We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sparkling Mediterrenean jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A sparkling Mediterrenean jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

True excellence in comfort, accomodation and hospitality - a sparkling diamond set on an island full of history and culture. Overlooking one of the prettiest bays of the island the Hotel offers a unique holiday experience.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Franz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,704
    926
    268
    82
    47
See reviews for
1,475
1,919
75
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The resort has kept its standards up and the staff are just as good as they always have been. Because of the cost of air fares came a day early and the staff were most helpful in transferring us from the overnight room to our apartment, where we were staying for two weeks.
We do have s sea view apartment and the sunsets on some days have been fantastic. The house keeping service is really excellent and cannot be faulted at all.

We mostly self cater although we had a meal in Flavours with Maltese friends and we all thought the meal was excellent. We were given time to talk over the meal and not rushed. Also went into the Mokka bar twice with another friend and soaked up the atmosphere on the terrace.

The hotel is not isolated as will be seen on most weekends when the Maltese come to the area for leisure. However, do feel a car is necessary to explore all the out of way places that the bus does not visit.

Took the small ferry to Comino and had a walk on the largely uninhabited island. Or you can drive the 5 miles to St Paul's Bay, look over to the island where St Paul was shipwrecked and then walk around the bay to the new Aquarium

There is an English Anglican Church and a Church of Scotland/Methodist Church in Valletta.

Timeshare works for us as we come here for two weeks relaxation, still find new places to explore and catch up with friends we have made on the island since coming here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Merrywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for posting your excellent review on TripAdvisor.
It is of great satisfaction to read when staff efforts are acknowledged by our guests, I will definitely share your comments with the entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is my second visit to the Radisson using timeshare exchanges.
The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated.
Lighting in the large bathroom is somewhat dim but everything else is of good standard.
The swimming pools are very nice and there are lots of nice areas with sun loungers.
I tried two restaurants in the hotel.
Agliolio had very nice pasta which I thoroughly enjoyed but service must rate as the slowest I have ever experenced. On a second visit my wife and I left as no-one was willing to take our order or our order for drinks.
Flavours is another restaurant in the hotel offering a fixed price buffet style meal.
We found this wonderful.
Freshly prepared food and a wide choice of high quality foods, including baked fish and carvery roasts. A wide selection of delicious salads and seafood appetisers. Plates were cleared quickly and this restaurant had a very nice ambience with very polite and friendly staff. Quite a contrast from Agliolio and find this difficult to comprehend unless these two restaurants have different owners i.e. Franchised perhaps. Flavours is defintely worth trying, Agliolio if you have a plan B like do without dinner ( as we did ) or if you know of Munchies just off the premises - we discovered next day.
Parking was difficult near the hotel or apartment entrances.
There is no "10 minute check-in parking" for arrivals with luggage as every space available seems to be permanently filled even zones marked as keep clear. Parking in the large public park is possible but not what you would expect on arrival, especially when dark and raining, with luggage or young children in tow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Radisson Golden Sands. I am delighted to read that your stay was a pleasant one and that we have exceeded your expectations. As far as your remark regarding service, I would like to reassure you that your comments about these matters has been brought to the attention of our Food & Beverage Manager for further actions and improvements.
I Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

All the usual 5* luxury one would expect with a bonus of a fantastic location. But added to the hotel, the surroundings are the amazing with staff who cannot do enough for their guests. Commendations go especially to Henri, front of house & Louis the restaurant waiter. Both were extremely helpful & kind. Guests really don't have to leave the hotel... Yes it is that good but if you do, the city of Valletta, the market in Marsaxlokk & the church in Mellieha are must sees.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have now visited the Golden Sands three times and whilst we love exploring the world, this is our refuge for a weeks relaxation. With it's own beach, 3 outdoor and 1 indoor pools, gym, tennis courts and some great restaurants, there is plenty to do here without leaving the area. The staff are all so attentive and nothing is a hassle for them. The restaurants have a good array of options at various pricing scales and the breakfasts are absolutely fantastic. For those wanting to eat outwith the complex, within easy walking distance Munchies is a great option and Apples Eye is useful for a cheap snack. This is a hotel that has timeshare apartments as part of it but this shouldn't put you off as you shouldn't get the hard sell to sign up (and you might just want to do it after a week of relaxing here.)

Room Tip: Would strongly recommend going for a sea view - fantastic in all three towers and worth paying a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidso78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is not the first time we have been to this hotel and, as always, it was a magnificent experience. It is in a superb location in the north of the island but still in easy reach of the main towns by the local buses which are frequent. The hotel itself has maintained its standards and these are adhered to by all the staff from the general manager downwards. Nothing is too much for anyone and the staff go out of their way to be helpful.
There is a private beach which is ideal for children to play on as well as having water based activities for adults. On site there are swimming pools - both indoors and outside which are maintained in excellent condition and, if you wish to be pampered there is the Myoka Spa which has a wide variety of treatments as well a hairdressing salon. There is also a mini-gym for those who wish to maintain their fitness levels.

There are several restaurants on site which cater for all tastes and the food is prepared to a high standard by the team of chefs at the Radisson.
The apartments and rooms are kept immaculate and the house keeping staff are friendly and discreet and, in common with all the other staff can not do enough to help you.

If you are visiting for the first time you can take advantage of the many trips that are available and can be booked within the hotel.

Children are well catered for with an animation team that put on many activities according to age.

We have been to Golden Bay on many occasions both as a couple and have taken family and friends. All have enjoyed the experience and we have already started to countdown to our next holiday there in the spring of 2014!

Room Tip: Try a higher room to get better overall views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Min607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that your stay was a pleasant one. Our team, on a daily basis work’s hard to maintain the service level’s expected and we are delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Last week we went to eat ALIOGLIO and we enjoyed service with nice smile and ready to help you and fantastic pizza we had calzone that was amazing like dessert looking forward to come back and highly reccomended to experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juvemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,416 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing