We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - excellent value.”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel - excellent value.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just spent first week of December at the Solano Hotel. This 4 star hotel offers excellent room accommodation and spa/fitness facilities, with breakfast included, at a price that's hard to beat. Bar and restaurant offer good value too. Also well placed for a number of good quality restaurants within 2 minutes walk. Not by the sea and located on a steep hill, so it will not suit everyone, but we thought it was great. Local buses are great for seeing the island and exploring its history.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the road which passes directly in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn5376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    755
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

An excellent Hotel ,Great staff,comfortable and a great area,would recomend to friends and will stay again,and thank you to Derek the Bar Manager he gave the extra sparkle to the stay Babs and Brian Cornwall

Room Tip: Just ask the helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We read some good reviews about The Solana Hotel and decided to book.
As we checked in, a receptionist gave us a key and information, but our room was not ready so she took the key back. We had to wait about 1 hour and 45minutes. We asked again, the receptionist had forgotten that we were waiting even though we were in the reception area within eye sight. Our room was ready for a while but she didn’t let us know. She said that it was the first day for her working in the hotel. Another receptionist later also said that it was her second day of working at the hotel….?

The room seemed clean, the kitchenette looked ok and there was a balcony. Unfortunately there was a damp smell throughout this basement room. Towels never dried all day and the same with the bathroom walls, we had to have new dry towels every day. Our clothes and things became damp and wet (including books and papers), we needed to dry our clothes each time we used them with the hair drier. Beds were damp and cold, we didn’t look forward to getting into bed every night. The smells and cold kept us up in the night, the smell was of damp plaster with a drain smell also which came from the bathroom. We both started coughing and had tight chests each morning, we also had headaches as well so we were taking paracetamol for these. In total we spent 5 nights in the basement room but decided we had had enough and told the hotel staff that we need to change our room, by then the room walls were getting visibly wet and blue/green mould patches were prominent. We asked one of the hotel staff to inspect the room and she agreed that we should change to another room. We finally changed to another room the next day but we had to spend some hours moving our things. Consequently we couldn’t join the tour that we were planning that day. The new room was drier than the previous one but the day after there was a water leak from the bathroom ceiling. Someone came to fix the problem which took him five hours until 22:20. We couldn’t go out for dinner but stayed in the room waiting as we wanted to clean things in the bathroom after the work. We were told that the repair work was completed, but soon found out that we now had no hot water all night, it was very unreasonable but had to wait till the morning.

There were a couple more water leaks after the repair work on different days and each time there were different reasons as to why. We really had enough and we decided not to report anything anymore as it was just wasting our time. By the way, the previous room with damp problems was already being used by other guests even though there was a serious health hazard in that room and the hotel staff had acknowledged it. If other guests were staying just for a few days, they might not notice anything, just as we didn’t want to complain too much at the beginning of our stay.

A duty manager called Sharon tried to help as much as she could (she did all she could under the circumstances), but continuous problems kept coming. We lost so much time trying to sort out various problems and it was getting very tiring and we were getting more fed up.

The cleaners and some other staff were very helpful but if the hotel didn’t have all these problems in the first place then we wouldn’t have needed to ask for their help so much and complain.

If you are not mobile or fit, you are better to stay in the main building where the room numbers start from 1***, (numbers starting with 2*** are in the new building and you have to walk a long way to get to your room). One of the two lifts in the main building was out of use most of our stay there which for a large hotel like the Solana is not good enough.

This hotel is no more than a 2* hotel and definitely not a 4*.
A totally exhausting experience in the SOLANA HOTEL, we will NEVER go back there again!

Don’t let this put you off Mellieha as place to stay because it really is a very nice place to be and near to the Gozo ferry, and connected by many bus routes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eric617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry to hear that the Solana Hotel & Spa has on this occasion failed to offer the quality holiday experience, it is renowned at offering to its esteemed guests.

As explained by your good self, our Duty Manager has done her best endeavours not only to resolve the maintenance issue as it was happening but also at investigating a number of aspects that have led to this occurrence, in an attempt to ensure that possibly such a situation will not re-occur again in the future.

While extending to you our sincerest apologies, we very much hope that albeit this experience, you will not hesitate in using the services of the Solana Hotel & Spa in the future. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to contact us directly where we shall ensure that our most advantageous package and best of quality service are offered to you.

Yours truly,


Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

had a lovely time in the solana hotel, staff really friendly, beautiful rooms with a welcome bottle of wine and fruit, indoor jacuzzi and gym were great too, id recommend having the breakfast as it offers a wide variety of choice

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Visited the Solana in early November was a little concerned about reading about rooms with no outside window and there are quite a few but we had a balcony the size of the room was great we were self catering and had a kind of cupboard that had a small sink combination microwave two rings plenty of pots pans etc. great for breakfasts and lunch. The only minus was one of the lifts (there are two) was out of order for a week and a half surely it could have been repaired in a couple of days, it just left a poor impression, the second minus I happened to be in the lift one day with two members of staff who were obviously having an argument in front of a guest is a no no. As said there is a bus stop outside we got a weekly pass and made full use of it travelling all over the island, the maps provided by Arrive make it easy plus if a bit stuck any one will help. It is nice to see younger people standing for others with mobility issues wish it happened in the UK. If you want to get around this is the option to choose buses are frequent and go everywhere. Favourite places Rabat and Mdina, also Hagar Qim

Room Tip: Second a third floors are above ground so mote chance of outside area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen-Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Solana Hotel & Spa and for the feedback you have shared with us.

At the Solana Hotel & Spa we take pride in offering our guests a high level of hospitality service and we very much regret that you had to endure a less than professional occurrence, when taking the elevator with members of our team. Please rest assured that this incident is being well investigated by parties concerned.

Where the elevator malfunction is concerned, we regret the delay, however it is worth noting that the situation was very much beyond our control as relevant parts had to be shipped from overseas. Since all floors are serviced by an alternative elevator, adjacent to one incurring maintenance issues, we were not under the impression that this situation was an inconvenience to our esteemed guests.

While thanking for having chosen the Solana in the first place, we very much hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here in a room only basis for the amazing price of £89.00 for a week!
The hotel was great, very clean, lovely staff and great facilities.Hospitality tray so no need to take your tea and coffee
Had we have paid any where the normal price I wouldn't have been so happy and I am writing this review for those that are considering a stay here.
The only down side to this hotel was the dreadful noise from the road. It was deafening and constant day and night. We could not have the balcony doors open as you couldn't hear yourself speak.
As for Melliha.. there are nicer parts of Malta however if do you find your self here be sure to visit the Bouquet Garni just up the hill. Really, there is no better place to eat and the hospitality is fantastic. Set meal 18 euros and beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelaholic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

stayed for 1 week late november,on a b and b basis ,after initial mix up of giving us an inner room we were then allocated our standard balcony room as booked,the balcony was very small and overlooked a quiet street and houses at the back of the hotel,but to get to the room we had to take the lift from reception level 0 down to level minus 2, walk 30 metres along a corridor to another lift and take this to level 2 which over the week was a bit of a nuisance. the room was very nice though,large with table and chairs,fridge, ample wardrobe space and lovely bathroom with shower over bath. the room servicing was daily and very good, the staff were very cheerful and customer friendly,breakfasts had lots of choice and decent quality. in house coffee house was good but did not try the in house restaurant which is open nightly. over all we enjoyed our stay at bthe solana

Room Tip: ask for a front of hotel room if you dont mind looking over the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing