We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly better than the usual Malta Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for a forthnight recently. Hotel is on the face of it very good. However, once the excitement of arrival and getting booked in has worn off, the cracks begin to show. Staff are lovely and couldn't be more helpful. We had a few issues which, whilst they didn't spoil our holiday, did mar our stay at the Antonin somewhat.
1. Shower: Worked fine until the water from it seeped beween the ungrouted tiles and flooded the bathroom floor every time.
2. Plugs on bath and sink were useless.
3. Subdued lighting in the bathroom - no good for make up (me) or shaving (him)
4. Lifts were unreliable. Had to use the stairs from the breakfast room to reception on more than one occasion (6 flights) and once the stairwell was in total darkness, not even emergency lighting. This was reported to reception. The maids tended to jam the doors by leaving the trolleys there.
5. Maid service, in our room anyway, left a lot to be desired. Some days the room was hardly touched and by the end of our stay the floor was rather like a sand pit. Some days we had full complement of towels, others not. Some days we had bath mat, some days not. One small piece of soap was supplied for the fortnight - luckily I'd taken more with me. Some days the cups and glasses were replaced with clean, others not. Tea and coffee supplies were generous to a fault and we actually ended up with a mountain of everything for some reason. Seems the maid didn't look to see what remained from previous days and just crammed more in there. Pity it wasn't terrible palatable.
6. Beach bus service: once a day down to the beach and once back. Not much of a service considering the bus left mid-breakfast. We didn't manage to get on it at all during our stay. However, the local buses are regular, if overcrowded, so we tended to use them a lot.
7. Bathroom door! Would have been nice to have one!!!! Bit of a shock to find tinted smoked glass door and screen on the bathroom facing the bed. Now I'm no prude but there are times when privacy is desirable. If one used the bathroom with the dim lighting on inside, nothing was left to the imagination of the person outside the smallest room. Best idea for any privacy was to leave the lights off. Unfortunately the sliding element of the door was swinging on the top runner and closed to within about 2-3 inches of the wall so any additional bathroom special effects were, shall we say, audible/tangible. We discovered best plan was for person not 'involved' to go outside or into reception to read for a while.........perhaps too much information!

All in all, I would give our stay at the Antonine 7 out of 10 on my scale of accommodation. Better than the other hotels I've stayed in in Malta, 3* not 4* though. Food was better than usual, except for the flies on the fruit on last couple of days at breakfast. Mellieha is lovely, very noisy and bustling busy main street which is a wonder to behold with buses battling for supremacy. The beach area is great and very safe. Bit of a hike down the hill but kept us fit. Don't be put off by Mellieha being a little out of the way, the bus service is excellent but get there early or you won't get on for everyone barging in in front of you. Learnt that if you can't beat em, join em.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are very noisy, even with the double glazing closed. Not a problem as it q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TudorHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 2,403 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely hotel and facilities, our prestige suite overlooked the pool and gardens and view of the sea which made for a relaxing time. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Have stayed in many hotels in Malta and this has been the best so far for a 4*, would come back again, you even get pool towels which is a bonus. The spa was wonderful. The restuarants in the hotel are great especially the Pizzeria. Dont take notice of the reviews we could not find any fault at all..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had very nice room on the 5 floor ,we had upgraded to a better room and wasn't dissapointed . The view was from the front of the hotel towards the sea also taking in the church,very good.
The outdoor pool was very good with enough sun beds,a little dissapointed the pool bar closed the second week but we had a waiter come around every hour.
We were half board and breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.Also a very nice outdoor eating area with very good waiting staff clearing and relaying tables.
We would defiantly visit this or any other Maritim hotel again.

Room Tip: It was worth the upgrade, good A/C ,and quite a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanFrancombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room and bathroom looked nice. Matrass was good. Everything we needed was there. We stayed at the street side, which is a little more noisy than the inside, but not too bad. If you had any requests or problems with the room they were solved very quickly and adequately.
The hotel has a few nice pools, including a rooftop pool (we didn't use the pools). Breakfast buffet was very good with plenty of choice, incl. in the roomprice.

You can reach the hotel from the airport by bus if you wish, it stops in front of the door. Malta has a good bus system with which you could travel the whole island. Day ticket costs €2,60
To get to the hotel from the airport take bus X1 from the airport to Mellieha, get out at the Park & Ride busstop in Mellieha. From there take any bus heading direction Mellieha / Cirkewwa (bus 41, 42, 37, 222, 221). The bus stop in front of the hotel is called Adenau. Takes about 1 hour.

All the staff was very friendly and helpfull. They spoke good English. The breakfast buffet had a lot of things to choose from, from typical English breakfast, to different yoghurts and cereals, bread, fruits, croissants, cakes, eggs, omelet station, cheeses, etc. etc. and was included in the room price. The hotel also has a good pizza restaurant at street level. They also great Thai restaurant at the rooftop, which menu is very well priced.

We stayed in Mellieha because it is close to the nicest beaches in Malta and close to the ferry to Gozo and Comino Island. The Blue Lagoon on Comino island is really amazing. We did a daytrip to Valetta and a daytrip to Mdina as well, which is also recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our 1st holiday to Malta & from the moment we arrived we loved it, the hotel was fantastic, the staff were friendly & helpful, our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable & wow what a view, the maids came in to change towels etc every day although we never saw them as we were out and about, we only had bed & breakfast but we ate a couple of times on the roof terrace and we found the food very good my only moan is on the bbq night (Thursday I think) it was quite dark and it was difficult to see what was in the terrines, just a small thing. The breakfast pretty much covered every possibility from cooked to fruit yogurts meat cheese breads etc very good, I took my own tea bags down though theirs were a bit weak for me.

The hotel is in a great position with bus stops outside the door, its 2.60 for a day pass to travel anywhere so very cheap. The bars and restaurants around the area are pretty cheap spirits and wine particularly good value.

We loved the hotel, area people so much we will be returning next year

Room Tip: We were across the road from the main building room 57. great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I decided to push the boat out and booked the "Penthouse Suite" for myself and my twins earlier this year. We had had a very difficult 12 months prior to our holiday in Malta and were in need of some long overdue r&r.

Online the "Penthouse Suite" looked very plush and opulent. It had it's own hot tub, separate bedrooms for myself and the kids and a lovely dining/lounge area.........

Hmm, the place was dirty and run down. The mini fridge was blowing out hot air, nothing was cool inside. The bed linen had holes in it and the pillow cases were too small for the pillows. It was extremely hot but the air con didn't work. The nets at the windows were filthy and were ripped (large rips all the way down them). The safe was broken and didn't work and the hot tub was disgusting. All the controls were missing and it was filthy. The fibreglass stuck in my daughters legs and irritated her, causing pain for a couple of days. The televisions were big and numb totally archaic. There were only 4 English speaking channels and after day 1 two of these disappeared so we were left with 2 foreign news channels. The wifi was non existent despite every effort to sort it out.

I complained immediately. The hot tub was cleaned out, still didn't have any controls though. I was given a single pedestal fan to cool the whole suite....totally useless, just wafted the hot air about! The bedding wasn't changed nor was the "suite" cleaned. It was awful and shattered my childrens' dreams of a luxury holiday. I felt totally cheated especially when I realised that refurbishment was taking place in other rooms and they were far nicer than ours.

I have to say the hotel could be beautiful if it had some money spent (wisely) on it and if it was managed better. The location could not be better, the view from the "Penthouse" was breathtaking. The staff I met were friendly and worked hard and the adjoining restaurant was fantastic. Shame we couldn't / didn't want to spend anytime there!!

We loved Malta and the Maltese people were incredibly welcoming and friendly but the "Maritim" has left a very bitter taste for myself and my family.

Room Tip: Don't book the "Penthouse", far nicer, cheaper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandad817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our time in Malta, the hotel was nice, they did have a few issues during our stay, the electric in the room went off, but was quickly solved, they had a huge water leak that stopped all of the water going in to the toilets so nobody could flush them, that was solved during the day, but the carpets in the corridors was soaking wet. I think the main thing that spoiled our time in the Maritim was our room 145 on the 1st floor garden view side, this room is situated directly below the Bistro Pizza cafe owned by the hotel, every night at about midnight we was woken up by the staff dragging the tables and chairs around while they cleaned up, this was very loud and lasted for about an hour. Not one to complain we stuck it out for the week, but I was really annoyed on the last night when our transfer was due at 04:30.
This room should really be a let on a cheaper basis and the staff should be told to lift the tables and chairs and not drag them around. Anyway would we come back? to Malta Yes, but probably not to this hotel, maybe with a different room this review would have been better.

Room Tip: Garden View Floors 4, 5 or 6, this was stated in other reviews, but I drew the short straw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,003 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $37 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing