We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have been coming here since the hotel was built. The staff welcome us every time as if we are their family returning home.
Eating is great in any of the food outlets. Flavours provides the eating experience, with the other restuarant's providing choice and quality. Portions are on the large side so do not be afraid to have starter size as the main course. Good value and good company.
Malta has a cheap bus service to get around the island.
Fontanellas cake shop is a must for cake, coffee and excellent views across the island.
Cordinas is also the place to be for fine food and wine if visiting Valletta

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at the Golden Sands. We are happy to read that all went well for you during your stay. Receiving a positive review such as yours is always of great pleasure for us to read.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,742
    940
    271
    83
    47
See reviews for
1,486
1,951
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is largely a high quality décor and furnished hotel, as might be expected of such a famous brand; however, there were some ‘tired’ areas (and a bit of ‘tatty-patchwork’ and dirty tiles in our bathroom). Reception staff are very welcoming but they are stymied by the poor resort information they have to work with – hotel layout details are of a juvenile standard and there were no maps available of the surrounding area, a beautiful, if not remote location? This is definitely NOT the winter attraction promoted by the marketers – it is too isolated with insufficient and poorly supervised indoor facilities and a very complex transport system? There is a choice of restaurants but the price range is very wide from value for money to exorbitant! Maybe it IS best in summer but there again, I remain unconvinced that the inconsistent standard of service – excepting one very brilliant waiter – could be lifted during a much busier period?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food in the Aglioglio restaurant and coffee in the Mokka bar were first class. The setting on one of the few sandy beaches in Malta is very beautiful. Unfortunately the hotel itself is made of three wide, though not overly tall, blobs that really don't fit where they've been placed. We went on a "we'd like to sell you a timeshare so have a room really cheap' offer and that made it amazing value.

Room Tip: Sea view is best by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddicksAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Quality of room was good, food selection pretty good compared to other areas in the Island Very helpful staff, very clean. Think that this hotel is probably one of the best in Malta and is nicely out of a town centre environment, well worth considering

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank dhelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Golden Sands and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Came to Malta as a last minute choice for son Neils 21st never been before.
Arrived in evening and was very impressed as we approched the hotel.Had a lovely reception and made to feel welcome.staff warm and freindly nothing is to much trouble service is great.food and loads of choice.local bus service top notch travel on ticket all day evening service not included.veiws from our room overlooking the sea amazing.would definiteley come back again and recomend to family and freinds.They have a guest liason manager very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elm077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Radisson Blu in Malta Golden Sands is a lovely hotel located in Golden Bay which is in the North of the Island. The hotel offers spectacular views of the Bay and of the surrounding countryside.The hotel caters for all types of people whether you are on business or just on holiday with your loved ones.The service was five star and the facilities were excellent.The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and every room is en-suite with a balcony.There is an indoor and outdoor pool and there is also a spa if you want to be pampered.All the restaurants in the hotel offer five star cuisine but if you are on a budget I would reccomend the Italian restaurant.I also reccomend the Mokka Bar which offers delicious snacks and drinks where you can sit down, relax and enjoy the beautiful views of Golden Bay.I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is seeking a little bit of luxury for their holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charliebrown2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kildare
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have a holiday appt quite close so we spend a good deal of time in Malta and decided to treat ourselves to a night here. We enjoyed our one night here for New Years Eve, our room was lovely and had great views overlooking the sea. I liked the recycling bin in the room that's an excellent idea and I hope more hotels adopt this. As we had booked a sea view room it was more expensive so I would have expected some biscuits to go with our tea or some complimentary water. We had dinner as part of our New Year package and overall it was good but you could tell the staff were under pressure so the service was not as good as it should have been. We waited a long time to sign for our bill and eventually gave up and left as it was perilously close to midnight and we did not want to ring in the New Year while in a large queue. Breakfast the next morning was ok the food was nice once you got to it but again the queues were huge. I had lost my appetite while queuing for the hot food and we could not get anywhere near the bread section so gave up. While we were checking out there were 2 separate groups complaining about the breakfast queues so it was an issue felt by a number of people. When you pay a lot for an overnight stay and dinner you expect to be able to relax and enjoy them, you don't expect to spend the time queuing. Another issue is parking its a total nightmare so would I go back? I am not sure.. too many issues need addressing

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the New Years day breakfast queues. We have operated in this way with no issues in the past and were in fact overwhelmed during breakfast due to one fact which is that the majority of guests arrived at more or less the same time. This has not been the norm in the past. Notwithstanding what was done in the past I would like to inform you that next year we will utilise other hotel space within Sands Tower serving breakfast and I am sure this will eradicate the problem that we had with Breakfast seating this year.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,469 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Rezidor, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing