overall very high quality in every aspect. Look forward to returning next year. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are extremely satisfied to read that your recent visit to the Solana Hotel & Spa, has been as equally excellent as your first! We wish to also thank you for your kind comments on the service and friendliness of our Team, and on our food product.

We now look forward to welcome you back again in 2014!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First of all I would say the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is well situated for the public bus service but a good walk to a beach.
When we opened the door of our room we immediately saw a suitcase on the bed and toiletries in the bathroom so we were given a tiny room with a high window opening onto a wall, this at 11 30 at night! We had paid for a 4 person studio and were put into a 2 person studio with a view on a wall with rusty pipes the following morning.!Several hours later after voicing our disappointment we were finally given a pleasant room with a view onto a derelict garden below.
The hotel atmosphere was very nice with the opportunity to meet other nationalities in the lobby and the restaurants were reasonably good but we preferred to eat in different restaurants in the island.The pool outside was cool but the view was amazing.
While we enjoyed our holiday in Malta we would not stay at the Solana again but would prefer somewhere closer to Valletta.

Room Tip: Keep asking until you get what you paid for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bready207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us.

We regret to read that your initial impression of the Hotel was not a favourable one, and we hereby take this opportunity to publicly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during the first few hours of your holiday. Nevertheless, we are satisfied that the situation was rectified in a timely manner, allowing you to relax and enjoy your overall experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

While thanking you for having chosen our Hotel for your recent holidays, we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Solana Hotel is situated in an excellent location in the centre of Mellieha village. We were extremely pleased with the quality of the room, the level of service from the very friendly staff and the facilities were very good.

As has previously been mentioned the rooms are very well proportioned, and have minimal kitchen facilities, (Microwave, two ring hob, toaster & Kettle). This is not a problem because the hotel is surrounded by some very good restaurants all within minutes walk of the lobby. We stayed for 1 week and had too many local restaurants to choose from. We would recommend Bouquet Garni: a beautiful restaurant with very friendly personable service with outstanding food., Rebekah's Restaurant: slightly further away but well worth the 5-6 minute walk, and Ta'Peter: directly opposite this is a very friendly restaurant with excellent service and lovely food.

The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, (we had B&B accommodation)

Thanks for contributing to what was a wonderful holiday. As we discovered the Maltese people are very friendly, and Malta is a super island to explore - The public Transport is very well run, a bus pass is less than 3 euros for the day or less than 13 euros for a week - which means that you should think twice before hiring a car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a true pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our central location as well as our excellent facilities and staff. Mellieha might be small but its well known amongst the Maltese people for its gorgeous restaurants! On your next visit, may we recommend our latest addition, The Tosca, situated within the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for giving us the honor and pleasure of having you as our guest and we hope to have you back on board in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice hotel! When i arrived, even though i couldn't check in yet (i arrived early), i was greeted with a drink and a smile at reception. A good start to a holiday. Then things got better after that. My philosphy is to have a comfortable bed, to have a great shower and the breakfast should be great to start the day. The hotel passed the test! When I got the room, it was a twin room which was big enough to swing a lion, brilliant size. Everything was clean. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was just right. My only minor compliant was the TV which didn't have the greatest of receptions, but i wasn't on holiday to watch TV! Breakfast was perfect. Yes, it served the same breakfast everyday but there was a very big choice. People, who complain that it is all the same, should simply just go out and find places which are open outside the hotel, but quite honestly, you have everything in the hotel. Importantly, what made my stay so nice were the staff. Excellent people. I can't fault them. I will drop names here...Joseph in reception, Gary, Lara, the 2 Jessicas, Kathy in the bar, Etienne & Ivan in the restaurants, Henock who cleaned the rooms....these people stood out more but the rest of the staff were very nice as well.
The position of the hotel is perfect. Yes, the beach is about 1.5miles away and yes there is a steep hill to tackle if you walk it but there is an excellent public bus service which can take you to the beach and back for under 3 euros a day.
So, overall, I like it and will come again. Just to warn the staff that will be reading this, I will be arriving again around 6th October 2013, so don't you dare look for other jobs! :))

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is indeed a great pleasure of ours to read your review and favourably note that several colleagues from various departments have positively contributed towards the enjoyment of your stay. Our Team in fact wish to confirm that they gladly accept the challenge of still being part of Solana’s formidable Team and will look forward to welcoming you back, come early October 2013!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have visited Malta, staying in the Mellieha area, many times before but this was my first visit to the Solana.

I arrived at 1.30am and was greeted by Oliver. Despite the time he was very pleasant and booked me in efficiently. First impressions were good.

I was in Room 2306 which although it meant 2 lifts and walk through the Bridge Connection this didn't bother me. The room was excellent - very spacious and very clean. It had a large balcony which had a view of the church and the stretch of water between Malta and Gozo. The bathroom was also spacious and very clean.

The extras, which could have if you paid extra, were wifi in the room, safe deposit box and items for the fridge. I am somewhat surprised that the first 2 items were not now included in with the cost of the room but I suppose that it is better that they are extras rather than putting the cost of the room up. At least this way you have a choice.

I was in half board so ate in the Bellini restaurant each day. The breakfast was ample, a selection of hot and cold food being available. One criticism would be that the only type of eggs prepared were scrambled. I would think it would be an improvement if some fried and boiled eggs were also prepared in advance.

The evening meals consisted of a selection of cold meats and salads, a choice of hot main courses (2 or 3 choice of meat choices. 1 fish and 2 pasta dishes were also available as well as a vegetarian option) followed by a choice of desserts, mainly cakes. There appeared to be a glut of cauliflower as this appeared to be as either the vegetable choice or contained within the vegetable choice. Bad news if you don't like cauliflower which I don't. I would have preferred another choice of vegetable to be available and maybe some type of rice instead if potatoes each night.

I would like to mention Ivan who knew my room number after me visiting the restaurant only twice. That's someone who takes care of the hotel's guests. Apart from Ivan, I would also like to mention Lara who was very pleasant and always greeted guests with a smile.

Entertainment in the form of a singer took place in the main bar area some nights. You could also have access to the hotel's free wifi in this area which meant that quite of lot of guests used it during the day and the night.

All in all I had another good holiday in Mellieha. Would I return to the Solana ? Yes without hesitation - I am already looking forward to going again at some time in the future.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at The Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you, once again, enjoyed your stay in Mellieha, this time at The Solana Hotel & Spa.

We appreciate all forms of feedback and took note of your above mentioned concerns. Our Chefs at The Bellini do their best endeavors to present a varied buffet every evening and depend a lot on seasonal fresh produce. It is indeed a challenge to try and satisfy all our diners tastes and apologize if you felt there was a lack of choice.

We do hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves on one of your future visits!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay half board at the Solana & not being my first trip to Malta but my first to the Solana i have to say we found the hotel to be perfect.
The staff on check in were great & along with the little welcome drink made the whole checking in process easy & pleasant.
Our room was brilliant a large bright room with plenty of storage space and a great mini kitchen hidden in a wardrobe inc everything you need to stay self catering if we did inc a well needed fridge for our water!!.
The room was furnished well & very clean with lovely fresh linen everyday and also cleaned everyday! , another great bonus was the remote control air con which was so handy to have!!.
We also had a nice balcony with distant views of the sea.
Meal times were great with a good choice of hot foods mini starters soup & various meats depending on the theme of the evening then for desert a wide choice was available inc fruits & icecream.
The staff were all polite and very efficient and a credit to the hotel and kept all the public areas very clean and tidy.
All in all we had a lovely stay at the Solana & would not hesitate to come back & Stay again.

Special thanks has to go to Pierre Agius who looked after us very well and made our stay perfect for me and my wife.

Room Tip: 2106 was the room we had VERY nice room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor!

Being familiar with Malta and its vast choice of accommodation, we are honoured that you found The Solana Hotel & Spa a perfect home base for your holiday. Your overall kind comments are very much appreciated by all our staff, Pierre in particular.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to show you more of our famous Maltese hospitality on your future visits to The Maltese Islands!

Best Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,684 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,001 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $58 - $1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Otel, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing