We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice vacation in Malta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice vacation in Malta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This resort is a very nice and pleasant possibility for a vacation. Sandy beach, inner and outside swimmimg pool, towels for free. Very good food and possibility of different restaurants. We've taken our holday in the middle of September. Warm sea, not too many people, hisorical cities near for a nice visit, by bus, taxi, or by a rented car. Good service and nice and hlepfull staff.
Really a very nice 1 week holiday.

Room Tip: There are different rooms also some with kitschen corner, so you can choose a room according your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludevit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,670
    907
    265
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,463
1,887
74
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week and the children absolutely loved it. A family friendly hotel, special games room for the children, they had pizza making classes, crèche. We had a two bed apartment, spacious and clean. On one of the days, they had a fire drill and had to evacuate the hotel, timing wasn't ideal but understandable it had to be done. Overall, excellent and will recommend it to anyone visiting Malta for your first experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review regarding your stay with us at the Radisson Golden Sands. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

we went for a week under the azure promotion with no intention of getting sucked into a time share. the hotel was certainly luxurious and the staff very pleasant. Even with the 20% off voucher a part of the deal we found the food and beverages to be rather pretentious in their pricing. Our room was clean, the bed saggy and the bed linen rather tired. Although there is a TV there was no TV guide, so whenever knew what we would be watching. The evening entertainment was appalling, so TV was required. We had a country view, overlooking the scout camp, rather surprised to hear a rendition of 'Living Next Door to Alice', swearing included, and very perturbed to hear gunshots on a not infrequent basis--Rabbit is a national dish.

The bus service is pretty cheap 12 Euro for a week's travel, but the buses finish quite early, and the Hotel is quite remote. We had a kitchenette in our room, and shopped at a local supermarket as the Deli in the hotel sells a bizarre range of food at extortionate prices. we got our drinking water from a van on the road leading to the beach as it was a lot cheaper. When eating out we loved The Apple's Eye, a very short walk from the hotel and fantastic value for money. For snacks, Munchies, on the beach itself was good value for money.

The timeshare presentation itself was excruciating, and the offer just didn't make financial sense. No way would I buy into a hotel on a cliff that crumbles; we noticed a very large crack, floor to ceiling on the ground floor.

Although the hotel was lovely to look at, the staff lovely, the sea view magnificent we wont sty there again. We weren't wanting to waft and glide, eat overpriced meals and listen to crap music. Malta has so much more to offer, and the next time we visit we will go somewhere more central. after all, why go all that way to sit in a hotel?

Room Tip: go for a room with a kitchenette, but avoid the deli
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deirdrebaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Radisson Blu resort at Golden Sands is simply the best experience you could have on holiday in Malta in terms of quality, value , relaxing, location , surroundings , people , friendliness , it's just a great place to go and holiday. nothig more to say. I have stayed there for the last four years running and will be visiting every year from now on.

Room Tip: the higher the better with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balancedview205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us at the Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Golden Sands. I am delighted to read that your stay was a pleasant one and that we have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next stay at the resort.

Kidn Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic week at the Radisson Blu - Golden Sands hotel i Malta. What a fantastic week. The Hotel was spotless, the food fantastic and ALL the staff were fantastic, friendly and polite. Other hotels should adopt this standard and then we would have no complaints. (Sorry someone would always complain as part of their nature). I called our holiday a 'Fantastic week in Paradise' Thank you for looking after my husband and I so well.

Room Tip: there are various types of rooms from studios with kitchenette to penthouse suites depending on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanpedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that your stay was a pleasant one. Our team, on a daily basis work’s hard to maintain the service level’s expected and we are delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went here as part of a timeshare offer, with our two year old son. The timeshare presentation is amusing to be honest as they don't quite have an offer that makes financial sense! Not high pressure and a good way for a cheap deal providing you are happy to give up 3 hours or so to listen to the patois. Hotel is pretty remote, but buses run all the time to main sightseeing places and are very reasonable. They also provide baby seats in taxis and buses which is great for those with small kids. Hotel itself is pleasant. Not a five star but a good four. Rooms are nice, large and pretty modern. Balconies could do with a face lift. Restaurants were good. The Italian downstairs was good for us with a toddler. We did the fish restaurant on the last night which was stunning. Service was okay in all places. Wouldn't rave about it. Spa gets a bad review as the one day it rained they wouldn't let children go in the pool, which was just super tight. Also, bit annoying having to use it instead of extended checkout or courtesy room, especially as there is no unisex area. Resort Pools were good, but did look like the grout needed a damn good scrubbing in places. All in all, a good place to go for a relaxing, sunny, reasonably priced short haul.

Room Tip: Only a certain percentage had self catering facilities and baths so do check beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharingisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Radisson Blu Golden Sands and had a brilliant time we have stayed there for the last five years and have already booked our visit again next year we have never had any reason to complain, ok the parking at times was a bit of a wait but it is only because the hotel is so popular. The staff are always happy to make you welcome and go over and above to make your stay amazing we would recommend the Radisson to anyone from couples to families for a fabulous holiday Tommy&Carol Devine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommydevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Golden Sands and that you would recommend the hotel to others as well. Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
6.5 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing