We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Popeye village”

Popeye Village Malta
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.79*
and up
Malta and Comino Full Day Cruise Tour
Ranked #8 of 44 things to do in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Popeye Village has grown from its days as a Film Set of the 1980 Musical Production "Popeye" into a unique fun-filled day for all young at heart.You will be greeted by Popeye and his famous friends who will entertain you during the day by their diverse shows. Visitors can enjoy a once in a lifetime filming experience with the animation crew where you can become a movie star for a day. Other attractions include; Santa's toy town, boat ride (weather permitting), water trampolines, sun bathing decks, beach lido (summer only), food outlets, a winery offering a free glass of wine, a free post card given to all adults and a thrilling experience in the new 'Popeye the Comic Museum' enhanced with over 100 original comics dating back to 1936. Your children can also have fun in Malta's largest indoor jump around play area. Do not miss spending a fun-packed day at this Original and unique Film Set whilst on the Maltese Islands.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Popeye village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

In September 2013 i visited Popeye Village .It was very nice place to visit if you are in Malta.Fantastic view and the live show was very good .You can do free wine tasting there and you can get free postcard from souvenir shop .They also provide 15 minutes free boat trip.Nice place for swimming and relaxing for all age groups.Apart from that Fee is little high 13 euro per person and its little far .It takes just 15 minutes from Melliha bay to go to Popeye village by bus but you have to wait for half an hour if you miss the bus .Apart from that on Sunday and Saturday Buses are too full that to go back to Valletta or other city you have to take the buses from Melliha bay and the buses are so full that they don't even stop .I wait almost more than 1 hour to go back to my place.But overall experience at Popeye village was just fantastic

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaursukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,461
    1,181
    588
    229
    172
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh no. Oh no, no, no.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I'd seen photos of Popeye Village online and at the time I didn't realize what it was. Because the photo showed mostly rooftops, I thought it was something like a traditional fishing village. So when we were in Malta, I just had to see it.

It took us about 90 minutes to get there. I should have known something was wrong when I saw the brightly colored houses, but it didn't dawn on me until we had paid for our tickets (stupidly, credit card or cash only) and were walking in. We were welcomed by the blaring of a sound system, which was the sound of a 'Popeye' play (that guy did not look like Popeye at all but then who does?). It was way too loud, especially because the 'play' took please in the middle of visitors out on the path, and not on a stage.

Popeye Village has a beautiful bay where you can swim and slide down from those floating slides, and a lovely little souvenir shop, but other than that it was my biggest mistake during our stay in Malta. There was a restaurant there with reasonable prices and mediocre food, which is where we sat down and waited until it was time for the next bus.

There isn't much to do in this village and it's very touristic. Not my kind of thing. Kids may like it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Winter Ghost Town?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

As we were passing, we visited with 30min before closing (6 euro entry) on a damp overcast winter's day - so maybe not the best conditions to visit. 30 min was plenty (for us) to see everything as all the excursions and shows had finished - I would think they are needed to keep kids occupied unfortunately the "characters" - Popeye, Bluto etc were pleasant and friendly but not really convincing, the bay setting is special though.
Don't expect Disneyland :-)

Tip - it's a steep climb out

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank V8Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived a little after 3.00 and was told that the 'theme park' was closing at 4.30 so they could offer us a small discount of €2 off entry. However, most of the attractions such as the boat ride, pool and Santa's grotto were closed so we walked around the houses which were dusty, tired and uninspiring.

They could do so much more with this place as the film set is in a great location and looks inviting from afar. Too expensive and not enough there to keep anyone entertained for more than half an hour. I would have been disappointed with the quality of the attraction even if it had been free.

Helpful?
Thank Lw2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for Kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited this in the winter and found it very quite. I would Imagen it would be lovely for the children in the summer time when it is buzzing as the people are all dressed in character of popeye and sing and dance and perform in shows during the day. It was nice to see the film set and were given entrance at a discount as it was quiet

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank buntymanWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popeye Village Malta also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Popeye Village Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing