We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2008

The hotel is quite good & we enjoyed our stay but there are few things which needs sorting out like the room we were given the drain in the bath tub was not working & the electric card had to be jiggled we asked for firm pillows not given, asked for hair dryer not given the housekeeping took ages to sort out things.

The spa facilities are not great towels were not provided when asked for. The massage centre was good.

The hotel is in a great location & excellent for families as there is private access to the beach.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Sumitra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,812 - 3,818 of 4,453 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2008

We have just come back from a promotional stay at this hotel. At first I was a little worried after reading some of the mixed reviews on this site. As soon as we arrived these were swept away by the fantastic hotel and scenery.

We checked in and the receptionist was very friendly and we were given complimentary drinks. When we went to our room we weren't disappointed at all. We were on the 8th floor with a sea view. We travelled with two children and were given a suite which was fantastic.

The hotel is perfectly situated on top of a small cliff with the beautiful Golden Bay beach down below.

The food and drinks in the hotel are very expensive, but what do you expect from a 5 star hotel? On the beach there are two snack shacks called Munchies. We ate there every evening and were never disappointed.

We had our timeshare presentation which took 3 hours but we were prepared for it and it was well worth it to get such a great holiday for £179 for four.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Our 3rd time here and will be back again next year. This is a lovely location, a bit isolated but ideal for a truly relaxing holiday. Courtesy bus and taxis are easy to take to you nearby busier Bugibba, St Julians etc. My children are 12 & 13 and they do not find it too quiet and boring but make the most of the beautiful swimming pools and activities including water sports on beach adjacent to hotel.
Hotel facilities are very good, restaurants varied, Agliolio lovely food but slow service but I would disagree with previous comments as most staff are extremely helpful and friendly just not enough of. Flavours has beautiful food and choice is plentiful and can also provide childrens meals. Some may say expensive but when you consider a 5 course , 6 if you include cheese and biscuits I think very reasonable.
Staff are on the whole extremely helpful and friendly, housekeeping service good and when requested an extra blanket and then mattress for my children, both were provided immediately.
Like all Hotels and Holiday Accomodation it is always possible to find fault in certain areas, however sometimes i feel on hearing some Visitiors attitudes towards staff rude it is hardly surprising that issues are not resolved!
Island Residence Club is very present in the hotel but they conduct their business professionally and do not badger anyone, after an initial meeting when you have the choice to say yes or no, you are left alone to enjoy your holiday. However, be aware, that after signing up the 1st time this is by no means the end as they will approach you again for more investment, I believe more to their advantage than yours, maybe just an old cynic?! who knows, we chose not to find out.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scotbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Me and my wife went to Malta for a getaway from the cold weather for a week.

The hotel rooms are excellent, the staff is also very friendly. The hotel has quite a few restaurants on property, all of them offer the same type of food, so there is no variety. The worst part is the service. Its extremely slow and not worth that of a 5 star hotel.

The best part is its next to Golden Bay which has one of the best beaches in Malta. Also they have a private beach.

Also excellent hotel if you love water sports, horse riding etc.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank globetrottersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We were contacted by the islands residence club and paid £250 for 7 nights. We were picked up at the airport and it just got better and better as the holiday went on.

The hotel is very much a 5 star hotel and I can reccommend it highly. As there was 5 of us we had a lock off which meant 2 rooms with a lockable corridor joining them together.

The rooms themselves were very big and finished to a high quality and very clean, the restaurants of which there are 3 or 4 are excellent and similar prices to what you would pay in the UK, although there are two cheap cafes just outside which offers a good range of food. My preference for lunch.

The staff are really friendly and helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them and the kids club is excellent they will even have them earily evening so you can enjoy a few drinks in the Bar.

There is a small private beach which we really liked plus a hire shop for snorkels and wet suits which was great for me and my son.

The islands resisendence club was a non pressurerised affair and we thought was a good deal, but you do need to leave 2 hours to have it completed.

The only thing I would have liked is for the hotel to have been built nearer a town as it's to far to walk, but like everything else there, they will hire a car for you good rates which is the best way to see the island.

Overall well recommended for familys or couples wishing to get away for a great break and pamper themselves.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank richardbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

we recenctly returned from a stay at the golden sands.It was booked on a £149 deal where we would have to attend a presentation. we had intended to keep an open mind and see what they had to offer.
The hotel is a great hotel, offering great quality of fixtures and fittings. The island residence club is another beast altogether. If they ever make contact with you stay away form them. we were promissed a car to take us to the hotel and credit on our account towards dinning in the resteraunt. Firstly , we checked in and were given the keys to our room, we are a family of three and the sofa bed was not great for our son, our room was great- the views were of a stony hill. nothing to rave about.air condictioning was provided and the pools were not heated. with a limit of under 16's in the indoor pool between 9am to 12pm - it was restricting. He is a teen ager and there was nothing for him to do. the hotel is very isolated and although you are on the beach there is nothing else. you have to eat in the hotel at very expensive prices and we paid £7.50 for one pint of cider - not cheep!

no reps came near us and it was four days into aseven day holiday before they made contact, it was then we foound out there was a bus that would take us into the town and bringus back( at a cost) and a free bus to the town but you had to book it

no cedit came when i paid the bill and as yet although they apoligised , no credit has been given.It is a scam to get you there and spend your money- the hotel was nice but hire a car and do not eat in the hotel, do not take any calls form the island residence club - they will scam you.

it is a month on and i still have had nothing more that a you should have told us when you were there - we did but they still do not wish to give s anything that they promised.

be aware ! and good luck

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jumbo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

My husband and I visited this hotel on what is essentially a timeshare promotion. A cheap week if we agreed to sit through someone explaining the benefits of vacation ownership. It seemed most of the guests were doing the same thing.

The hotel is clean and well appointed throughout especially in the public places and outside on the terraces. The rooms are a good size with balcony and bathroom. The balcony was very narrow and it was a struggle to sit on the chairs provided. The "country" view from the room was very disappointing, We looked out onto the toilet block of the scout camp at the rear of the hotel (what can you expect when on a cheap deal).The bathroom was very nice but the bath was the smallest I have ever seen.

The food in 2 of the restaurants was as good as most 4* hotels, the prices were a bit on the high side, but you could get pizza for around 10 euro. There are three restaurants/coffee shops close to the hotel, one at the top of the road to the beach and the other two down on the beach where the locals go. In fact on Sunday morning it was very crowded with all the local bikers on their Harleys having a coffee. We ate breakfast there most mornings, a ham and cheese toasted sandwich and coffee was 4 euro each which was cheaper than the hotels breakfast (15 euro I think). We did have continental breakfast in the room one morning which was good value for money and cheaper than eating down in the restaurant. It was beautifully presented, very generous and brought to the room at exactly the time requested.

The hotel is quite isolated, there is a bus stop near the hotel and the buses are amazingly cheap, they are also amazingly old! The problem with the buses is that they stop running around 6pm so if you want to go out for dinner you either need a car or use the minibus service provided by the hotel. You need to book the minibus in advance and it will drop you off at 7 and pick you up at 11. It goes to different towns on different nights. I think the taxis are quite expensive it was around £50 for a return trip to Valetta one evening.

The "timeshare" tour and talk was interesting. The units are very well appointed and the sea facing rooms feel so different to our country view room even though they are exactly the same. We didn't buy one, the hotel was not our thing but I was amazed at the number of people who did buy one. The tour and talk took about 1.5 hours and was not high pressured, however some people said theirs was a bit more pressure than they felt comfortable with. If you don't like the hotel they try to interest you in their vacation club where you can use other properties and they have a huge catalogue covering most of the world, however we did not want to be restricted to the catalogue so again did not buy in to the scheme.

Down on the beach you can get boat trips, we did a speed boat trip with Charlie along the coast for an hour, it cost 10 euro each and was well worth it. I think he also does a trip to Gozo.

The hotel offers plenty of excursions to sights in Malta and will even arrange a day trip to Sicily on the Ferry.

The Spa is very well appointed and has beautiful treatment rooms. its alittle on the pricey side but hey you're on holiday!

There are coastal paths you can walk along and some stunning views but it took us an hour to walk to melliah and it was mostly on the road.

I hope this all helps.

Stayed: April 2008
14  Thank lemans24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,749 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $137 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing