We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back next year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back next year”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Radisson Golden Bay and again it was excellent. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with a sea view that sleeps 6 and found it first class. ( There was 3 couples in our party and all are of the same opinion & wish to go back in 2012) Food is excellent in all restaurants and resonably priced and the 20% members discount makes it even better value.
This is a quiet area with a beautifull beach, local transport to the surrounding areas is easy to use and cheap, 53 cents to Valleta & 1 euro 6 cents to Sliema both journeys take approx 45mins.
There is also a shuttle bus from the hotel which goes to these areas a small charge is payable.
Entertainment on an evening is low key but enjoyable.
The new manager at the hotel Mr Barry is very approachable & polite. Quite often he can be seen in the hotel & grounds speaking to residents listenening to point of view & giving information, twice my wife and myself passed the time of day with him and on both occasions he was more than interested to ensure we had a good stay.
If you want a quiet relaxing week with good food and beautifull surroundings this is the place.
Can't wait for June 2012.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcopoloDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,789
    956
    277
    84
    47
See reviews for
1,502
1,990
80
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

It was like a dream, to stay in this hotel. They let you feel like you were something very special. I am grateful for those days spent there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trpazlik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The Radisson Blu, Golden bay, is a excellent hotel, staff are lovely and can’t do enough for you, the whole hotel inside as well as the grounds are beautiful, the pool area is really relaxing and a lovely place to spend your days. The rooms are starting to look a little worn from the first time I visited the hotel 4 years ago but this is always going to happen with hundreds of people staying there each week, my family was assured that they are updating these with new carpets etc. People who write bad reviews about this hotel are hard people to please, everyone is entitled to an option and this is mine, It is a beautiful hotel, good rooms, bathrooms and views, the food is good in all restaurants and bars (you pay the same price for food and drinks as you would in a 5 start hotel in England) the staff are friendly and always willing to help if required.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We travelled to this hotel on a timeshare promotion. We were promised there would be no pressure to buy but as soon as we said no the attitude of the salesman, John [---], changed and he became quite agressive. The hotel was very 'tired', scuff marks on walls and furniture, dirty carpets, torn bedding. Our main complaint was the inability of the staff to allow us to decide what temperature our room should be. The air conditioning was set with a range of only 3 degrees 23-25!!! outside temperatures were around 28 degrees and we like to sleep in cooler air. Four reception staff and three reps from the timeshare company all promised to change it but failed. The only way we could get to sleep was to have the balcony door open with the ceiling fan going (this only had one speed, should have three) unfortunately even well sprayed with repellent mosquitoes had a feast!!! When speaking to any staff we often felt they thought guests were a bit of a nuisance.Views were beautiful but NOTHING TO DO there. Sales rep said there would be major new development of hotel facilities - shops, restaurants etc in 2-5 years but after speaking to a present owner (who is trying to sell!!) this was promised to her 5 years ago. Pleasant area to visit for a day, and have a lovely meal at the 'Apples Eye', but wouldn't recommend any longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tired2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My friend and I spent six days at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The suites are gorgeous, modern and large. The entire hotel is very clean. All indoor and outdoor spaces were immaculate. The restaurants were very good. We especially enjoyed the Agliolio. Their pizza's are amazing. The beach was great as was the large lagoon pool. We never had to wait for a chair in either place and wait staff were always available for a drink or snack. All in all if you are looking for some real rest and relaxation this is the place. The excursion options are also good. We went on the tour to Sicily and although the day was very long was worth it. I would recommend the Radisson Blu Resort, Golden Sands to anyone visiting Malta. I can't wait to go back there some day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

When we arrived late in the evening, We were relieved to have found a cab imediately to take us to the airport expectantely, we turned the corner and the view of the Hotel from the road was one of huge relief the hotel looked exactly like the pictures in Tripadvisor. It looked so impressive.

The Staff on arrival were really welcoming and that added to the way we felt about, the rest of our Holiday. The room was Beautiful clean and tidy, The decour is impressive !My two children kept saying its so lovely. The following days were just a delight.
This hotel was ideal for relaxing, lounging in the pool or visiting the beach which is situated right on the grounds of the hotel. I had two teenagers who wanted to have some time off for themselves so they could actually walk off to the beach, whilst staying in our view at all times.

They enjoyed the times they had at the different pools and the different eating places within the hotel grounds. A great place for a Sun tan.

The location is just a few mimles away from the next town and there is a bus service which is so easy to use if you want to take trips everyday. Altough you can go on tours and trips which are arranged for you by easy access in the Hotel Reception area.
You do need to be prepared to pay for your entertainment by way of trips and Tours but if you go with that in mind you will find your stay to be charming and comfortable the staff are really lovely human beings and they were friendly and willing to accomodate whenever possible. Few times arriving for dinner there were queues of guests which got handled as quickly as possibe nothing really alarming about the whole deal.

On this holiday you do have the Talk about buying a holiday apartment and i believe it to be a very interesting investment. Not at all unreasonable and full of possibilities. All in all the only way to decide is to look into the apartments that are on offer and see for yourself. I liked this part of the holiday the least but was rateher suprised by the offers.

A very lovely Family Holiday which ticked all of our boxes. The teenagers wanted another disco night - however the adults did't miss anything.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms facing the town they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank excitejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hotel is excellent as are its range of facilities. The position and outlook of the hotel is quite superb with views across the hills and the beach, part of which is privately owned by the hotel. There are three outside pools and another (heated) in the members area indoors. Our studio room was perfect for two people and when I reported a problem with an electrical socket, it was replaced the same day. The food in the Flavours restaurant was very good indeed although we only had breakfast in the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and always available. The member of staff with whom we had most contact was John Flicker who gave us a guided tour and supplied us with much useful information.

Altogether a most enjoyable holiday. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colorado021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,544 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
6.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing