We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raddison Blu , golden Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Raddison Blu , golden Sands”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were there, as were 10 other couples, on a promotion holiday.
Thus we were there at cost price although I have to say that their cost price is still twice as expensive as our hotel the second week.
The hotel itself was pleasant and the service was of course excellent.
Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, occasionally with the views to the hills and the small fort.
IF you have to have sand between your toes and the use of am adequate pool then here is a place to consider.
IF you want to see Malta and have a choice of sights and sounds then here is so isolated that there is nothing to do except get a bus to go somewhere else. There is nowhere to go for an evening stroll and the nature reserve that the hotel backs onto is actually more of a boy scouts camp and motorbike trials ground.

Go here again - no, not even on a promotion and this is supposedly one of the most in demand resorts worldwide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heliopolis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,705
    926
    268
    82
    47
See reviews for
1,475
1,920
75
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The good
This was a family holiday, the hotel was good neat and welcoming entrance hall.
The hotel was not busy and therefore cannot be judged against other previews. They kept hotel neat and clean. The rooms were also kept neat.
All the pools and surrounding we're also kept clean.
The free Internet both in rooms and reception area were excellent. I would say the food was good though on other days wasn't great may be I was just board eating same restaurants everyday.
The staff were very nice, polite and always willing to help!
The bad
The hotel charges for their items from the room fridges even if you move the item around and very expensive items. The notice is displayed on the fridge door which like everybody we hardly read small prints let alone on the fridge door. They were kind though to reverse the charges after pleading as I didn't use their stuff, so be careful.
The ugly
The hotel is isolated, therefore eating has to be with the hotel, no night life.
The jacuzzi water was kind of smelly not sure wether its over use or not cleaned properly.

Summary
Generally we all enjoyed the stay at this hotel and if they keep this level of service or improve, I would recommend to other visitors.

Room Tip: Hire a car otherwise you are isolated Careful don't use their room fridges even just squiring y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdeyide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea South Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

we spent a week on a special promo offer involving a timeshare presentation

hotel very good position by the bay, excellent eating places, friendly staff

BUT: the Golden Bay area well away from most of the popular areas in Malta, very poor bus links so a rental car is required, the Interval International presentation was professional and when we declined to participate we were not over pressured

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a brilliant hotel. We came to Malta for our 25th wedding anniversary, having come here for our honeymoon. The overseer of all of the Raddisons on the island (Island Hotels) was a University student of ours over 25 years ago-so word naturally got around amongst the staff and guests that we were 'VIP's'.
And we were treated as such.
And no, it wasn't just us; so was everyone else. As soon as we sat down at breakfast, someone was already at our table waiting to pour us coffee. We were known by name, too: a 'good morning/ afternoon/evening was waiting for us wherever we were. Whether the General Manager had alerted them of our presence prior to our arrival, I don't know.
Virtually every other day, a plate of pétits fours and chocolates were waiting for us in our immaculately serviced rooms when we got back from our day out. Most prices are totally reasonable, and the Essence Fine Dining restaurant was spectacular.
A must for all visits to Malta!

Room Tip: The rooms facing inland but still have shoreline are brilliant and extremely picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meandmyflags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Radisson Blu Resort, Golden Sands, Malta is a five star establishment. Organisation - that is meeting and greeting at the airport - is efficient. It's at the far end of the island from the capital Valetta, so it's a 30 minute drive to get there. The facilities are first class, the staff friendly and professional, but it takes a while got learn the layout of the place. The most popular, and affordable, restaurant was the Italian, but the food was passable.
Accommodation is good. Nice fluffy white robes in the bathroom but, strangely, no matching fluffy white slippers to go with them. The only problem with the room was that the wardrobe door kept coming off the runners. There are a couple of beach restaurants as an alternative eating choice but generally you are trapped in the resort unless you hire a car, though the public transport is an adventure and convenient. We were on a deal that included us agreeing to attend a presentation for what amounts to an upmarket time share arrangement. When we decided it was not for us there was only one attempt to change our minds and then they took no for an answer. Breakfasts were great, so on the whole an enjoyable stay, though you can be woken early by hunters blasting away at the local game.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diabloxrojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Because my ratings say it all, rather than write a REVIEW I have decided to show you my favourite VIEWS. However the review has to be 200 words so I have titled the photos to give you an impression of the amazing facilities on offer. If you want to get away from it all, enjoy top quality food and experience the tranquil spa then this is the place for you. If you prefer to explore the island then a car is definitely required but the bus service can get you to all of the beautiful site for a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is amazing. I went there as my sister has an apartment there, myself, my husband and my two year old daughter went for one week. Firstly, the reservation process was smooth, very efficient and they helped with transfers to and from the hotel. They suggested a cot in the room which was helpful. The service was second to none, I work for a four star international branded hotel and our service is not a patch on these guys!!!!! Breakfast was amazing, nothing was too much trouble ever. My daughter was alway made so very welcome always! This, for me, was a massive weight of my mind. The room was spotless, cleaned daily to a high standard. Swimming pool was clean and well maintained. Beach was lovely....perfect, just perfect. Only downside was there is not much to do in the area, defo rent a car if going as a family. Thank you Raddison for making our holiday perfect

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirstieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,416 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing