We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great Value for money first of all.. we were amazed at how cheap it was (but we booked quite a few months in advance).

The staff were very helpful. Any requests were dealt with efficiently so no room for complaints!

The pool and jucuzzi was fairly decent. The spa services were very good too. I got a luxury manicure done and the therapist took a lot of time to make sure she did a good job.

Bus services are great here but I would only recommend staying here if your not looking for a party holiday i.e. quite far to travel to St. Julians/Valetta but fine as a day trips. Very close to beaches so depends on what your looking for. We wanted a relaxing holiday hence why we stayed in Mallieha.

Locals and local area very nice. Pretty town :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

I think a 4* rating is a bit much - the food was not up to scratch, with limited choice at lunch time for Full Board, and the evening meals ranged from poor to good (on a couple of occaisions). Rooms were ok but balconies (if you were lucky enough to get one) were very small. Would take a hairdryer as the ones provided are not good. Was quite noisy (we had room above restaurant and could hear tables being moved from very early morning). Pool was FREEZING. Hotel located on a hill so if you have limited movement, do not stay here.

Good point was the staff - lovely (Amaris, Gary etc) - only thing is don't tip as the staff don't get it - goes straight to management

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret to note that your overall experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa did not live up to your 4-star expectations. At our hotel, we in fact not only aim to offer our esteemed guests a very positive experience but where possible, even go as far as aiming to supersede guests’ expectations.

We remain perplexed at the suggestion of staff tips going straight to management as this is definitely not the case. For clarification purposes, departmental tips are in fact collected and periodically distributed between all members of the team and here may we take the opportunity in thanking our esteemed guests at their generosity.

While thanking you for your time in sharing your experience, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked this hotel for my husband and I to visit family in Malta in February. When we arrived at the hotel I was pleasantly surprised with the Solana. Check in was quick and painless with a welcome drink given to us on our arrival. We were shown to our room (on the top floor with a view of the other side of the road) which was clean and spacious. We had booked half board for the week even though our room was provided with self-catering equipment. We tried breakfast twice and it may have been that we were late but the food wasn't brilliant. We also tried the evening meal on the first and second nights and decided not to go back again after that as we were disappointed with the food. The service in the restaurant was great but in my opinion the food was dry and bland.
We also used the indoor pool and jacuzzi once whilst we were staying at the Solana. This area was lovely until the children came in jumping around and screaming (it was half term) so we quietly left and went back to our room. The outdoor pool looked lovely but sadly it was too cold for us to use whilst we were there.
The hotel is in a great location with lots of local amenities surrounding it. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in the local area which is great if you fancy a change of scenery.

Overall, a lovely hotel with great service but a little disappointed with the food. We will use the Solana again when we visit Malta next time but will book room only (it is not expensive to eat out!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that your very first impression of the Solana Hotel & Spa was a very positive one and that you will not hesitate in using our services again in the future.

We however are disappointed to note that your culinary experience was not equally pleasing. Regretfully some three months have passed since your stay with us and hence, we cannot directly investigate what could have hindered your experience. Nonetheless, please rest assured that our Executive Chef and his Team will continue to work hard at constantly offering quality dining experiences.

While looking forward to welcoming you back on board in the future, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lovely hotel.......friendly staff......very clean....we went self catering, which was good and the room was very big and spacious....pool on the roof, not heated takes couple of minutes to adjust to the temperature.....there are lifts to every floor, but if you want to go to the pool there is some steps to the pool......there is a Jacuzzi and pool indoors (never used) and treatments ie spa etc.We never ate at the restaurants as we wanted to taste local restaurants. I would recommend Commandos, if you turn right out of the hotel and down the hill it is on the left, it is excellent as a treat. We went on Charlies discovery speed boat from Golden Bay to Blue Lagoon we went from 4pm £17 per adult, well worth the money...takes you by pope eye village and then onto blue lagoon (if you have walking difficulties-there are many steep steps) he leaves you there for 1.5 hours and picks you back up.....water is crystal clear, turquoise...few jelly fish

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel, as some of the rooms look over the main road and above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillybean6664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a 3 night stay in this hotel, having arranged via the internet to be picked up from the airport by the hotel, we found the trip there a bit daunting, our lady driver would not have passed her test on English roads, but hey ho...
We arrived in one piece, check-in was great, all questions we asked were answered in a very proffesional manner, our room wqas on the 3rd floor, 2 single beds pushed together was i think our only dissapointment, we had a huge terrace over looking the main road, but the room itself along with the hotel was spotlessly clean, we booked half board, and the meals were all fantastic, and would definately go back again, pleasant staff, good food, what more could you ask for ?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MgrPOOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

we have just returned from a week in the wonderful Solana. Everything was just brilliant from the weather to the hotel .I stayed in room 1303 and it was great with everything you could possibly want or need.the food was very good with plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner.all the staff were friendly and helpful at all times, nothing was too much trouble.we discovered that as other reviewers pointed out the buses to the main towns can be full when they reach the stop down the street but we found that If you get any of the buses across the street from the hotel they will take you down to the ferry terminal which is the end of the line for the buses. then you can get on any of the buses at the start of the trip which means empty buses.since you buy a weekly ticket for the pricely sum of 12 euros it wont cost any more to do this and it is worth the little extra time to travel in comfort. I would certainly stay in the Solana again and the people of malta are very friendly.

Room Tip: email the hotel direct and ask their advice on which rooms would be most suitable for your needs, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank irishroseNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Enjoyed a relaxed overnight night stay at this pleasant hotel. We booked a studio apartment as we are a family of 4, including twin teenagers. On arrival we were offered a welcome drink and check in was done quickly. Our room based on the 2nd floor was nicely decorated with twin beds and a sofa bed. Mini fridfge and coffee making facilities found in room. Booked on full board basis and food was good with a good choice. We had a small problem with the sofa bed but the hotel's staff quickly offered to move us to another room or take an additional room for no extra charge. Using the indoor pool with jacuzzi was nice but the Hydro-massage bath in the spa was wonderful. Thanks to all the staff we truly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RabatMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,790 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $57 - $1,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing