We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
bucks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have just come back from the Solana Hotel and had a very good time, this is a good medium size hotel. The last week in March was a good time to go as there were not many tourists so the hotel was quiet and the weather had just turned and the sun was shining. The outdoor pool was even open and it was nice to sit round. It was a bit too cold for me to get in but some people were brave. We went self catering which was brilliant as you got to use the facilities at the hotel and experience some of the very good restaurants in the local area.
The room was large and very clean.
My only issues with the hotel was that the indoor pool was cold, so again i could not swim but the boys used it every day. Also take some ear plugs, this is a typical mediteranian style hotel, lots of marble so very noisy.The girls on reception were very helpful and friendly.
This was one of the few holidays i have come away from and enjoyed as everything was of a good standard.
There is also some very nice walks from this hotel, we walked to Popeye's village in half an hour and Golden Bay in an hour. The start of the walk is on the road but when you get to the coast you can take the coastal paths.

Room Tip: we were near reception so it was a bit noisy with phones ringing and the noisy evening entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    755
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

There are many good reviews on here and they are true. It is a modern well run hotel, excellent staff and facilities. We stayed in Mid March and the weather was just warming up after a poor winter. We had room 1416 which is on the 2nd floor of the main hotel, It was large, very clean, included twin beds which were very comfortable and a sofa bed and the 'in wardrobe kitchen'. Good shower over the bath. We did have a balcony but it overlooked adjacent balconies and didn't get any sun at this time of year. It didn't bother us as we were right by the stairs and one floor up was the roof top swimming pool and sun deck with views towards church and the sea.
We had singers on at least 3 evenings. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was good with on request omelettes lovingly produced by Sandro.
A number of groups were using the hotel so breakfast was a little busy early on.
We tried the a la carte restaurant one night, the food was good although the kitchen seemed very slow, the waitress(Susan) was excellent and tried her best to smooth over the problem, and it was very good value. We also ate out several times at Bouquet Garni (50 yards up hill) and Ta Peter (opposite), both very good.
We used Easyjet and hired a car via holiday autos, this was provided by Avis from the airport. I strongly recommend that anyone hiring a car on Malta should take photos of any damage at pick up in case you are charged for this later, as was our experience. Luckily we had photos and were able to prove the damage was not done by us.
Overall an excellent value for money holiday

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel which would be noisy as on the main road, and higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I am a bit late with this review....
We stayed at the Solana in October 2011 on a self-catering deal, holiday & flights via Easyjet. We had packed our stuff for a late summer holiday - you know; loads of sunshine, in & out of the roof-top pool, on the beach, swimming in the Med, etc.. Unfortunately the weather took a turn for the worse about three days in so we ended up a bit short of warm clothing. Not to worry - not the hotel's fault.
The Solana is a nice hotel on the main street through Mellieha, which is a bit of a steep hill (for those who don't know the area) running all the way down through the village to the bay & beach and beyond to the Gozo ferry. The local buses stop just outside for the ferry and going the other way to Valetta, Bugibba, etc.. So it's a good location for getting around the island via the local bus service and, at the same time, being a great location for a relativley quiet, relaxing holiday.
The hotel is well turned out and well maintained. It has a pleasant bar-cafe, decent restaurant & dining room and a comfortable lobby where you can pass the time watching the rain battering down outside while necking down a couple of beers., The indoor pool in the basement is okay but had a bit too much chlorine for our liking and not much in the way of changing facilities, chairs, etc.. There are lovely views from the roof which is a great sun trap and obviously a superb spec in the summer, if a bit cramped. The sunloungers were a bit 'tired' and in need of a bit of a refurb. The roof-top pool is a bit small but perfectly adequate for cooling off and lolling about.
Did not sample the hotel food during our stay - the 'kitchenette in a cupboard' did the job when needed. Apart from a bit of breakfast each day, cups of tea and coffee, etc. we usually ate out. There was a fridge in the kitchenette for keepng basic supplies - milk, beer, wine, and the odd pasty or two. What more do you need?
Our room on the top floor was 'internal'. It was a good size and comfortable.The small balcony was in a light well, not on the outside. Okay as far as it went but there are air conditioning units at the bottom of the well which make a racket all day and all night. It was impossible to sit out on the balcony without ear-plugs - which we did not have. So a bit of a minus point there.
It's also worth noting that the lighting in the room was fairly low level, not really bright enough for reading comfortably at night. I suppose we could have asked for a couple brighter bulbs or a reading light but we were outdoors more than we were in the room, so we didn't bother.

We have been to Malta umpteen times and love the place. It is changing, slowly but surely. The old buses have gone and there's building work and redevelopments everywhere.

Mellieha is a great base for a holiday with plenty of bars, cafes & restaurants. It is not 'in your face'. I recommend paying a visit to the recently refurbished Labour Club, just up the hill from the hotel opposite 'Champs' pie shop. Tourists are welcome, the drinks are cheap and the food (lunches, snacks and main meals) very good. The restaurant in the club is actually called "Ta Canana". It's very easy to miss the place or think it's closed. Push the door and go in - you won't be disappointed. It's well frequented by the locals - which says it all. The Band Club up near the church off the village square is also good.

The village has managed to keep much of its charm despite 'progress'. We like the place. There are some great walks around the area and the beach down the road is the biggest in Malta. Walk down hill, stop at Stan's Cafe for a shandy, have a swim and get a bus back.

It's worth visiting the undergrond WW2 air raid shelters near the church and also the tuna fishing museum down near the beach.

There's loads to see and do in Malta if you like a bit of history & culture. The locals are friendly, cheerful, speak English and like the Brits. We will be back again.

The Solana is a good hotel if you are not looking for luxury. Well-placed and modern with helpful staff. Give it a go..... and if you don't like your room ask to be moved.

Room Tip: A bit noisy on the street side of the hotel due to traffic. There's an annexe block too, across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosado99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Upon arriving at the Solana we were greeted with a lovely hotel lobby decorated to a really high standard. The staff at reception were friendly and welcoming. We were given our room key and advised on the location of it. We stayed on a self-catering basis.
We ventured up to our room and were relatively impressed, it appeared comfortable and spacious. Our room had a kind of inside balcony, we did request a balcony so sort of happy there, We did also request a sea view which we were told wasn't possible (why offer it then). The kitchenette was neatly hidden away in a kind of dresser. There was an electric hob, a toaster, a sink (with washing up liquid and sponge) and a small fridge with a freezer compartment complete with ice tray. It was well stocked with plates, cutlery, pots and utensils.
Housekeeping did a great job everyday. Once we used the kitchenette they decided were were to clean up after ourselves and didn't receive any further fresh cups or glasses. This maybe standard and we coped fine with it.
The hotels roof top pool was unheated but we enjoyed sunbathing next to it on the sun loungers. The roof top bar wasn't open, we were told it is only open during the summer. We were allowed to buy drinks to take up with us.
The basement gym, jacuzzi and pool were nice, not massively warm but completely usable. We enjoyed taking advantage of these facilities.

Our first night was a Sunday and we arrived fairly late. As a result of this many of the local restaurants were closed we did find the Master Wok about 3 doors up the hill which was a great Chinese restaurant.

The front desk was very helpful in dealing with any of our queries be it by calling down from the room or when we passed through. They booked us on both of the day trips we took. But the only problem we had was that when you take a trip to Gozo the ferry is free to get over there but you have to pay to return, this wasn't made clear to us which we did feel the need to complain about. The issue was not resolved but we couldn't be bothered arguing further.

The area surrounding the hotel was great. There was a bus stop right outside going down the hill, super convenient. To go the other way I recommend taking a bus down to the bottom of the hill near the beach for the best connections as only the 41 (to and from Valletta) was allowed to travel in both directions on the street, all the other buses can run down hill. Walk down the hill about 3 mins and you reach a restaurant called Ta'Randi - by far the best atmosphere and the nicest hostess you could wish for.
Go back up the hill and follow the main road you will find other bars and restaurants including Reflections: a kind of sports bar serving food, with a pool table.
Cross Keys; a fantastic restaurant we chose to dine at twice. (they even let us take home the pizza we couldn't finish).

Room Tip: Avoid front road facing rooms as the traffic cant be very noisy. And the inner facing balconys had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunandStarsVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A good hotel, helpful staff, nice studio apartment. The hotel (not tour operators) holds a welcome meeting one evening per week with snacks and wine. As with any welcome meeting they want to sell trips, spa services, etc. However there was no hard sell and every guest is spoken to and asked if everything is to their satisfaction and whether there is anything the hotel can do to make the holiday better. I have never experienced this at any other hotel. It suggests that they want to provide a good service and they do!

Room Tip: If you have an issue, tell reception, we only had a couple of minor issues but they were sorted out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mij_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We arrived the day after one of the worst storms the island has had, so not the warmest start!

Our room was clean and tidy, unfortunately the air-con didn't do a great job of keeping the room warm, but after a call to reception, the maintenance guy checking the system, and then eventually Ekaterina on reception brought us up a portable heater, and all was sorted.

We stayed self-catering, so that we could pick and choose our meals. There's a couple of supermarkets and stores right opposite the hotel for provisions, and a number of really good restaurants nearby.

The a la carte restaurant in the hotel served great food - we ate there a couple of times because the food was that good.

If you just fancy a snack (or a coffee and a pastry in the morning), visit the cafe/bar and order something from Ruby Anne - she's a real diamond.

We do recommend you check out the Spa facilities - the staff are superb and the prices are very reasonable - perfect to help you relax and enjoy your holiday.

We're not usually ones to hang out in the hotel bar, but the evening entertainment was that good, you felt compelled to listen.

We will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L0tusBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m/cr
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

absolutely reccomend this hotel if you are staying in mellieha,food was superb with a good choice and all staff were very pleasant,room was fantastic too.
with regard to smoking,we smoke but realise other people do not and fully understand not being able to smoke in public places,we did not smoke in our room and went onto our balcony even in cold wet weather so as not to have it linger in a room that was to be used by others.
not all smokers are anti-social cretins.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tsilivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing