We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our break!”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our break!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Chose this hotel as I had been in the area previously. Very comfortable accommodation, hotel exceptionally clean, every area. Only observation, the food in the hotel restaurant was very 'buffet', not very adventurous, limited main choice. We took option from half board to eat in their Italian restaurant - we could not recommend it highly enough, fantastic. Excellent food, service, atmosphere. Ate there 4 nights out of 7.
Plenty of other eating places locally though.
Made great use of island bus service, perfect way to get about and see the whole island.
Really enjoyed our stay, hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming! Thanks for a lovely stay.
Would recommend it.

Room Tip: May wish to select a rear room away from the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elimorScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    755
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Susdsex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I found it on trip advisor and have no complaints. Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble, excellent value. Rooms spacious (although the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable due to springs). Free wifi is only available in the lounge/ lobby which means it can get very crowded in the evenings and could do with a few more chairs. Melieha is a charming little town, but don't go there if you want a bustling nightlife. It is tucked away a bit and takes about an hour on the bus to Valetta, but is perfect for the beaches and for Comino and Gozo. I was sorry to see no more old yellow buses, these were a feature of Malta, but the Ariiva buses are very efficient. get a weekly ticket for 12 Euros and travel anywhere. Don't bother with airport transfer, hop on the bus X1 this goes all the way to Melieha. The terminus (Belle Vue) looks like its in the middle of nowhere, get off there stay at the bus top and a local bus to Cirkewha will take you the three stops down the hill, the bus stop is opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cultured_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent management is in evidence at this hotel, which should serve as a training hotel for the hospitality industry.
We found it to be very clean and marveled at the value for money.
The studio room we enjoyed was large, clean, nicely furnished, well lit with well thought out facilities.
Thank you to all the staff for your good-natured kindness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bloomfield154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, null, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The service was great with very nice and friendly staff. The room was quite spacious and comfortable with a good view of the beach. The food was delicious and had a lot of variety from where to choose from, that you'll get stuffed and still want more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is rated a 4*, but by UK / USA standards it is more like a 3*. That said, we were very pleased with it. There were a few bits of maintenance that need sorting, such as a broken ice box lid, a broken lock on the patio doors. Lighting is poor in the rooms for reading. Breakfast is excellent, with a big choice. Pack up breakfast was awful - no drink, butter but nothing to put it on, and limp lettuce in bland sandwiches. Lovely comfortable rooms, very pleasant reception area. Pools were good, although water too cold to swim in outdoors, and lighting very dim indoors. Our biggest problem was the noise from the live music every night. Not easy getting children to sleep. I also worried that the hotel was right by the road - I could just see a child running straight into the road. Hotel is a short bus ride from a decent beach.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the music as possible - unless you want to join in, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redfibee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that the Solana Hotel & Spa has not met your overall expectations during your recent stay with us.

Please rest assured that we have taken the time to investigate both the maintenance aspects and the breakfast pack incident with the aim of taking all the necessary measures to avoid a future repeat performance.

While thanking you for having taken the time in sharing your experience, we very much trust that this situation has not tarnished your opinion of the Solana Hotel & Spa and will not hesitate in using our services in the future.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at Solana Hotel in Mellieha for 7 days. Great location for touring the island of Malta by bus, also small beach nearby, ferry trip to Gozo from nearby port is a great experience, we went several times, The Solana Hotel is a great place to stay, reasonably priced for the service it offers, we dined most of the time in the Tosca restaurant, found it very competitive with good menu choices, the staff are so friendly & efficient,I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again as we had a most memorable holiday there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

On the 19th of March, we went to Solana for a day day stay. As is the previous stays, the staff made sure we had a very nice relaxing day. The room was clean and everything was in order. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neville183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing