We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - just too remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - just too remote”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited this hotel late October and were very impressed with the hotel itself - but here come the snags. We visited as part of a timeshare-presentation paackage [ we knew all the pitfalls and were well-prepared]. To anyone new to this kind of holiday package PLEASE READ ALL THE SMALL PRINT ON THE 'TERMS AND CONDITIONS' BEFORE AGREEING TO ACCEPT THE DEAL. If you don't, you could easily find yourself paying a hefty price for your 'cheap holiday'. We met a couple who unfortunately were made redundant after signing for holiday ownership and had to cancel their commitment - they got out of it, but it cost them nearly £1,000 for their 'cheap' holiday!

The sales staff are very efficient, helpful and pleasant [we could not fault our interviewer, Ainsley, but they are out to sell you holiday ownership and that is their single focus - the 'senior man' who comes in to make you a 'once in a lifetime' offer will not bother with any frills and unless you go on holiday prepared to part with a three-figure sum deposit even for a basic studio for ONE week per year, you will be treated to either heavy pressure [witnessed being experienced by one elderly couple] or being kept an interminably long time before they finally [five hours in our case] concede that you do not wish to buy - even though they will reassure you at the beginning that 'there will be no pressure to buy, they don't need to because the hotel sells itself'. When we declined, he jumped up, melodramatically snatched the paperwork from the desk and made a very noisy show of balling it up and throwing it on the floor and stomping out - don't know who he thought he was impressing, but it certainly wasn't us and even if I had been wavering, his sales manner would not have persuaded me in his company's favour. So Azure , I would have a quiet word with this individual and advise him that this kind of tactic will NOT wash with potential British buyers - he undid all Ainsley's good work. We were quite impressed with the company product, it was just not for us in our current financial position, and Ainsley graciously conceded this - this is the mark of a true salesman - the other feller was just an arrogant fool as far as I am concerned.

Having said this, I will move onto the hotel itself. beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean [well done to all the cleaning staff - excellent] beautiful grounds well tended, breathtaking views, good facilities including shop, while a little on the expensive side, good range of products. Aglioli restaurant - nice food but fell at first hurdle - my husband was brought the wrong meal after a wait of almost 15 minutes for the starter. the restaurant was not busy, so this was rather disconcerting. All the tables were wobbly because of the floor design - rather curiously the walkways were smooth polished quartz/marble, but the seating areas were small rough cut squares of limestone , which were uneven therefore tables were constantly wobbling - staff resorted to tearing up bits of beer mat/cardboard to stabilise them!!!!

I ordered a medium rare ribeye steak and received one which was more rare than medium, but like my hubby was beginning to lose the will to live so just got on and ate it. Memo to self - up your cooking grade unless you really like raw beef in the Med. We both had tirimasu for dessert and this time they got it right. It was a delightful concoction with just the right amount of coffee and marsala wine - very smooth to the palate - loved it. We received a 20% discount card to use in the bars and restaurants but the bill still came to a hefty 57 euros for a quite basic meal [ I large beer and I Sprite included]. Whilst passable, I would not consider this 5- star food.

We visited the breakfast buffet once, which was, in my view over-priced at £15 per person, as it was very standard fare and the bacon. like most med hotels was lamentably undercooked- had to ask for it to be re-cooked. Again - hardly 5* standard.

The other food establishment we visited was Pebbles Restaurant which is behind the private beach [ you cannot use the discount card in this restaurant/cafe]; my husband had mini=-burgers and chips and I had a crispy cod fillet on foccacia. This was quite simply the worst snack food I have ever had the misfortune to eat - not cheap either at 15 euros for the two- and I would advise anyone to avoid like the plague!! The African waiter, Salvo was very pleasant. courteous and helpful but the food was lamentable. My husband was very clear that he did not want any sauce, relish, gherkins, mayonnaise or ANYTHING other than the bread bun and burgers - it came slathered with a very sickly cheese [like American Cheeze Whiz] - and got sent straight back - we watched a heated debate between Salvo and the man behind the counter and could clearly see that Salvo was insisting that the counter assistant had been told this - offering his notepad as evidence - again there were histrionics and very bad grace and another 10 minute wait for a replacement. Now if this passes for 5* service in the Raddisson chain, it will be a long, long time before we grace its doors again!!!

All the staff are very proud to tell you that the hotel was opened by HM the Queen and about all the football players, stars and celebrities who have either stayed or own time there - but I couldn't help thinking that if they had received the standard of service we received in the food areas the hotel would not be keeping its reputation!

All in all I would say that if you want to use the Radisson as a 'pied a terre' or you are some kind of recluse/ celebrity who wants to stay in your apartment and order room service, I frankly wouldn't bother - you can find better in St Julian's or Sliema.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ronamac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,822
    966
    279
    85
    48
See reviews for
1,517
2,014
82
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a most enjoyable holiday in Radisson Blu Resort. The accommodation was luxurious and was extensively serviced every day. The balcony faced the morning sun. Breakfast on the balcony was a treat and a half. There was a fully equipped kitchen and a spacious, comfortable living and sleeping area. Food and facilities in the hotel were second to none. Staff in all areas of the resort left nothing to chance. They were friendly and attentive at all times and provided a high standard of service in all areas.
This was a "promotion" break at a great price thanks to Paula at Euphoria Holidays but nevertheless we received the same level of attention and service as those regular guests.
There is a fantastic and regular public bus service from the hotel to everywhere else on the island at. Day tickets at 2 euro 60. There was a complimentary taxi to and from the airport. And of course fine weather except for a fairly rough thunderstorm on an evening!!! We will return if we can ever afford it. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were a family of four with 2 children. We stayed in the one of the Zenith suites which were spacious, clean and large. We requested an additional foldaway bed ( as the kids don't really like sharing a bed anymore) and was impressed when it was already in the room upon check in.
Only critism is that it could do with 2 bathrooms rather that the one enormous bathroom.
We have lovely views of the sea and the pool.

The food was a bit disappointing though. Thought the evening buffet was a bit on the expensive side and the service at Agliolio was slow at times. Breakfast was good (you have to ask for pancakes for the kids) plenty of selection.

The Indoor pool is on the small side and busy, but may have something to do with the outdoor pool being too cold to swim in. The private beach is small but plenty of room and easy to get to the public part. Not the cleanest beach we have ever been to but acceptable.

There is a bus stop for those that want to explore and don't want to drive. Would recommend a visit to Valetta.

Overall the hotel is of a good standard, although I would question if it really is 5 star.
It's the friendliness of the staff that make this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speedbird99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

An extremely pleasant week at this large resort Hotel. The staff are very friendly, always smiling and so willing to serve. The choice of food is very good indeed with three excellent restaurants and three bars to suit all needs. Rooms are spacious and clean. The owners have obviously put in a lot of hard work to make this this a first class Hotel to suit all types of Holiday maker.

Room Tip: Facing the beach is worthwhile for the lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely clean hotel, bonus was the very friendly staff who was always willing to help in any way. Breakfast was excellent the young (64 yrs) concierge was always warm and cheeful, the spa treatment good. Lovely views all around. I will definately return. Good easy transport from hotel to town.

Room Tip: Sea view is the sunny side. Very little sun at the front of the hotel, so no tanning from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJAKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were there, as were 10 other couples, on a promotion holiday.
Thus we were there at cost price although I have to say that their cost price is still twice as expensive as our hotel the second week.
The hotel itself was pleasant and the service was of course excellent.
Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, occasionally with the views to the hills and the small fort.
IF you have to have sand between your toes and the use of am adequate pool then here is a place to consider.
IF you want to see Malta and have a choice of sights and sounds then here is so isolated that there is nothing to do except get a bus to go somewhere else. There is nowhere to go for an evening stroll and the nature reserve that the hotel backs onto is actually more of a boy scouts camp and motorbike trials ground.

Go here again - no, not even on a promotion and this is supposedly one of the most in demand resorts worldwide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heliopolis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The good
This was a family holiday, the hotel was good neat and welcoming entrance hall.
The hotel was not busy and therefore cannot be judged against other previews. They kept hotel neat and clean. The rooms were also kept neat.
All the pools and surrounding we're also kept clean.
The free Internet both in rooms and reception area were excellent. I would say the food was good though on other days wasn't great may be I was just board eating same restaurants everyday.
The staff were very nice, polite and always willing to help!
The bad
The hotel charges for their items from the room fridges even if you move the item around and very expensive items. The notice is displayed on the fridge door which like everybody we hardly read small prints let alone on the fridge door. They were kind though to reverse the charges after pleading as I didn't use their stuff, so be careful.
The ugly
The hotel is isolated, therefore eating has to be with the hotel, no night life.
The jacuzzi water was kind of smelly not sure wether its over use or not cleaned properly.

Summary
Generally we all enjoyed the stay at this hotel and if they keep this level of service or improve, I would recommend to other visitors.

Room Tip: Hire a car otherwise you are isolated Careful don't use their room fridges even just squiring y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdeyide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,606 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,208 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,593 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing