We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having just returned from the Radisson Malta at Golden Bay, I must say how excellent the holiday was. It was made excellent by the staff at the hotel, especially those employed in the Mocca Bar. The entire experience was superb and we will return again and again.

Room Tip: None at all, they are all first class.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHARLIEMAIDSTONEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for posting your positive comments about your recent stay at The Golden Sands. I will definitely share your comments with all departments and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,303)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,770 - 2,776 of 4,303 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Golden Sands. Excellent facilities and staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble for them. Chris our rep went the extra mile and took us shopping on our first day. The hotel itself is a little isolated but this was not a problem as the service of the local transport was excellent and cheap. Loads to see in Malta and is full of history.
Would highly recommend this hotel. Thanks to all staff for a thoroughly wonderful holiday. Can't wait to go back next year

Room Tip: Had country view but lots activity going on there. It was not a problem for us
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Good afternoon,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about our staff. I will pass on your comments to Chris and we look forward to your next visit at the Radisson Blu Resort & Staff Golden Sands.

Best Regards,

Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Resort is located in a unique location overlooking a beautiful sandy beach, whilst also enjoying country views. Our apartment was in Sunset Tower, so true to it's name as every evening you experience a beautiful sunset from your private terrace, enjoying a glass of wine. Pity that glass supplied is not a proper wine glass ! The service at the resort is excellent and food and beverage department are most efficient with Room Service. The same can be said for the hospitality one experiences on entering the Member's Lounge, with Henri being a perfect host, knowing all the guests and seeing to their various needs with a genuine smile Apartment good sized & nicely set out, however disappointed that bathroom linen is rationed to only one towel per person for the day. Would expect better from a 5 star resort. The gym also needs looking into with machines out of order for a whole week, and would expect to find a trainer to advise you which machine to use. Apart from the housekeeping and gym our stay was a great experience. Would recommend.

Room Tip: I think Sunset Tower has the best views and rooms there are so much quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is set well away from any town right on Golden Bay in the far western corner of Malta. Opened in 2005 by Her Majesty, the Queen, it is made up of three blocks overlooking the bay. It has its own sandy beach and there is a public beach next to it. Lovely hotel with friendly staff.

There are 3 restaurants and a bar all serving very good food. We liked the Italian restaurant Agliolio, be warned, the portions are very generous - excellent pastas and pizzas. Essence restaurant is excellent, beautiful views for alfresco dining in the evening. There is a restaurant with themed dining every night - Mexican,Spanish, Asian etc, buffet style.

There are a couple of restaurants near the public beach serving simple fayre mainly pastas and pizzas and local dishes. Rabbit stew is very popular in Malta.

Happy hour at the bar 6 - 7 every evening. Sit outside to enjoy the beautiful sunset.

Breakfast is very good indeed - champagne, eggs any way to order, full English and continental fayre.

Just beware of "country view" rooms ie facing the car park, a rustic activity centre for youngsters and shrubland. Rooms are comfortable but the pillows are extremely uncomfortable - a huge rectangular block of polyester foam. They did supply feather & down ones on request. I think it's a common complaint at the hotel.

There are 2 outdoor pools; one for hotel timeshare members and an indoor pool. This was our only complaint - pool area is simply too busy and you could hardly have a swim with too many people and children in them. Very noisy as well. Probably better off peak season.

The bus stop is a few metres away which is very convenient for trips to nearby towns and the cities. Bus fares are very cheap and the buses are run by Arriva - very efficient and punctual.

Very good harbour cruise and there's plenty to see and do in Malta. Full of history with the British connection.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view. Forget the country view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth year here as members and can't speak highly enough of this beautiful hotel. It is definitely the best we have been to and there have been many over the years. As mentioned by other reviewers, nothing is too much trouble. The staff go out of their way to please and the management is second to none. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the beds are amazing! Once you know your way around everything is so easy, from quickly nipping down to the pool for an early morning swim or choosing where to eat/what trips to go on etc. A special mention goes to Louis in Flavours who makes the best cafe latte and Maria in the spa who worked on my badly knotted back for over an hour and made me feel wonderful! What a treat. For any reviewers who have moaned about this place I can only think they would moan about anything! What a come down to return home!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but I think it is well worth paying for a sea-view - heavenly !
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatsyandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that your stay was a pleasant one. Our team, on a daily basis work’s hard to maintain the service level’s expected and we are delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands.

Kind Regards,

Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you are looking to have a wonderful and unfforgetable holiday than Radisson Blu is the perfect place! Excellent services delivered with a smile, and everybody from the hotel staff went the extra mile just to make sure that we were happy.Truth is this was our best ever holiday, staying at a beautiful hotel with high standards of quality, amazing surroundings and so many things to do.We had an excellent time enjoying our complimentary bus trip on the south part of the island, followed by a great boat ride from Sliema.The hotel has easy access to the sandy beach, with a snorkelling and diving center near by.We loved the hotel's outdoor pool, having a great view, jacuzzi, surrounded by beauty, palm trees, tranquility and just enjoying a cool drink or a nice huge sandwich from the Lagoon grill.The hotel has great restaurants, you must try Flavours for Breakfast, Aglioglio for dinner and Mokka for a drink or dessert.The Deli shop is great for buying essentials, is opened all week , and also the hotel offers children's centres and a babysitter.We had a great stay at this resort, and we hope to come back and bring our family or friends with us to have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bea31BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for staying with us at the Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Golden Sands. It is of great pleasure to read that your stay was enjoyable and our team members succeeded in reaching your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had never been to Malta and decided to stay at the Radisson Blu Resort. It's pool, beach, room and entertainment made for a wonderful relaxing week. We did rent a car, with a navigator, you'll need it, and were able to see most of the island. Our room was very clean and comfortable, although the pillows where an odd large size. We spent half our relaxation time at the beach and half at the pool. I was surprised there was debris; plastic, cigarettes, cups, etc on the beach. Also, there were cups and the like at the pool. While the property is very nice, it's missing attention to detail; the pool was not as clean as it should be, you could see mold in the drainage.
Parents were allowing their children in the fitness room, even though there were signs stating it was for adults. We saw an altercation at the pool with wild kids splashing and running into adults, and the parents yelling, at the guest who asked the kids not the hit them. We've traveled for years with our kids, it's a touchy subject, the staff needs to be trained to assist with these situations.
I would recommend the Radisson Blu, just a few issues the management needs to pay better attention to.
The beach hut next to the beach is a great place for refreshments!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,757 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
2.0 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,473 reviews
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $125 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing