We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Visit 9th June 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Having holidayed here every year for the past 20 years, we have seen many changes to the hotel. We were very apprehensive about going 'all inclusive' but have got to say it's getting better each time we visit.The food is excellent with plenty of choice for everyone. All Staff,Management,Reception,Catering,Housekeeping, at the DB Seabank Hotel are doing a great and very efficient job.Once again we have had a very enjoyable time and would like to thank everyone for making it a very special week.We celebrated Rosemarys 80th birthday while we there this time, and can't thank the staff enough for making it so special for her. It was very much appreciated. We will be returning once again next year. Until then, keep up the good work. Jeanette Keith & Rosemary.

Room Tip: Higher floor with sea view is worth the extra.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,902)
There are newer reviews for db Seabank Resort + Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,723 - 3,729 of 5,902 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

What we liked:

The food was lovely, varied & plentiful. The drinks were also fine, my favourite cocktail was a Sweetheart.

There were lots of sunbeds & umbrellas around the pool. We didn't get to the pool until 11am & could always find somewhere to go.

The staff worked very hard & were friendly. Special thanks to Sanya, Alina, Frankie (bar), Belinda (children) & Jeffrey (dining room).

The room (3441) & bathroom were good. Nice balcony although it did overlook the poolside public toilets, we never experienced any smells etc.

Problems were sorted quickly & efficiently. The first room we were allocated smelt strongly of cigarettes. A man from reception came up within a few minutes of our call, agreed with us & moved us straight away. The other problem was the adult beds in our family room were far too soft & squeaky. This was resolved by them placing hard boards between the mattress & frame which worked pretty well.

Most of the guests were British & French but we also met families from Belgium & Germany. Everyone got on well, not too much pushing in etc.

What we didn't like:

At the weekend the hotel is overrun with locals. On the Saturday night a massive wedding took place & the live band & singing was just so loud we couldn't sleep even with the balcony door locked shut. I called reception but they said there was nothing they could do but it would be finished at 11pm. This was a lie & it continued until midnight, the finally rendition of 'for he's a jolly good fellow' which re-woke my children up was the final straw.

On the Sunday (Father's Day) the all inclusive guests were turned away from the main dining room as a special event was going on & we had the eat in the Dome which was not great.

There are no outdoor designated non smoking areas. Even around the children's pool guests light up. Eating on the terrace over-looking the sea of the main dining hall was ruined by the man on the next table puffing away over our meal. It would be so easy to make one side smoking & the other non smoking.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank AliceT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We are staying at this hotel at the moment on a weeks holiday with Thomas Cook, the hotel is very nice and the staff are very friendly, but when it comes to getting a drink in the pool area there is only one bar, if you just want a soft drink you have to que up, they do not have any self service taps which when you have as many guests as they have means you could be waiting some time. Also the entertainment is very poor.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with a view of the bat.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Late April 2014 holiday for a week to attend family wedding on site. Great for group or families - but very large - resort type location so don't expect peace and quiet! Overall enjoyable stay for a week and close to beach as well.

Quite a (1hr+ bus) drive from Valletta so not a great location if you want to spend a lot of time there - but buses are regular and cheap. Close (walkable) to Popeye Village and accessible to ferries to other islands.

Rooms - fairly basic with seaside theme - but clean and functional. Bathroom similar - though towels were a little hard. Fridge in room with bottled water. The views from rooms can vary across resort from sea front to roadside or pool view.

Food - decent, if basic, all-inclusive standard. Lots of it and reasonable choice - though nothing outstanding. Lots of fried food and salads. All pretty fresh and regularly replenished.
However, nothing available to eat anytime after dinner....a sandwich or something light would have been nice.

Drinks - all-inclusive house brands. Not huge choice of cocktails (no Mohitos for example). Strength of drinks questionable! Glasses small. Bar in main hotel always busy in evenings.

Entertainment - available every evening...or not, if you so chose. Animation team tried hard during day to get participation from adults and kids.

Highlight for our group was the wedding day and the evening reception - this was extremely well handled by the Hotel and provided a sense of exclusivity and privacy in an otherwise standard resort.

Overall an enjoyable holiday. Probably wouldn't go back though - not because of the hotel but more because I would prefer a location closer to the sights. And Malta does appear to have a lot more to see and do....

Room Tip: Resort view rooms may be preferable to roadside if sitting on balcony is important.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlwaysReady2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the seabank for 2 weeks the hotel was fantatic, the food amazing, all staff very polite and helpfull but not in your face, entertainment day and night excellent. This hotel as everything under one roof. I cannot praise it enough. Thank you to all staff for a hassle free 2 week relaxing holiday. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say?!
This was our second visit to the Seabank hotel, the first was last year for our honeymoon.

We checked in and were allocated our room straight away, so no hanging around which was appreciated as we had been up since 3am!

We had not been in our room for very long before there was a knock on the door. A polite young man gave us a plate of beautifully presented donuts as a thank you for choosing to stay here again.

A lovely gesture and much appreciated! ☺

The choice of food and drinks is amazing, bar staff and waiting staff are very efficient.

Our room was very clean and was kept clean through out our stay by our lovely cleaner Ralica.

We returned after a trip to find that Ralica had left us an Elephant made out of towels and a note. Thank you Ralica!

The animation team were friendly and worked hard to put on brilliant evening entertainment, as well as activities throughout the day.

I would like to thank all of the staff at Seabank for making our stay a pleasant one. Nothing is too much trouble.
Special thank you to Belinda and Marian. ☺

It's the little gestures such as the donuts and towel elephant that mean alot and one of the reasons why we love Seabank!

So thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you in June 2015!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We went to the Seabank for a week in June 2014. We had a lovely stay and found the hotel to be of a very high standard. The resort is really big but we soon managed to find our way about. One of the things we really liked was that the top end of the swimming pool was for people over 16 years old so it was a bit quieter than the larger 'main' pool. The food was the best we have had in an all inclusive hotel, lots of choice and the food was of good quality. The hotel was clean and tidy but the only reason I haven't given 5/5 is because it was quite chaotic at meal times and at the bar (beware of queue jumpers) also because there was some 'gunk' around the plug holes in the bathroom and the walls were quite thin but that's all really. We would go back though as we did have a great time :)

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool side to get the evening sun.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,966 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,753 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $109 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing