We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than some of the other reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a lovely week at the beginning of October. We were in the main hotel block on the street side. The room was huge, clean and tidy. We travelled with a 9 month old and there was a good quality wooden cot in the room. The road outside was a little noisy but the glazing to the room was good and it did not disturb us. The hotel bar opposite was a little noisy Friday and Saturday night but it did not disturb us otherwise. Breakfasts were good quality and better than the average hotel buffet. The omelette station was a particular favourite. The staff were all pleasant and friendly.
Some fittings in the room were a little tired, and the lifts take some getting used to!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel. Found the staff excellent and the hotel very good.
One drawback for us was the noise from the traffic of the main road over which our room looked onto.We had a terrace which opened out to the main street and looked across at the other apartments. The traffic was continuous day and night, dustbin lorry visited 6 of the 7 early mornings. Not the restful time we were expecting so we did not use the terrace once as just too noisy and left the french doors closed during the whole holiday.

Room Tip: dont book room 633 if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I ate at the Maritim during my recent visit to stay with friends in Malta. The service is sharp and the range of food good. It is not of the greatest standard but for a quick snack, pizza or burger = it is ok and reasonably priced. Beer = Heineken which at 4 euros plus is on the expensive side. The desserts are not brilliant but the main courses , especially the burgers, are large and can fill you up easily.!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is better than many we've heard about in the area but it shouldn't call itself four-star. The main dining room does a buffet breakfast that only offers instant coffee instead of the real thing and usually only tinned fruit and no proper fruit juice unless you pay an extortionate €2.95 for a 22ml glass of freshly squeezed orange. Hot food was ok most days. The rooms all have tea and coffee making facilities but again only poor quality instant and only powdered 'whitener' not milk, plus restocking by chambermaids seems to be completely a random selection, even if you leave a note!
Our room (457) was one of four that are completely internal with the illusion of a window and balcony, except these open above the main reception desk. It might have been better to have no window at all, such was the racket from the live music in the main bar until late (23:30). Air con was provided but stopped working on the third day. Room cleaning and towel replacement was rather hit and miss, and the (very pleasant) receptionist seemed surprised when told there was no sign of the promised safe in the room! One was supplied later that day, but some clothes were unceremoniously dumped to make room for it. We got the distinct impression this room was one that didn't merit the full service. Still, the saving grace was the amazing deal we got with Travel Republic which meant we didn't feel too badly about the room's shortcomings.
On the plus side the three pools were excellent (including the one on the roof) as was the spa area where we used the sauna gym and changing rooms, and attended a nice Zumba class for €5 each. The other hotel bar (across the street, accessible by a tunnel) had all the live sport you could eat including Barclays Premier League.
The main Jardin restaurant was not good in the evening either, but the Al Ponte restaurant and cafe overlooking the bay was pretty decent and well priced. There is also the upmarket Arches restaurant across the road, but we didn't try that.
Location is good, on main bus routes to everywhere. The beach at Ghadira Bay is an easy walk down but a steep hike back unless you catch a bus. We enjoyed being in a less build up part of the island with nice walks easily accessible and Gozo and Comino Islands nearby.

Room Tip: Unless you are on the Travel Republic low cost deal avoid the internal rooms (430, 457, 530 and 557...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel Maritim Antonine Malta 4 star. This hotel & holiday was booked through T/Cook after readying there brochure in February, staying 8/10 to 18/10 and it looked great in the brochure, but what the brochure dose not tell you, but I will, is that this hotel is split into two parts. One part of the hotel, the main part with all the amenities is on one side of the main street, and on the other side of the street is a annex of rooms with no amenities. Both side of the hotel are connected by a tunnel which runs under the main street. If you are unfortunate like us to be given a room in the annex you will be disappointed as you will have paid a 4 star price for a 2 star, at push 3 star room. although it is only a short walk between both sides you will begin to feel left out of it (in essences like a second class customer, so be careful if you book this hotel)
ROOM. 311 small but clean & tidy with large balcony. Bathroom adequate but floods when you have a shower but soon dries out. Room cleaned every day. Arrived at hotel 11.45am only to be told by a very unhelpful reception staff the room would not be ready till 14.00hr (2pm) could not understand this as we had booked so far in advance, was then told to go and see the village till the room was ready. Room was ready at 14.10. My partner & I asked for an upgrade but was told the hotel was full, to be fair they did offer us a room in the main part after 4 days but we declined as we had settled in and did not want to waste a day repacking and unpacking again so we decided to make the best of it & not let it spoil our holiday, we did use the restaurant for breakfast only. But we did not use the main part of the hotel for anything else because we felt cheated. LIFTS in annex. You take your chance, sometimes they work sometimes they don't.
As for Mellieha, Malta & Goso Fantastic great holiday, Goso is a must see, plenty to see and plenty to do. definitely we will be going back to Malta but not to this hotel. TRAVEL. You do not need a car, use the bus, you can buy a 7day pass for 12 euros each hop on, hop off anywhere anytime any bus any place brilliant. Great holiday, the only negative side the hotel.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel insist on a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was my first time visiting Malta and I and my friend chose this hotel because we wanted to stay in a quieter part of the country with spa facilities. We are not disappointed.
It is a 4 star hotel - very pleasant but with a few minor details which explains why we are not paying 5 star price. What's wrong with that?

Location: we used the hotel's airport transfer service (return) and that was helpful due to the early morning flight. Otherwise, the local bus service was very good, bus stop being right next to the hotel, Valetta is just one hour away on a direct bus. The local town around the hotel was lovely, and the beautiful beach was very close too. We loved the area and not regretting about choosing this rather remote area.

Room: we stayed in their comfort village view room, and had the luck of having a bay view from our room (over a few not-so-tidy roof tops of neighbouring buildings). The room's interior was modern and clean, the size of the room wasn't bad, the bathroom was spacious too. The beds were very comfortable to sleep, and we didn't hear any noise from other rooms during the night.
One downside was the bathroom screen that leaked shower water through to the floor. Also the frost glass door to the bathroom was heavy, noisy to open and close, and I found it embarrassing to use the toilet with my friend in the room (so I used other toilets in the hotel, which was fine to me). We loved the view from the balcony a lot, and although we had to walk a lot through the tunnel to get to this side of the hotel, we were very happy with the room. The room was cleaned everyday, towels changed and bed made.

Staff: All the staff members we met at the hotel, from the reception to restaurant to spa were all very cheerful, kind, polite and helpful. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready yet (even after the official check in time) but the reception staff was very polite and they let us use the spa facility to change clothes while waiting. Being taken care of by these nice people was one of the best points about staying at this hotel.

Breakfast: What a joy. The buffet was great, the restaurant looked really nice, but the best thing was the beautiful garden where we had our breakfast al fresco every morning! There was a personalised omelette stand one day, and with a very friendly cook it was a very nice thing to have in the morning.

Facilities: There were 3 smallish but nice swimming pools (it was warm enough to swim outdoor in mid-October) as well as sauna and spa. The atmosphere was very nice, everything was very clean, and we also really liked the spa treatment. The spa also has a relaxation area which was a bonus after the massage.
We also had a dinner at the roof-top Thai restaurant, which was nice. The food was great but the portion was a lot smaller than what we had elsewhere in Malta.

All in all, we are very pleased about our stay here (especially with the small amount of money we paid) and I cannot wait going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Comfort Village view room but was lucky enough to have the balcony facing the sea, rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilafeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for three nights on a family holiday (with my father for our joint birthdays!)

Location: Hotel is located in Melliha, which is a pretty little village with some beautiful architectural churches. Quite a few restaurants, some supermakets dotted around. It also has some very steep streets!! We booked airport transfer to hotel (which I think is better than taking the X airport buses as I think X3 doesn't run to the hotel it goes to the Melliha interchange instead)

To get to Valletta buses 41, 42 and 37 could be used- the same side of the road as the hotel's reception on the side of the road opposite to the church. Armier Bay (37) and Cirkewzza ferry points are the destinations in the opposite direction.

Unfortunately Malta's bus service is what I would term inadequate (confirmed by one of the local bus drivers!). Its not peak season and it can barely cope. Crammed to the max. Prepare for the possibility of standing for the entire hour or so bus journey into Valetta! Its unfortunate that my strongest memory of Malta is the sometimes painful bus journeys! Having said that, day passes (these are not 24 hour passes) are good value at 2.60 euros for adult (ensure you use it before 11pm as its not valid after). If I were to come to Malta again- I would prob choose to either rent car or stay in the capital to access the transport system there (since pretty much all buses depart from the main terminus in Valetta). The hotel is however, not far from melliha bay so good for those sun seekers.

Rooms: My father had been communicating with the hotel general sales manager regarding rooms after reading some of the reviews- which helpfully pointed out how some rooms faced onto the reception!!! (which when I saw it, I found incredibly odd!!) and I think the management tried to upgrade us into a more spacious room on the second floor (which we are extremely grateful for and thanked him for it) complete with a large bathroom, two toilets and a seating area! We were unfortunately unable to take up the offer as the room had a double bed, and the idea of sharing duvets and bedspace didn't thrill either of us! The bed couldn't be changed and we opted to move to another room which was on the fourth floor, which had a window looked on to the courtyard. It was bright and adequate, albeit much smaller than the original room! We found it clean. however as prev reviewers said- the shower "curtain"- aka screen with a gap between its base and the bath did nothing to stop the flooding of floors whilst showering!! And the plugs as prev noted were more of an annoying hinderance. And what is up with the very under ventilated tunnel? Its not horrendous (does smell though) but some ventilation would be appreciated.

Food: We booked half board. Dinner had good choice for menus with varying themes. I enjoyed BBQ night the most. Breakfast was decent- buffet style eggs, bacon, sausages, cereals. I felt it was worth it. It doesn't include drinks. Shame about the awful "juice" aka orange flavoured water! however their continental breakfast served in the bar (from 3am) for those who have early flights bordered on awful!! (no cereals, just bread which flies were hovering over, some slices of cheese and ham which wasn't getting replaced when eaten)

Staff: Friendly bunch, work hard at their job. Hopefully management treats them well as they deserve to be.

I thought the hotel was pleasant and it was actually better than I anticipated. It was too far away from lots of sight for me though, and if I return to Malta, I would prefer to be closer to Valetta for reasons stated above if Iwanted to do lots of sight seeing. However if I was just staying for beach/relaxing holiday, this hotel would be a very good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,791 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,204 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.8 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $40 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing