We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish awesome barman 10 on 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irish awesome barman 10 on 10”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The price is good and excellent service especially at the bar with Don. Breakfast os good. The spa is cool. Steam room is always too much but all in all i ll say its good value for money for sure its such fum coming fpr a drink and friendly laugh with don and he really maxe us feel At home

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMalta, Sales Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your jolly comment puts a smile on our faces☺.

Thanks from the
Maritim team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    851
    388
    147
    88
See reviews for
463
1,256
98
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rookhope
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in January 2013, it was our second visit. The hotel is most definitely not four star. On its best days it is three star and regrettably can be less than that. Rooms are sligtly grubby and uncared for. Fittings are missing or do not work, and our particular room had a large crack across the glazed balcony door.

Whilst the staff are generally friendly (special mention to Don in the bar) the hotel public areas are cold and they reflect a hotel ethos which is not customer focussed. During our stay the main restaurant was closed for dinner. This meant (as we had bought a half board package) being shoe-horned into the public pizzeria with a restricted menu for the majority of our stay. If you're a vegetarian this means eating pretty much the same thing every night.

Wifi can be purchased at a reasonable price and is good, even in the room. There are restricted time deals free of cost available but in reception only.

A particular point that needs to be underlined is that at weekends only the hotel encourages occupancy with special offers. At such times it seems completely full. Not necessarily a problem, but it can mean the hotel is noisy.

Room Tip: Do not be persuaded to the internal rooms even though they are cheap - unless it's a very short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england ex ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Can't fault my stay here. I paid 26 Euros a night for a delux room (there was also cheaper rooms available) and it was a bargain. That included breakfast and use of the pool, sauna and steam room. There were a few reviews criticising breakfast. Yes, the juice was not fresh but come on, it is rare to get fresh juice at breakfast anywhere. I was delighted with the choice and quality. The sauna and steam room were situated in the hotel's spa so there was relaxing music piped in and the decor was what you would expect an upmarket spa centre to be like.

I don't know what it would be like in high season but for in February it was perfect. I sat outside by the outdoor pool one day and had the sauna and steam room to myself. I then went for a swim in the indoor pool and again had it to myself. There was also a whirlpool bath beside the swimming pool.

The room was very big with a sofa and armchair and balcony. The main problem with the room was the kettle gave a bad taste to the water. I got my kettle changed and the taste was still there. I would imagine the tap water in Malta (which I understand to be desalinated) ruins any kettle so even when I when I used bottled water the taste was still there. There was also a strange smell in the corridor but this was not an issue as I was not sleeping in the corridor!

The town itself was quiet but that is what I expected in February. If I wanted a lively destination I would have stayed somewhere else. There were plenty of shops and restaurants within 100m of the hotel. I would have no hesitation about giving it 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thank you so ,much for our memorable 35th wedding anniversary week. We loved the hotel, service and facilities. We had a complimentary bottle of wine, bowl of fruit and a fantastic meal for our anniversary. Also a sea view room. Staff were fantastic. An excellently managed hotel, we hope to return later this year and would not hesitate I recommending this hotel and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I love this hotel. I visit with my students every March and I visit with friends in February. I will be back in 4 weeks and love Don and his cocktails. Don makes us feel welcome and always impresses us with his knowledge of the drinks he serves. He always has time for a quick chat with his customers x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpsonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the Maritime at the beginning of Feburary for a week. I thought the reviews were mixed and as we had booked a last minute deal in the comfort rooms I thought we might be disappointed. However I can report we had a lovely time The room was an intenal room so I was expecting no windows at all but we had double patio doors and a small terrace with table and chairs. Granted the doors only opened on to an internal courtyard and the light was minimal but there were lots of green plants and it was pleasant. If you want a sea view and to sit sunbathing on the balcony this is not the type of room to book. However if you want to explore the island and use the room as a base it was great. We never actually used the terrace as when we returned at the end of each day by 6.00 pm it was dark. The room was warm, clean and well decorated with modern furniture and the ensuite was very contemporary.The beds were comfortable and we had full use of all the hotels amenities including the pool, suana, Jaccuzi and steam room which was great at the end of a day sightseeing. The breakfast was lovely and with so much choice I only made my way through all the options by the end of the week. There was a kettle in the room with tea and coffee and a small fridge which we used to keep some fresh milk so we could have a drink when we got back from our days out. Other reviewers mentioned the damp smell in rooms, corridors and the tunnel, particularly if you were on the other side of the road to the main hotel. We were on the other side and there was a slight smell particularly under the tunnel and in the corridors but it really did not worry us too much. It is a shame the management could not make these areas smell as nice as the spa which is also in the basement. Staff were very friendly and helpful and clean towels were provided each day for the spa. Overall however we felt we had a great time. It was fantastic value for money and we would highly recommend the hotel. Just be clear what you want and what you will get when you pay for a comfort room.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as we were in the cheapest rooms on the lower ground floor on the opposite side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalderLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from another fabulous stay at the Maritim in Mellieha, what makes this hotel so great are the friendly staff, many of whom are long term employees who are always happy to welcome us back each year for the last 10 years. There is a great choice of food and no chips or burgers in sight which is fab. Special thanks to Miriam and Victoria in Le Jardins restaurant and Don the barman (who never stands still!) he looks after all his customers so well and shakes a great cocktail!!. We shall definitely be booking again for February 2014.....Many Thanks John & Leisa

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMalta, Sales Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear John & Leisa,

Many thanks for a fabulous review and thanks for staying with us year after year☺. See you next February

The Maritim Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Property: Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing