We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel resort is absolutely fantastic. We had a superb stay and can only say it was a fabulous holiday + so relaxing. The staff were excellent in all the facilities + made us very welcome. We dined at the "Agliolio Restaurant" which we rate as 5*. The food was freshly cooked,the menu very varied + had something different to eat every evening. One night we had room service the presentation was excellent, food very hot thoroughly enjoyable, It was just like being in the movies!! Other facilities were excellent, 2 outdoor swimming pools + 1 indoor with the usual jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, all excellent + very clean, although we only used the indoor one as it was February + not hot enough to use the outdoor pools. I used the Myokka Spa which was absolutely fantastic, very relaxing + very reasonable charges. I didn't use the Hairdressing Salon but as the rest of the Hotel facilities were great I should imagine that the standard there is very high too. Although the Hotel is in the very north of the island it is not by a town so if you want to see the rest of the island then you can either hire a vehicle or go with the hotel's transport which can be arranged there. Outside the hotel is a Public Transport Bus Stop which you can use at your leisure should you want to travel around and not be tied to the hotel's mini bus.

Room Tip: Our room faced a countryside view but you could also see the sea from it as well. If you want a dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,158 - 3,164 of 4,450 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently visited the Golden Sands on a fractional ownership vacation package. Although the prices were fair, we decided to think about it first and get back to them. Over all it was a great experience. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The view from our room is like nothing we have ever seen before. The lagoon pool is amazing, however we couldnt swim as it was still quite cold. We will definately be returning back in the summer ! I totally recomend this hotel, and furthermore, we met a cab driver who is the politest we have ever seen. We highly recomend their services as they are cheaper than all the other companies, on time and even have free wifi on board. The name is Platinum Cabs, and their website is www.platinumcabs.com

Room Tip: get the seaview room, well worth it ! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 562AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Congratulations for the excellent arrangements you made for the ALPS Valentine Dinner, overnight stay/breakfast at your beautiful hotel Radisson Blu. A really first class performance, which we shall long remember.

Joseph S. Buttigieg, ALPS member

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

February 2012. We have just spent a week at this lovely hotel.The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were on a room only basis, but had breakfast 4 mornings. The choice was fantastic, there was something for everyones taste. Everything was cooked fresh, nothing was left sitting in hot trays. We ate at the Agliolio restaurant which was also very good. The facilities are brilliant, and you are right on the beach. The Myokka spa is fabulous and reasonably priced. I can honestly say that this was a very relaxing enjoyable holiday. We did hire a car as you are not close to other towns, but there is a very good bus service, and the hotel has a mini bus.
First class.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent five days in this lovely hotel,after spending ten days in Gozo(St Patricks Xlendi,excellent).We where upgraded to a suite that was luxury,feather pillows and full kitchen and massive balconies.The food was top class and we used room service a few times and was very impressed.The hotel,s in a lovely area and we did quite a lot of walking.They had a great set up on the beach with a good snack bar,free sun loungers and the sea was beautiful for october,we really enjoyed our time at the Raddison and would return.

Room Tip: If we went back again we would have a sea view room,but the land view was lovely because we had a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had a four night off-season stay at this hotel (at a great off-season price). I liked this hotel very much! Modern, clean rooms, public areas and spa/pool. Very nice staff. The most positive "surprise" was the great quality of the food, both at the bar (and from room service) and from the italian restaurant Agliolio. Very tasty! A bonus: no extra charge for room service.I would like to bring my familly here in the summertime to make use of the beach. Beware the location though, its far from the "action" of St Julians/Paceville. But there is a bus station just outside the hotel which will take you cheaply (but maybe not so quickly) to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TC-SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was our 2nd stay within a 12month period, and will def go back. Service has improved considerably, staff were all attentive to our needs, and we really felt being taken care of. Room was spotless and all amenities in mint condition. Our sea view room had a fantastic view, with a good sized balcony, where one could sip a glass of wine whilst enjoying the breath taking views. B'fast is really good, with freshly fried omelettes at the individual's choice of different ingredients and champagne is really a treat. The staff here are very efficient, like the rest of the other departments. The location of the property makes it a gem, especially for those who love the country walks, or for the beach goers, you name it, and we could see a shuttle service on-going to various places from the hotel lobby, but if you are renting a car you are within easy reach of every town and village in Malta, go and enjoy....

Room Tip: Worth taking a sea view room especially in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saviour1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,745 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $132 - $925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing