We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth Every Euro!”

Bluewaves Watersports
Ranked #8 of 21 Tours in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer a vast selection on self-drive speedboats for hire, ferry to Comino and Blue Lagoon, and various other Watersports like Jetski Hire, Banana rides, Paddle boats, Canoes, Windsurfing, Sailing. All self drive boats are in top condition and completely equipped with a canopy, steps, life-jackets and other safety equipment. You need no boat licence to hire the boat, you just need to bring identification i.e passport/id card, and mobile phone. We do provide a map to mark any dangerous shallow water or reefs, and also point our some nice places to visit. We are situated in the North of Malta at the Ramla Bay Resort, next to Riviera Hotel. You can also follow the road signs to Gozo ferry terminal.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner hired a little 2 seater boat for 3 hours and had a great time. We were both novices and a little nervous but were given a thorough briefing on where the rocks and dangerous areas were around Comino but other than that were free to go wherever we liked. We were given the basics of the boat highway code and then had 10 mins with a member of staff on board to make sure we had mastered the controls. With a tracking device and a GPS sat navigation on board we were pleased to know they could find us if we got lost!! A thoroughly great experience which will no doubt lead to us venturing out on the water again. Could praise the staff enough.

Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewaves Water... B, Front Office Manager at Bluewaves Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for leaving us a positive comment
hope we will see you again :)

Regards Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self drive"
in 14 reviews
"blue waves"
in 8 reviews
"comino island"
in 10 reviews
"these guys"
in 10 reviews
"ramla bay resort"
in 5 reviews
"boat company"
in 3 reviews
"english guy"
in 3 reviews
"gave us a map"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 9 reviews
"test drive"
in 2 reviews
"professional guidance"
in 2 reviews
"quick tutorial"
in 2 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 2 reviews
"great boat"
in 3 reviews
"two hours"
in 4 reviews
"own pace"
in 2 reviews
"main island"
in 2 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

Very nice and friendly people operating within the hotel grounds.
Really informative insights during the cave exploration en route to the Blue Lagoon.
Great music played on the boat.
Felt safe throughout the trip, my young boys really enjoyed it! Great value for money!

Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewaves Water... B, Front Office Manager at Bluewaves Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Dear sir ,

thank you for your review . It is our pleasure to see these kind of reviews .

Thanks & regards
Shamison Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

Well, driving a boat is not like riding a bicycle, but the experience is worth it.
We rented a self-drive boat for two for three hours. We went to Comino and visited every bay. Everything was clearly explained by Bluewaves Watersports. They gave us a map which was easy to follow. You can play your own music via Bluetooth. It's really nice being alone in the sea. At first we were afraid to go near other boat or the land but in time we got confidence. If you want to go only to Comino - three hours are enough but if you want to visit Gozo - maybe you will have to rent the boat for 8 hours.

The problem with small boats is that everyone is driving faster than you and their boats are more stable. We didn't experience any difficulties but near Blue Lagoon (the bay is crowded all the time) we have to stop a few times in order to let other boat pass.

In the afternoon the waves are bigger and the boat is not as stable as in the morning, so I definitely recommend a morning drive.


As to Comino - it is more beautiful than the main island, but compared to Greece the view is nothing special. Nice bays, clear blue water, a lot of rocks.

Thank Elitsa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewaves Water... B, Front Office Manager at Bluewaves Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Hi ,

Thanks for this wonderful review , although we cannot control the weather forecast we are glad that you enjoyed it . hope we see you again :)

Regards
Shamison Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

We rented a boat for 6 people with a group of friends for the whole day, and the experience was amazing! Shamison, Brendan and Kevin took great care of us, the attention and care they gave us all throughout the booking, the preparation and the return of the boat was outstanding. On the boat everything clean and organised, and the day went by really quick!
We will definitely repeat the experience with them!! Thank you guys!

Thank MarinaBM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewaves Water... B, Front Office Manager at Bluewaves Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Hi ,

Thank you for your Review , looking forward to see you again in future :)

Regards
Shamison Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

They are the best boat company in Malta...
They showed us all hiden caves in Comino island....
I recommend everybody to go blue lagoon and caves tour with them.
Thank you

Thank Özlem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewaves Water... B, Front Office Manager at Bluewaves Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Dear sir ,

On behalf of the staff of Blue Waves Water Sports , we would like to thank you for this wonderful review .

Regards
Shamison Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewaves Watersports also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Bluewaves Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing