We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay back in May”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Wootton Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay back in May”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been going to the Solana Hotel for the last nine years, and every time we are there the staff make us feel very welcome, they can't do enough for us to make our holiday enjoyable. We have made friends with many of them, and this is the reason why my wife and I return twice a year to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for once again taking the time to share your positive experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

You have been with us almost from Solana’s inception and we are truly proud and happy that for nine years you have been repeat, loyal guests, whom we can call Friends without any hesitation, whatsoever! Our Team continuously strives hard to exceed Guest expectations, however, your putting this in words, truly confirms to us that we are indeed on the right track!

We certainly hope that we shall continue to positively contribute to many, many more of your enjoyable holiday experiences!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    751
    233
    73
    47
See reviews for
523
1,083
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Yet another fantastic holiday at the Solana Hotel - this is the 4th time my family and I have stayed at the hotel, previously stayed at the sister hotel, the Pergola. The hotel is in a perfect location - supermarket just across the road and a variety of restaurants also at close hand.The staff are so welcoming and they will do anything for you, nothing is too much trouble. This year we had the pleasure of meeting Joseph, front of house when we arrived and he ensured our stay was perfect. We were greeted with a bottle of wine in our room and fresh fruit and treated to a hydrotherapy spa - courtesy of the hotel! The hotel has an outside pool, which is situated on the rooftop with gorgeous views of Mellieha. It also has an indoor pool, which we often used towards the end of the day. The rooms are excellent value for money, very spacious and room service is of a very high standard and rooms are cleaned for you daily. A special mention to Malcom Grima, Sales & Marketing Manager, who has booked our rooms for us and ensured we had a pleasant stay. In fact, we have just booked again for October of this year. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Malta and in particular Mellieha. I have now been to Malta 11 times and I never tire of it......

Room Tip: The studio rooms are excellent value for money as you have self-catering facilities if you wish to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

All of us here at The Solana Hotel & Spa are delighted by your overwhelming feedback on TripAdvisor!

It gives us great pleasure indeed that you enjoyed, and will keep on enjoying our renowned hospitality, hopefully for many more years to come. Thank you also for highlighting the warm welcome you received from Joseph, the excellent service by Malcolm and for validating all our efforts to ensure your stay was a memorable one.

We are looking forward to hosting you and your family again in October 2013.

Kind regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff......always helpful, polite and smiling.
Room....we went self catering......mini kitchen not really adequate if you want to cook dinners.....but we only used it for breakfast...ie toast and marmite and cooking eggs.....more utensils would be good.....there is a tiny fridge and also a microwave but no large bowl to use in this. No fruit bowl...we used the frying pan. The room 2105 was very large..... air conditioning was brilliant if a little noisy and controlled by ourselves which is unusual......cleaned daily and sheets changed three times in the two weeks we were there, clean towels every day. Our problem was with the shower screen, the rubber strip along the bottom was missing and therefore when we showered the floor got flooded.......we did put in a request to have this fixed but it wasn't done and nobody explained to us why.....however we were on holiday and paddling in water wasn't a huge issue and we improvised by wedging the shower screen with the loo brush!!! However do feel Solana should get this sorted asap.
We didn't eat at the the restaurant at all but did use The Puchini Bar and have to mention Kathy one of the bar staff who was an absolute peach.
We hired a car and parking was a challenge but we always found somewhere down the back streets....we also found a back door into the hotel which was sometimes open.
Room 2105 requires stamina to get to as you have to go in two different lifts and a bit of a walk so you need to be happy to do this.....it certainly didn't bother us (we are both over 50)

The area is beautiful....hilly but although we hired a car we know the busses run regularly and late into the night. The beach at Mellieha is lovely costs 10 euros to hire chair beds for two and a brolly. Again all Maltese people are so friendly and welcoming.
We ate at several cafes in Mallieha and L'escargot was really good with the staff being very friendly too.

There are so many wonderful places to visit in Malta and it was our fourth visit and we still found plenty to do other than sunbathe.

Would we stay here again at The Solana......if they sort the shower screen!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeywaneyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your sincere review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at The Solana Hotel & Spa.

We truly regret that you were dissatisfied with some of our facilities and services and please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings, most especially the breakdown in communication with regards to the shower screen. Please rest assured that having brought this shortfall to our attention, we have strived hard to get a replacement the soonest possible, however, we were unsuccessful. The rubber strip was in fact on order; once again, so sorry for not having clarified this with you.

It is, however, very rewarding to read that you enjoyed our Team's hospitality, Kathy in particular. Our Team takes great pleasure in ensuring that all our guests receive the best quality service and we are thrilled to hear that through their being helpful, polite and happy they have positively contributed towards your holiday experience!

We hope you keep on enjoying the Maltese Islands and would take great pride in hosting you once again upon your return.

Kind Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

On the whole, my experience at the Solana was a positive one.

My partner and I were greeted warmly by the receptionist and offered a free glass of Kinnie, a drink that I drink that I rapidly grew an addiction for throughout our holiday! There was a 3 hour wait while our room was being cleaned, but thankfully we were allowed to drop off our luggage.

The room we had was advertised as a ‘promo double room’ on Travel Republic, and it is probably one of the cheapest rooms at the Hotel, as it is small and does not include a balcony. To the credit of the receptionist, we were offered an upgrade for an extra 12 Euros a night. This room was slightly larger and included a balcony, but as we were on a tight budget, we decided to stick with the room we originally booked (and we reasoned that if you wanted to sit in the sun, you could just go outside!).

The room itself, although small was well facilitated, with an excellent shower (powerful!) and good tea & coffee making facilities. Like in many hotels I’ve visited outside the UK, the double bed did consist of two single beds pushed together, which as mentioned, do have a tendency to drift apart during the night.

My main gripe about the room was that it had an interconnecting door to another room. Being able to hear the conversations, television, furniture movement and passage of wind of the neighbouring room wasn’t particularly pleasant (and probably wasn’t a bed of roses for them either! ) I understand that this was probably the cheapest room in the hotel, but in hindsight I do wish I gave myself a more generous holiday budget!

In terms of cleanliness, the room was cleaned to an adequate standard, but while I noticed fresh towels were provided, I don’t think the bed sheets were changed at any point during our stay, as I happened to notice the same stain on the top sheet every day.

The food, albeit not tremendously varied, was of a good standard. I would agree with another review, that it is wise to go to breakfast early in order to get the full choice of options!

My gripes aside, I cannot fault the staff! The staff were lovely throughout our stay, particularly the cleaning staff and the staff at the Belinni Buffet restaurant and the Tosca Alacarte.

Another plus for the hotel is its excellent position in a beautiful part of Malta. Nearby are some excellent beaches, restaurants and bars (including Ix-Xatba) and a selection of supermarkets to stock up on that all important Kinne! The bus stop is a short walk from the hotel too, and for 2.60 Euros you can buy a day ticket to take you to anywhere on the island (bargain!) Also note that there are 7 day tickets available for 12.00 Euros. Handy leaflets for the buses, displaying a map of the different routes can be found at reception.

Overall I am in two minds about whether I would return to the Solana. if I was to make a return trip to Malta, I would probably choose to spend that little bit extra for a perfect experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmite20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that your overall experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa was a positive one, however, we are hoping that in between now and the time when you consider making a return to Malta, your decision will be in favour of our hotel!

As you are well aware, the Solana Hotel & Spa has a number of different room types available, with the aim of meeting all budgets but yet, if you look closely at the rate differences you will note that this difference, adds up only to a couple of Euros over a period of a week. Investing that little bit more can increase your room comfort and automatically further enhances your overall experience. Should you indeed consider returning, you are more than welcome to contact us directly, where together we can come up with an offer than not only meets your budget, but also fully meets your accommodation expectations.

While thanking you for having chosen us in the first place, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family and i returned last week from the Solana having stayed there for the 4th time. We have also stayed at the Pergola several times too as we love Mellieha! We cannot fault the hotel at all. May is a lovely time of year as its not too hot but very pleasant. We've always had excellent room rates and previously had breakfast included which is great value but this time decided to prepare our own breakfast in the little kitchenette. The staff at the Solana are very friendly and efficient in particular Joseph on reception & Kathy at the cafe and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms have also been lovely and very clean - with a cleaner coming in most days providing plenty of fresh towels. Although the outdoor pool is quite cold, it is very refreshing on hot days by the pool. My children love the indoor pool too. My sister and I were given a free hydro massage in the Spa and this was very pleasurable! The hotel is in a fabulous location with all of the shops and restaurants close by. We particularly love Ta Randi for good value meals and the Maritim hotel for slightly more expensive but extremely tasty food. Greystones bar down the hill is a family run place which also provides excellent food and a warm welcome. The beach is a 20min walk down the hill and we tended to catch the bus back but this can be expensive as a short trip seems to be the same price as a long trip and cost us 2.50 Euros each just to come back up the hill!

We have already booked the Solana for next May and look forward to another fantastic holiday in Malta! Thank you Solana we will definitely recommend you every time!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy but are good if you like to watch the world go by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holmes196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting this superb review on TripAdvisor but even more so, for your loyalty!

It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests who have experienced our facilities and services and we are delighted that we once again contributed in making your family’s experience with us special, comfortable and enjoyable. We are pleased you enjoyed your hydro massage at our Spa Harmonique and have passed on your compliments to both Joseph and Kathy, who along with the rest of our Team, are looking forward to giving you another warm Solana welcome, upon your return in May 2015!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

When we arrived we had to wait 3 hours for our room. We were not even offered a welcome drink although we noticed that others were. Our room was lovely with a big balcony ( ours was the only one without sun beds) and a studio kitchen which we found useful. However the cleanliness of the room left something to be desired. We were on half board. The breakfast was the best part. We asked for omelettes every morning- not something they advertised but excellent quality. The evening meal was mediocre and repetitive. Twice we escaped to the a la carte restaurant but not much better. Neither restaurant had any atmosphere. The spa was full for the treatments we wished to book so we only used the spa bath but it didn't appear very well maintained. If we went back we would only go for the bed and breakfast option.

Room Tip: The third floor and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gapmonthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you consider the Solana Hotel & Spa as having potential and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. Where constructive criticism is concerned, please rest assured that we have taken the time to look into each and every aspect mentioned and took relevant action where deemed necessary.

Should you indeed consider returning back to our hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly in advance of your stay, so that we ensure that your entire stay with us will be as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

There are no words to describe how hospitable the hotel staff were. Great breakfast, good choice, great dinner options, with Chef Carmel making sure that all of our dietry needs were seen to, and the hostess Maria looking after us every day, with a smile. The reception staff, Ariana in particular was helpful with bus routes, priniting off recomended spots to visit, and re arranging our spa visit at short notice. The hotel had a great feel to it, and importantly a powerful shower!!! There was a group of students staying who made it very difficult to sleep at night, but after speaking to reception, the matter was quickly cleared up. Good location, with plenty of local convenience stores, and restaurants. Would recomend this hotel again and again, they made our stay just perfect.

Room Tip: Stay on the back facing for a good sea view, and ask if an school tours are in so you can have a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank letchworth183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your over whelming feedback following your stay with us at The Solana Hotel & Spa.

We are very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience and that the service offered by Carmel, Maria and Ariana, together with the rest of the team, was second to none. We very much hope that one day soon we will be welcoming you back to both our lovely Maltese Islands and the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing