We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Check in is exactly at 14.00, so don't go earlier because you will end up waiting in a dull reception/lobby area. Don't expect any welcome drinks either.

On the positive side, room was clean and quite comfortable. Satellite TV, with only a couple of channels, not more than 10 different ones.

Breakfast was ok. The indoor pool area needs a bit of life in it...

To sum it up... it was an OK stay... would try other hotels for my next break though.

Room Tip: If you like your room with natural lighting do not choose an inner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clive2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    841
    382
    144
    88
See reviews for
458
1,236
97
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 5 nights here on a bed and breakfast basis and our experiences of the place were mixed. The room was tired looking, with some damp patches on the wall adjoining the en suite, and was not well equipped, eg, a couple of mangy tea bags stuffed in a cup that looked like they'd been there for many months! Breakfast was pretty poor, there was a wide choice but it was low quality food, jam that has never met a piece of fruit and over processed meat and cheeses. We stuck to the cereals and pastries. the rooftop pool area was ok but the pool itself in need of a refurb with missing tiles and mould.

On the plus side, the indoor pool was lovely and when we were there it was really quiet! The outdoor pool area on ground floor was nice too. Service at the front desk was polite and helpful, they were happy to make restaurant reservations.

It wasn't awful, if they billed it as 3 stars it would be on the better side of average, but with its 4 star rating you can't help but feel a bit disappointed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel. I thought of the things you would want as a given when staying somewhere, cleanliness was top and this hotel was certainly that. Next came food and although buffet food is not everyone's choice it was good with plenty of choice. Our room which was on the other side of the road from the main hotel was large with air conditioning. Yes I know some people have commented on the tunnel but it really is not a problem, there is another way to reach your room.

All of the staff were helpful and cheerful

There will be things that people don't like but I think that comes down to personal preferences.

All in all a good hotel with no real problems

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol123967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the maritim for an anniversay holiday. The hotel was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. We stayed bed and breakfast and the food was very good and they are able to offer gluten free bread in the morning which is ace, this is the first time this has been offered in all the holidays I have had - this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast could not be faulted, plenty of choice and freshly cooked, the bedrooms however leave a lot to be desired, I doubt that they have been updated since the hotel opened, the bedding is tatty and the rooms are not cleaned efficiently, even inside the wardrobes had a layer of dust. we shall not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephenm242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great hotel with fantastic food to be had, we booked a cheap room so only expected a the qualities of a cheap room but were pleasantly suprised. The rooms were clean and tidy and what we would expect if we had paid for a better room.
Staff friendly and lobby and corridors pleasantly decorated and clean. The Arches restaurant opposite was a joy to dine in, it's not cheap but you are paying for high quality food and chefs. I recommend the beef wellington......
A great hotel at an excellent price..

Room Tip: Remember if you want a decent room pay for one, dont pay for a cheap one expecting the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights. It was a very good place for our Weekend on Malta. Infornt of the hotel there is a bus stop from which you can go easily to nearly all places of Malta (it is about 40minutes to Valletta). Also the ferry to Gozo and Comino is not far away.
At the hotel we got an upgrade for free so we had an extra-large room with two very clean bathrooms. The room was also very clean and we felt very comfortable. The staff at the reception is very nice and helpful, we didn’t have any problems.
This hotel also has an indoor pool and Jacuzzi.
The included breakfast was large and fantastic. For dinner you can eat buffet at the hotel’s restaurant or try one of the good restaurants around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Property: Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing