We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is not the first time staying at Solana Hotel & Spa, probably being the 6th / 7th time. In fact we will be staying a short break with our family in the coming weeks.
Being Maltese, this hotel is perfect to relax and unwind. Highly furnished modern rooms, very comfortable equipped with electric kettle, tea & coffee, most rooms equipped with mini kitchenette. Rooms and public areas very clean, and staff very friendly and helpful.
I suggest this hotel for both local and non local prospective residents, give it a shot you won't regret it and very good value for money.
Whenever we need a break, we don't look anywhere else - and we went with friends, or just us two and now together with our family. Solana Hotel & Spa caters for everyone.

Room Tip: Choose a studio room, if possible on the roof, they come with part of the roof quite large and with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed Jan 2013, 7 nts Room only for 2 adults. Booked via TR and specified Standard Room NOT Economy/Promo but on arrival were allocated Rm 1408 which was an internal courtyard room (no view whatsoever). Back to Reception and asked that the booking be adhered to - they then moved us to Rm2203 at the rear of the hotel - no charge and a world of difference. All modern and everything worked. This room change MADE our stay. Hotel in general was excellent, the staff at reception and cafe/bar were a credit to this hotel, Indoor pool looked fine and hot. Only ate at the Italian restaurant of the hotel and was pretty good - cannot comment on breakfast/buffet. One big negative of the nice bar/foyer/cafe was the cost of alcohol especially beer ie E3.40 - E3.70 per 500ml (rough pint). Almost every other bar we were in was E2.40 for same beer. I noticed very few guests drinking alcohol in our hotel - hotels like this need to look at their pricing, they are losing money/trade when their guests are drinking 20 yards away from their hotel. Apart from this - an excellent hotel,recommended and if you're 18/30 avoid Mellieha and stay near Paceville(St. Julians area). PS Yes the front road was incredibly steep and NOISEY - but it really didn't bother us. Lastly rooftop pool area looked fine but only useful in the hot months - great view up here. Best thing about Malta was,for us,was the people - I have seldom met such honest and friendly people, and we have travelled far and wide. Lastly - go uphill 70m Ta Kanaria (Labour Club) - loved this place/staff/locals/food/beer and decor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just returned after a lovely three night break to the Solana Hotel. Amazing value for money in the winter and the hotel and all the staff were great - could not do enough for us. The hotel is right in the heart of Mellieha and ideal for a choice of restaurants and shops (there's not a huge amount as it is quite a small town). Great bus service takes you anywhere on the island and drops you back right across the road from the hotel.
I would recommend Mellieha as an ideal first visit to Malta, but the Solana I would go back to again and again.

Room Tip: We booked one of the studio's on the ground floor and it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nififer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was perfect for our holiday in Malta. I can;t complain about anything, the room was clean, the decoration was a little bit modern, and the location was convenient. There is a bus that passes in front of the hotel, so we were able to go anywhere we wanted with ease. The staff was nice and the area was full of shops, taxi shops, restaurants, everything you will need. The price was fair, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Got a very good price for this 3 night break, when we got to the hotel there was a long queue at check in because a bus load had just landed so we decided to eat first, when we returned the queue had gone. Check in could be quicker because all guests are required to give their name / address etc, not just the main person who made the booking, first time I've noticed this when checking into a hotel. It's not big deal but we were not offered the welcome drink that people have mention but did notice that the couple checking in before had been given a drink.

We were give a room at the block at the rear of the hotel, if you are put here you have to get a lift down to the basement then walk through the winding corridor to another lift, getting to the room can be a little confusing at first and the hotel resembles a rabbit warren but you get used to it after a day.

First impression of the hotel was good, the reception / bar area was nice, however our perception of the hotel changed when we entered the room, it stunk of stale smoke, we opened the balcony door and left the room for a couple of drinks, when we returned the room still stunk. I asked for another room but the only other room available was a non balcony room (promo room) I stayed one night in this room type at the Pergola a few years ago and the experience was not good, on that occasion we were given an apartment after complaining enough. I did not want to stay in a promo room so we decided to put up with the smell since it was only 3 nights. I have read the mangers reply on Trip Advisor to another person who complained of the smell of stale smoke at this hotel, no amount of deodorant sprays will remove the smell as the mangers reponse suggests.

The room also had some minor maintenance issues, the curtains were partially hanging off the curtain rail and it had a rusty old towel rail and door stopper in the bathroom, apart from this the room was clean but I would rate the hotel as a 3 star not 4. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were hard.

The breakfast was good and all the staff were pleasant and professional but I would most likely stay somewhere else next time unless the rooms have had a refurb and the hotel offers non smoking rooms. Used the indoor pool once which was nice.

This was my third stay at Mellieha, always enjoyed my time here but if you want a lot of night life then this is not the place for you. The buses are great to get you around, cheap at €2.60 per day

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have just returned from a 11 night stay at solana hotel and spa and I have to say I really enjoyed my stay there. The hotel room was cleaned every day and towels were changed regularly. The staff where friendly and were very helpful. The hotel had wifi, it was a bit expensive to get from reception but if you buy any drink from the bar where drinks were reasonably priced you could get an hours free internet with every drink. Malta's weather can be a bit cool in january so having the use of the heated pool was a big plus and at this time of year it wasn't busy. There is a shop across the road which opens late and can provide you with all any snacks coffees and toiletries that you might need. The bus stop is a few minutes walk from the hotel where buses can bring you to valletta and from there you can go anywhere else you choose on the island if you don't mind don't mind doing a bit of bus hopping and at 2.60 pp for a day pass i didn't mind at all. Across the road from the bus stop is the tourist office and and just around the corner from the tourist office were underground war rooms which was reasonable and I thought worth the visit. Overall really enjoyed my stay and Malta and the hotel and it's staff were excelllent. Yes I would got back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dublin_travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from having 3 weeks in the Solana. Our room was light and airy, well cleaned on a daily basis and if the towels were left on the floor, they were replaced. The staff were all friendly especially Maria, who worked in the Bellini restaurant, she catered for my gluten-free diet admirably and I ate well. Jessica, who worked in the Tosca restaurant was also a gem as was Amarise who worked in Cafe Puccini. We found the situation of the Hotel to be good with a bus-stop positioned opposite although we found we walked down the hill to the main bus stop. All in all, we consider we had a very good experience and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: When booking on-line select a standard room, you should get one with a window/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,064 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,912 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $74 - $1,269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing