We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of the Golden Sands Hotel in Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a wonderful time we had here, like being at home with all the creature comforts we desire. We were well looked after from the front of desk, during our stay and on our booking out and a special mention of Patrick who booked us out and was very polite and made us want to come back again soon. Our room was very comfortable with all we needed and the air con was a godsend. Our meals in Flavours were very enjoyable and the staff couldnt do enough for us and I have to mention the young student chef who was very polite and was a very professional young man. The breakfasts were superb, everything you could ask for in a breakfast, service was spot on and a special mention to Henri who greeted us and made us feel special. The pool is a great place to spend a day and the staff were very polite and helpful. All in all this was a most enjoyable stay in this hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff are so polite and helpCful so you cant help but want to feel like you want to come back. The hotel is in a great location next to Golden Bay beach and has a frequent bus service to visit other places on the island should you not want to drive or have a car. Compliments to the Management and Staff of this hotel, we will definetly return soon.

Room Tip: We had a country view which is pleasant, but a sea view is most enjoyable
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaggles_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us at the Radisson Golden Sands. I am delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that we have exceeded your expectations. Your kind comments about Patrick, Henri and the other team members are much appreciated and have been shared with them.

Kind Regards,

Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,302)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,824 - 2,830 of 4,303 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

While on holiday at a different resort in Malta august 2013 we spent a day at the Radisson, what a beautiful place we found it to be, with friendly staff and gorgeous surroundings and lovely food, we were in no hurry to return to the resort we were staying at, we were so impressed with the Radisson we plan to return to Malta in the very near future and stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumma23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had read all the reviews before booking our holiday so our expectations were very high. Indeed: the hotel is very nice, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. However, we were disppointed that the hotel could only offer a single room for us and our toddler and when we arrived very late at night with a tired baby, the cot hadn't been made up. We were then told that there were no more cots available and that our 18 month old would have to sleep on the pull-out couch. Not a great start. There is a general lack of attention to detail throughout the hotel which would make me question the five-star rating. The breakfast buffet is excellent and dinner at the Aglio Olio restaurant was delicious and the (almost too large) portions were good value for money. We were offered a time share and although we declined, the presentation seemed genuine and perhaps interesting for some. We learned that the entire hotel consists of time share units that are then let out by Radisson. The hotel was fully booked when we were there and seemed to be until further notice. The slightly remote location is even more attractive when you see the crammed, rocky beaches in other parts of the island. A fabulous holiday in a fabulous country and I would go back - but certainly not at five star prices!

Room Tip: We slept in a room facing the country which had a view of the parched landscape and the Scouts'...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Broones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few years running! Such a lovely place! Big shout out to the staff! Louis is a fantastic waiter! And deserves a lot of credit in this hotel! Also Phillip makes some cracking cocktails in dunes! Micheal who works in mocca bar is also very friendly! In my opinion they are just some of the staff that really give this place an excellent reputation!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefangreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments to both Louis and Philip. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Sands .

Best Regards,

Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have visited Golden Sands every year since 2006.
It is just like coming home.
Most of the staff recognise us on our return and are always extremely helpful.
We choose to self cater in an apartment and find it ideal on the sixth floor overlooking Golden Bay. We do have a couple of breakfasts during our stay which are very good particularly the omelettes cooked to order with choice of filling.
From the Balcony we can watch the water sports, the beach and the pools.
It is wonderful lazing in the sun on the private beach and then cooling off in the sea, though not too cool at 28C!
We hire a car nowadays since the famous Maltese buses are no more. Arriva is not quite the same with longer journeys. Driving on the left is a definite advantage for us Brits!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View on a High Floor so you wake up looking at the wonderful Mediterranean!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheilaLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback with reference to your recent stay with us, We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands.

Regards,


Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our first visit to Malta was first class and one of the best holidays we have ever experienced. Great hotel, excellent service, friendly staff and all set in a wonderful location. Pool area perfect for relaxing and swimming with the children- plenty of sunbeds and really clean.
All the staff were helpful and friendly. Hire a car if you get the opportunity to tour the Island and see all the wonderful villages and towns. Really easy to get around and the sighseeing bus is great fun.
Malta is beautiful, with interesting museums, stunning architecture and a great selection of restaraunts
Will definitely be back !!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are hard to book - but a bonus if you can get one
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking time by posting feedback regarding your recent stay at the Golden Sands. and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

i was there last week and really had a great experience, everything was wonderful, the only problem is the parking and hope that the manegement solve this problem once and for ever for the benefits of the hotel patrons and loyal customers like me. now am looking forward for next year to be there......

Room Tip: in my opinion the hotel is superb
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,757 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
2.0 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,473 reviews
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $125 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Prestigia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing