We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight out of Hollywood”

Popeye Village Malta
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.92*
and up
Popeye Village Entrance with Transport
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Popeye Village has grown from its days as a Film Set of the 1980 Musical Production "Popeye" into a unique fun-filled day for all young at heart.You will be greeted by Popeye and his famous friends who will entertain you during the day by their diverse shows. Visitors can enjoy a once in a lifetime filming experience with the animation crew where you can become a movie star for a day. Other attractions include; Santa's toy town, boat ride (weather permitting), water trampolines, sun bathing decks, beach lido (summer only), food outlets, a winery offering a free glass of wine, a free post card given to all adults and a thrilling experience in the new 'Popeye the Comic Museum' enhanced with over 100 original comics dating back to 1936. Your children can also have fun in Malta's largest indoor jump around play area. Do not miss spending a fun-packed day at this Original and unique Film Set whilst on the Maltese Islands.
Grimsby, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Straight out of Hollywood”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

An amazing site which looks as if its been there for hundreds of years. Ideal for children but there is a small admission fee

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidjames47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,557
    1,245
    612
    237
    175
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very tired Popeye Village”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited Popeye Village again in April and have to say its looking very shoddy and tired even after an apparent revamp, its dirty, lots of rubbish left lying around and it wouldn't take much to make this a fantastic attraction, but at the moment its embarrasing, the staff did their best and Popeye was very friendly but it wasn't enough to make this very memorable, the boat trip left every hour but only took 12 people, lucky for us it wasn't too busy but can imagine in the summer this would be very inadequate, the stuff in the gift shop had been there for a considerable time by the looks of the stuff, overall very disappointing, 28 euros for 3 people was very very expensive for what we got

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shona1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PopeyeVillageMalta, Owner at Popeye Village Malta, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
As client herself is pointing out refurbishment is being done and i can assure the client that maintenance and refurbishing is an ongoing process here at the film set, one has to keep in mind that the Film Set if one watches the movie was not meant to be colorful and precise. We try to keep the place as authentic as possible in the safest way possible the buildings where purposely built crooked and even some wooden shingles and planks from room facades and roofs are missing on purpose (some people do not understand this and think the place is left run down). The film set represents a poor fishing town in the 1930's era. I am happy you enjoyed the animators. The boat trip was normally done in summer only obviously with a bigger boat (can carry 22 people at one go and sometimes both boats are used when we are very busy ), boat trip is ongoing all through the day. Through experience we have seen that the boat trip is one of the most things the people enjoy whilst staying here because they can take pictures of the Film Set from a different point of view, so we have invested in a smaller boat which can be taken in and out of the water quickly since the sea here in a couple of hours can change from very calm to a storm. The boat trip around anchor bay is now available all through the year when the sea is calm and the weather permits. In the gift shop there is an array of different items one can choose from ranging from i phone & Samsung covers to lace handkerchiefs. Other different services, activities and information rooms are offered and included in the entrance fee which for obvious reasons were not mentioned by the client .
Thanks for your comments
The Popeye Village Malta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“AVOID. CRUEL TO ANIMALS”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Over-priced, over-rated!
Debated whether to go in having read some of the reviews but curiosity got the better of me.
However, my advice now is-JUST look at it from the cliff edge and then walk off to somewhere better!
Musty dusty sheds most of which seem to have been passed over from popeye to santa's helpers who line up senselessly moving their plastic body parts to "make" childrens toys.
My daughter was VERY upset seeing the rabbits in a cramped dirty cage, one black/white rabbit having overgrown twisted nails. The rabbits were even difficult to see though the dirty mesh wire so what is the point really!
I expressed my concern for the rabbits to the lady on the till but she was clearly only interested in her next paying admission.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ChooseyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield/Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

what a great experience for the kids they had never heard of Popeye, but the village is very different good films to watch to remind us all about Popeye

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tree53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great place, real movie set, plenty to do, free boat trip, inflatables in the sea & good pool deck.
My only criticism is, it is quite expensive.
Not much of a family discount, & if you are only visiting for an hour or two it doesn't feel all that great value.
Spending the whole day was more worth it , but still twice the price of the beach or a decent hotel.
Great fun though

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bigkgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popeye Village Malta also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Popeye Village Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing