We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Sands Malta Excels Again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My Wife , Myself and our Son Jason had another great stay at the Golden Sands Malta. The Staff were great and the service was once again top notch. We went to the beach party twice and had a great time. The BBQ was excellent and the drinks flowed. We were amazed that the service was 5 star once again, it was refreshing to see this. We enjoy having a relaxing time and this hotel was great for this. We have tried other hotels on the island but ths one is the best. The Staff are quick to serve you but also leave you in peace and there is no pressure. The General Manager Ernest Barry spoke to us on a few occasions and asked us if everything was OK and he was very helpfull. If you like a relaxed atmosphere and great service this is the place to go in Malta. We will certainly be going there next year and look forward to another great time.
Thank you all the Staff!!!
Pat, Mick & Jason

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach it is a must.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,305)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,111 - 3,117 of 4,305 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Coming from the hotel Phoenicia, where standards are high and the beds sublime - first impressions were wonderful. But then the cracks began to show. The rooms are getting tired, the carpets in the main areas a bit weary, something stuck to my dress when I sat down for breakfast. The buffet had everything labelled with its calorific value, most depressing and judging from the size of the majority of guests, quite irrelevant. Reception staff were friendly but housekeeping very poor. They patrol en masse - blocking the corridors. leaving vacuum cleaners wedged against the door and arguing amongst themselves - a quick bumfle of the pillows and two dodgy chocolates no real substitute for a decent clean. Does this place want to be a hotel or a time share? I'm not really sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzy180046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Golden Sands on a business trip and I was very pleased with the hotel. The staff were very helpful, the room was good, the bed was very comfortable and the amenities were excellant. The conference facilities are excellant and Erika Sargeant in particular was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

How can anybody say that this hotel is remote. It is only 13 miles to Valetta the capital and most places are within 20 miles.
Arriva who now run the bus service provide two buses an hour during the day to Valetta and Sliema and two other services to the North of the Island. The Valetta service now runs quite late in the evening.
There are several walks from the hotel and if you do not want to eat in the hotel restaurants, you can eat at Bugubba, where there are inexpensive restaurants or further afield at St Julians or Mellieha.
We have been back again for two weeks and were completely self catering and had all our meals on the balcony overlooking the sea.
WiFi is available in all the rooms and the rooms are cleaned daily by excellent and friendly staff.
We even were asked to comment on the current state of the building and the facilities provided. They are very mindful of the need to keep up standards.
If you go on a promotional holiday, which is subsidised, then you should expect to have to spend time talking to the representatives.
I would suggest car hire as there are many remote areas of the island that are real gems and also gives the ability to visit Gozo, which is very pretty and in a slight time warp.
Bear in mind that some of the temples are more than 5000 years old, there is plenty to do on the island. Do not just sit around the pool and explore the islands.

Room Tip: The sea view are the best rooms but country view are the same standard, it is just the view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Merrywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, magnificent views, beach, swimming pools spa,easy bus connections if you don't want to hire a car. the food and beverage outlets are good in particular the beach bar, Mokka bar and Agliolio restaurant and for more formal dining the other restaurants offer a good variety. Everything is first class and well deserving of a 5 star rating. We will visit again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place is a real treasure in Malta. Beautiful sandy beach, fantastic spa and indoor/outdoor pools.
Take cofee and cake on the terrace on a Sunday afternoon winter or summer to feel really pampered.
We love it and come back time and time again.

Room Tip: Choose the sea side of the building as the views are stunning but the countryside views from the oth...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallySudworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we booked a weeks stay here , in September ( still very hot got up to 38 // 85 on our last day) through a cold call from 1 of the the sales staff .
would you like a week in a 5 star hotel for £150 , (who wouldn't )
when we included a half board package and flights it came to around £1,000 , about 2/3 less than if you just booked through an online agent . and about 1/3 less than we would expect to pay for similar .
The hotel is fine , comfortably a 5 star resort hotel .
we had a lovely studio room overlooking the beach , pools. and the bar patio .
the room was well equipped for a couple self catering , plenty of pots , pans and cutlery , a 2 ringed hob , and small micro wave .
the room had good fixtures and fittings , but was some what frayed around the edges , nothing worth being specific about .
my only complaint about the room is if you are going to have a shower over the bath , you need a mat , or some grip designed into the bath .
my only complaint about the hotel in general is lack of air con in the halls , and particularity in the lifts .
we ate twice at the buffet restaurant .
the food was a very good standard both evenings , plenty of selection for a 5 course meal .
you also have breakfast here , the food was good and a large selection , except the scrambled eggs , far to much salt , i complained twice on the 3rd morning less salt , but going back up by the 5th day hehe .
we ate once at the Italian restaurant .
my starter of sea food pasta was poor , and far to much salt in it , i sent it back , and traded it for 2 coffees at the end of the meal .
we both had rib eye steak , well cooked ,good flavor but very gristly , we had to cut off a half to a thrid .
the fine dinning restaurant , ( and it is fine dinning ) was very good .we ate here 3 times .
the staff there were outstanding , fun , professional , and informative .
we had the special seafood starter the first night . not great . and the sea food bisque on the second night was far to salty i sent it back , was not charged for it and as an apology the somelier gave us 2 very nice digestives at the end of the meal .
all the other food we had here was very good , with the calamari being excellent , also the veal was delicious with a great jus .
a special thanks to Helen ( head waiter) Page ,Patric. and the stand in somelier Daniell .
with the half board package you can eat at any of the four restaurants in the hotel , not sure about the 1 on the beach .
you have 29 euros ahead , which covers the cost in the buffet restaurant , or 3 courses in the bar , 2 courses in the Italian restaurant , or a main course in the smart restaurant
we got to try 4 Maltese wines , during the week , well 5 if you count the first glass i sent back on the first night hehe .

while none of them were near to a fine wine , they were all quite drinkable , all being rather robust .
the time share.
we were told by other guests the presentation should take about 4 hours , longer if you decide to buy .
we were with Wayne the sales man for 8 hours hehe .
first morning coffee ,
a little selling ,
then lunch ( all on Wayne )
a little more selling ,
afternoon coffee ,
plus 3 or 4 cigarette breaks .
then a bit more selling .
Wayne only made 2 mistakes with us , that stopped us signing up .
1 , after morning coffee , he showed us the apartments , the first being an outstanding 4 double bedroom , on the "heavenly " floor one of the bedrooms were about as big as our studio ,huge sitting , dinning area and kitchen , a massive surround balcony , and only £100,000 a week for 33 years hehe .
then a 1 bedroom apartment still on the "heavenly" floor .
these made our until now nice studio look like a dump hehe .
by this stage i wanted the 4 bedroom apartment or nothing lol .
after viewing these we went to the sales office , which is quite a large room , may be 30 to 40 desks .
with loudish rock music playing over this verbal noise , all good for creating a sales buz i guess .
so out of deference to my dislike of noise and crowds Wayne took us into the guest lounge ,to discuss business , very calm very relaxing .
we eventually had to go back to the sales office to look at some stuff on the computer .
by now there were 4 or 6 desks occupied and the music was louder i think .
we had now been with Wayne for 7.5 hours hehe .
i had decided i didnt want to buy into the deal ,.we were at the desk and started to talk prices , and after 10 mins of haggling (and much to my surprise ) my partner said he wanted to buy a studio package , and seemed quite certain , by this time my brain was fried , and i could not think straight , so i agreed , Wayne was happy , and said he needed to get the paper work to sign .
i said i was going back to the guest lounge where it was calm .
Wayne s 2nd mistake .
he said he would meet us there , by the time he arrived , my head had cleared , and i told my partner in no uncertain terms WE WERE NOT BUYING hehe .
when Wayne returned and heard this he was disappointed , but got his manager anyway , who half heatedly offered us two shorter cheaper deals , neither of which were appropriate , and we all parted as friends 15 mins latter .
to finish , both my partner and I thought it was a very good deal , and if we had not made the final installment on a round the world cruise the day we left for Malta , we would have bought into the package for sure .
also , the return taxi to the airport is included in the room package , you make arrangement at the drifter desk in reception , where you can also book taxis and shuttle buses , and if your lucky you will meet the lovely northern Irish woman that works there .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hankinsonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
2.0 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,476 reviews
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $125 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing