We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Sackets Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

While as a resort hotel the Radisson is second to none, keep in mind that this particular hotel is on the other side of Malta from the main town/Capital Valletta. This was not really an issue for us because we rented a car (except that as americans we had to adjust to driving on the right hand side of the road...a fun experience!) The property is beautiful with spectacular views, but would have been more appropriate for a summer excursion rather than November. The restaurants are outstanding, and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever experienced in a European hotel. Made use of both the indoor and outdoor pools which are great, and my wife made use of the spa which she really enjoyed. I went for jogs in and around the hotel area/ countryside every morning and found them to be some of the most visually stunning island jogs and enjoyed every minute...i found myself out for over an hour having logged unknown miles just enjoying the scenery. I totally reccommend this hotel for a romantic or family getaway, that is away from the bustle of Valletta, but just a short drive away!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,671
    907
    265
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,463
1,888
74
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oban
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Went on a special offer promising to send sometime hearing about timeshare. The hotel was good and staff helpful. Our room was a seaview -- the countryside view is not so good. January is clearly a quiet time for the hotel so some days certain facilities / food outlets were not open. Also they chose to renovate the spa whilst we were there and the mens changing room for the indoor pool was out of action for the week and as access was through the changing room it took a trip outside and through the fire exit to go swimming!!
Had a great stay -- relaxing -- the hotel is about an hours bus ride from Valetta but getting around is cheap 2.6 euros for an all day bus ticket. Mdina, harbour cruise and Gozo are all worth visiting. We will return when it is a bit warmer.
The timeshare presenter was good -- but it went on too long and the room was very noisey -- I guess to stop you hearing other people!!! The money man arrived at the end -- he was abrupt, rude and in truth lost the sale as we were interested. My wife was feeling ill and he really did not care. The one low of the break.
Air MAlta was good but I noticed it was a code share flight with BMI -- I wonder which was cheaper!!
The Irish lady operating the tour desk in the lobby "Drifters" was very helpful!!

Room Tip: Sea View is worth the extra -- some rooms have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salmon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
842 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Like many others I saw the offer of a week for 2 in Malta for £150 and thought it was too good to be true. I did some research on the Internet, discovered it wasn't a scam and signed up. After a brief phone call explaining the deal - the promotion required us to attend a timeshare presentation but otherwise it was a week in a 5* hotel on a b&b basis - we went ahead with it. Flights were sorted out by them from our local airport taking the total cost for the week to £350. Bargain!
On landing we were met for our transfer which took about 20 minutes. The hotel is away from the main centres of Malta, on a cliff overlooking the beach. There are 3 residential blocks for accommodation, 3 outdoor and 1 indoor pools, a gym, tennis court, numerous restaurants and bars etc etc. Being January things were very quiet. 
Our room was certainly impressive, it was the base category of one bedroomed accommodation but had a good sized bathroom, nice bedroom with lots of storage and French doors to the balcony. There was also a good sized lounge/kitchen/diner which was well equipped with a sofa bed, tv, DVD, more French doors, dishwasher, toaster, hob, dining table, microwave and kettle. More than adequate for a week and plenty of space. The only downside was that Internet access was via a wired connection - fine if you have a laptop but no good for iPads or smartphones.
Although the hotel is out of the way the package included a pass for the hop on, hop off bus tour and the harbour cruise so that covered one days sightseeing. They also operate a shuttle bus service to all the major sights for a nominal fee - I think it cost €12 for a return ticket for the two of us to Valletta. Very good value.
The timeshare presentation was interesting but does take a while. Ours lasted 6 hours but I heard other people saying theirs only took 3.5 so it was probably our fault for chatting to the sales guy, John, instead of shutting up and listening. There was no pressure throughout the process and they provided plenty of drinks and lunch. It was very amiable and low key and the decision to invest is entirely yours.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Amazing experience , the food was excellent and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We own a time share at Radisson blu EXCELLENT the staff , the manegment ,the views,THE FOOD ,the indoor pool ,the room attendants,porters, what more can you ask for for a week of relaxation we always look forward for our next stay .For a romantic week with all the trimmings room service, dvd and so on .DON T HESITATE GO FOR IT . We all deserve a treat once a year.

Room Tip: room 1048 both views the beach and country side very large veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We were looking for a place to celebrate our wedding aniversary and received an offer from this hotel. 7 nights, room only £149.00 per couple. There were offers associated, reduced cost of meals and drinks, free tour of the island, free tour of the Grand Harbour, taxi from airport to hotel. We flew Air Malta, on time, excellent flight. Taxi met us and drove to Hotel. Check in was very efficient and we had a room with a country view. The room was well equipped, large bedroom., lounge and bathroom. During our stay we had several meals, the menus were a delight. We used the pool and sun terrace and the weather was great. ALL the staff were very attentive and efficient. we had the sales pitch for time share which was interesting and informative.but not for us. John the salesman took our decision an applied no pressure..We have chosen this holiday as our best of the year as it was a delight from beginning to end.and exceeded our expectations on ALL levels. i emailled Mr Barry,the General Manager to complement him and his staff on a great holiday at Golden Bay. i did receive a very nice reply from Mr Barry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank richarddrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

My Partner and I attended on a time-share promo trip. Hotel is expensive and miles out of town 2 x burger and chips + Bot wine about £40. Bus service (local) Very good and weeks ticket cost about 12 Euros. Hotel very big and spread out and being January outdoor pool of no use. Indoor seems Ok but a long way from rooms we were in. If you get sea view OK but if not you look over Scout camp and nothing else at this time of year you get no sun on that side either, balcony's are to small for sun loungers anyway. Time-share pitch and tour of better rooms about 3 hours. We did not sign as the vendors needed us to sign on the day which was a none starter for me. The cooking facility's were very basic however local food was inexpensive.
As we saw it the hotel is not 5 star in the bog standard rooms, Its to far from town, to expensive, the choice of TV in the rooms was a joke. and the and the tourist offer in Spain and the Canaries is better value for money. I would revisit Malta but stay in a resort town with some life. Good luck to anyone who like this type of Resort but its not for us.

Room Tip: Get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
6.5 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing