We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Just stayed at the Maritim for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Excellent value for money at less than £100 for 2 people staying Bed & lovely Breakfast.
Not a suitable area for people with walking difficulties as it has very steep hills and steps in all directions, with the Arriva bus service being a shambles with cancellations of routes through Mellieha without notification. The local Mayor came down to the bus stop to let the people who had been waiting over an hour for the bus know the route had been cancelled!!!
If Arriva keeps this up, as I heard other people commenting on the bus 'service', it is likely to stop people visiting the island.

Room Tip: 508 across the road had loveley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mountain2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,645 - 1,651 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

We really had a lovely weekend break, enjoyed delicious bfast and we had nice time at the spa of the hotel. Comfortable room was nice and warm. Staff was gentle. In addition, food and sweets from Al Ponte pizzeria were very good. It serves gluten free pasta which was an asset for us since my girlfriend is coeliac and loves pasta. She said that her gluten free pasta was delicious. My pizza was ok (good but had better ones...next time I would opt for a dish of pasta) :)

The only pity was that the indoor pool and jacuzzi were cold and for this reason we could not enjoy them :(

Room Tip: Comfortable room is nice. If you love to have a sea view, select a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChrisMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hotel was not bad although the smell in the level one area was pretty poor. The breakfast was ok but would have been much better if it was hot rather than cold. No one seem to bother with this even when mentioned to the chefs. The management and staff , were certainly unfriendly, some customer service skills would be an advantage to some although I could not put every person in this category. Seemed that some of the staff had issues with thier management as some found it important to air thier views to guests, perhaps management would be better to communicate with thier staff rather than walk around as if they were superior than thier guests. I can not deny value for money however, would not pay thier normal rates in the height of the season not worth it. Don't bother to eat at the hotel, they claim its value for money but quite frankly you would be better putting your money down the drain or just go up the road, much better choice and likely to be hot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traceys15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

very comfortable hotel and very good breakfast.
nice and helpful staff and the location is in the countryside and near the sea which was just what we wanted

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank jawsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We visited Malta for a month in January including a three night stay here on B and B. We booked it based on good reviews and were willing to pay a bit more based on that but, while we had no major complaints it wasn't outstanding. The room we were allocated was underneath the road and was absolutely freezing. We requested a move to a warmer room which they obliged without issue. The room was then fine. Breakfast was really good -best of all the hotels we stayed in -with good choice, omelettes etc. Good spa with sauna and steam room which was nice atmosphere to relax in and gym was well equipped. Well situated on main street with bus outside door.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Achiltibuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights this month (Feb 12). This was a pre-visit for our wedding this August. We were intending on staying there for our wedding period and recommending it to our 120 guests. The hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy Mellieha, the facilities were very good, however upon arrival to our room we found the extractor fan in the bathroom not working (not a big deal) but then found that when we used the sink in the bathroom the waste just ran out over the floor as the sink had a very bad leak. We informed reception immediately, nothing was done about it. We then informed them the following day....eventually after 4 days the sink was repaired after informing reception 3 times. One of these times we had placed a small towel under the sink to try to avoid damaging the impressive decor, only to find the maid had picked the towel up, not replaced it but instead placed it back on the towel rail for our use !
In addition to this the fridge did not work at all, agiain we informed the reception of this but nothing was done. We were left to feel awkward as on the last day our room was tidied and bed made but dirty glasses left in situ and replacement tea bags just left on the side. All the other days the replacements had been placed tidily in the cups. We are truly not people to complain but as some of our friends would be potentially staying there for our wedding and the fact that we visit Malta at least 3 times a year we are keen to impress our guests.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel itself is beautiful and quite clean. However the staff is very unpleasant. Upon our arrival we were made wait an hour and a half for our room without even an apology. The receptionists are very unhelpful and simply rude. They did not help me with anything and everything seemed like a huge effort.

The Les Jardins restaurant is pretty average when it comes to food. Nothing special. The staff is not very nice either. The only nice person in the whole hotel that we got to meet was Don the cocktail bar bartender. Really friendly and cheerful!

It is a great pity that the customer service is so bad as it could be a really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,846 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.8 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Address: 94 Triq Gorg Borg Olivier, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $60 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing